1999 GMC Sonoma Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1999 GMC Sonoma SLS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired63 miles
Most recent distance49300 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A good truck to drive, but too many small items that need repair continually

Faults:

The handle on the third door has broken three times. The handle itself is inexpensive, but labor cost is high to replace.

The seat handle for the recliner part of the bucket seat has broken twice on the driver side (dealer broke it once) and on passenger side one time. Passenger seat had to be replaced right after initial purchase as it would not lock in place.

Replacing shocks now, rear shocks were easy to replace, front shocks more difficult.

While driving, sound of outside air can be rather loud in the cab.

Driver's door leaked from the top when it rained. Initially dealership said door stripping would have to be replaced, but it had not been glued securely from the factory and the dealership glued it at without cost.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

7th May 2003, 14:02

Just a comment on the third door handles breaking. This is true, but if you don't want it to happen again, gently push in on the door when you open it and you will never break another handle. Hope this will help anyone.

1st Oct 2008, 20:45

I also have the same problem with the handle on the seats breaking. Both driver and passenger side.

1999 GMC Sonoma SLE 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

I would highly recomend this to anyone.

Faults:

Nothing. This Truck has been absolutely flawless.

General Comments:

4.3 is very fast.

It has a very smooth ride.

Wish I had 4wd for the winter months, but even with out it It doesn't have much of a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

6th Mar 2004, 06:04

I own a 1999 GMC Sonoma. To which I really love this truck. As of 4 March 2004, there is 96,000 miles on this truck. I am happy to say that this truck has been ran hard and it still runs like new. I am very happy with the price that I gave for it. Would definitely buy another GMC truck when this one dies. Hope it don't.

21st Jan 2006, 10:17

I just bought a 99 sls I got what I thought to be a good deal. I am reading the comments in here and they are all alomost good I am happy so far the fuel mileage is a little to be desired, but the truck has tons of get up and go with the 4.3 in it and is a very nice ride.

1999 GMC Sonoma SLS V6.4.3 LITRE from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6.4.3 LITRE Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

This truck is the worst investment that I have ever made. It flooded from rain at 7,000 miles. The clutch master went out at 10,000 again at 15000. and again at 17,000. The slave cylinder in the transmission went out at 2000 then 25000. Never peeled out one time in it. The truck still had its original tires. I tried to invoke the lemon law, but that did not work. Why take a chance? Don't buy a GM Product.

General Comments:

Truck is a piece of junk... Bought a Brand new honda Accord For Cheaper Anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st May, 2002

1999 GMC Sonoma SLS 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

More toy than truck

Faults:

Third door handle broke twice.

CD player quit working.

General Comments:

The Sonoma is a nice little truck, but has some "toylike" qualities. I didn't really think about it until I tested the Ford Ranger while shopping for an update. The Sonoma rolls terribly in corners, and is easily blown about in the wind. The 2.2 liter in-line four is reliable and great on gas, but is too small for the extended cab.

The interior was the highlight of the truck. It is quiet, and comfortable for people over 6". The ride is relatively smooth, but is better with weight in the box.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

1999 GMC Sonoma SLS V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance25900 miles
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

Don't listen to Consumer reports, they have no idea what is a good/great truck

Faults:

Not much really except a bad sensor causing the check engine light to come on, but that was fixed by the dealer under the warranty.

General Comments:

Nice truck, lots of room, nice factory sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2001

1999 GMC Sonoma SLS 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Reliant

Summary:

Fast, fun, relatively cheap!

Faults:

No problems yet, except that I need new tires already.

General Comments:

This truck gets looks like you wouldn't believe!

I only wish I had a limited-slip diff, maybe I could have saved my tires some wear.

Lots o' torque.

Handles great (ZQ8 all the way)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

8th Jan 2004, 10:55

I too own a Sonoma with the Z-Q8 Package. It's been a great little truck since I bought it. No major problems to speak of. Am disappointed with the finish... lots of rattles and creaks. The ride is more than a little rough too. I've recently added some weight in the back for the winter season, as without the weight the truck is useless in any amount of snow or ice...I'm thinking about leaving it there for good. (2 patio stones... about 250lbs total). It's like a different truck. It rides much smoother now, and the extra weight makes it corner better and great in snow. It's a good truck... but I likely wouldn't buy another one. Too many little things that annoy me.

1999 GMC Sonoma SLS 2.2 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 kilometres
Most recent distance46000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Mediocre at best

Faults:

All the shocks had to be replaced within the first ten months.

Passenger seat track replaced twice and still broken.

Third door latch broken and starting to break again.

Third door seal replaced and needs a new one again.

Tranny clunks and whines a lot.

Front speakers rattle (I listen to my music quiet).

Glove box latch rattled.

Dash rattles.

Fan makes cricket-like noise.

General Comments:

I am disappointed with the quality of some GMC trucks. The service stinks and the dealers are sharks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

29th Jan 2003, 14:13

I have a 1998 Sonoma with 100,000 on it... GREAT TRUCK... my advise to the others who posted here is to check out what you buy before you buy it!

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 21 reviews