2002 GMC Sonoma Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2002 GMC Sonoma SL 2.2 liter 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65 miles
Most recent distance16850 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

A darn good little truck. Does everything I ask of it

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

Cab is quiet at speed (70 mph)

Dash gauges & controls well laid out & legible.

AM/FM/CD radio with RDS is very good.

The 4 cyl. isn't a hot rod, but returns good fuel economy (22+ MPG).

The ride is a bit on the stiff side, (mine has the extra-capacity suspension) but handles reasonably good. Solid feeling.

A/C & heat more than adequate for the cab, work quite well.

Trim on base model somewhat spartan, but I prefer it that way. It's easier to clean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2003

2002 GMC Sonoma SL 2.2 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired53 miles
Most recent distance16500 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

A darn good little truck, and not expensive to operate

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the truck.

I bought the Sonoma to replace a 1993 S-10 that had been driven hard for 190,000 miles. The unstoppable S-10 sold me another GM small truck.

General Comments:

The truck performs exactly as expected.

The cab is quiet, factory AM/FM/CD stereo with RDS works quite well.

A/C is ice cold, and climate control more than adequate for most conditions.

Though the four-banger won't win any drag races, it gets good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2003

2002 GMC Sonoma zr2 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired167 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

It sucks

Faults:

My heater moudule has been replace three times and it is still broke. It has to go in the shop to get it repaired for the fifth time. The windshield moudule has been repaired once and that is broke again. The plastic interior parts cannot stay tight, they are always lose.

General Comments:

I am very dissatisfied with this truck. I will never own a GMC again. I have had way too many problems with this brand new truck.

Gmc customer service is horrible. I have tried to claim this vehicle as a lemon and they will not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd July, 2003

22nd Jul 2007, 14:05

I love your review Dude! Go to Screaming Man GLobal!

19th Dec 2007, 15:28

I am in love with my truck! Its the best ever! I have had it four years, and never had any problems!

3rd Dec 2010, 09:11

Dexcool. It creates a nasty clogging mess throughout the coolant systems on all GM's. Had this truck sit for 4 years, heater core was clogged completely! Otherwise, best truck ever.

2002 GMC Sonoma SLS EXT CAB 4.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

I got a good deal, however it needs TLC

Faults:

Driver's side seat lever broken.

Coolant leak in upper heater hose.

Differential leaks.

Thin paint - chips way too easy.

Seats wear too quickly.

Transmission slips at times.

Major 3 inch lean in left rear spring.

Tires are 60,000 mile warranted, but offer poor grip on the road.

General Comments:

I am not exactly sure what's going on at GM. I previously had a 1999 GMC Sonoma and it had pretty much the same issues. It also looks like GM is replacing some parts with cheaper equivalent parts to cut costs? Basically everything on this truck has been OK, however it needs everything done to it in order to catch these problems.

This would not be a good truck for your average drive n' go person. This is a mechanics truck. It needs constant attention and TLC. I would recommend you change the oil/filter every 3000 miles and transmission fluid/filter every 15000 miles to avoid problems. The manual is great and clearly outlines the required fluids/bulbs, etc.

Writing this review has prompted me to take the truck in to the dealer. I will get the lean and transmission problems dealt with now. It only has 10,000 miles on it.

I have heard that the engines are OK and I have the V6, however other problems may arise.

My suggestion would be to weigh the warranty with the price of the truck. Get a good bargain, dicker more if you can. I paid around $18,000 new. But I would have paid about $1000 less if I would have known about these problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th June, 2003

6th Apr 2004, 10:21

I disagree strongly with report. My experience has all been positive. I have had no problems at all with my vehicle although I would agree that the tires could have been of better quality.

4th May 2004, 07:39

I have a 2001 GM Sonoma. Not many problems with it. it's have over 80,000KM now and the thing I noticed was poor tires. Replaced with Rough-riders.

Other problems I have is, rear door handle broke. Hitting bumps, feels like the rear end is going to run away from you, but that could be due to the bigger/stiffer tires I got installed.

Odd noise inside annoys me, like all these squeaking when hitting a small bump. Seems like everything inside the doors are loose and rattles.

Already had speed sensors replaced, wiper motor replaced (problem is still there, but minor), and the hood hinges replaced because when braking, you would hear them knocking (good for the next 6 months and now it returned). warranty is done.

Make sure you get extended warranty on the truck.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews