2002 Holden Astra Reviews - Page 11 of 13

2002 Holden Astra City 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance12700 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Sex on wheels

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with the car is a slight rattle in the dash. This was fixed at the 1,000km service.

General Comments:

I love my Astra. Since the day I bought it is has been a joy to drive. I think it is the most sexy vehicle on the road with its chunky, but elegant build.

At first the gear box was quite stiff, but loosened up after the run in period. Some people find the seats too firm, but I find them comfortable and over a long journey they offer the support needed.

The build quality is exceptional (as you would expect in a car built in Europe) and inclusions of high standard.

I have no hesitation in recommending this car to anyone looking for new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

19th Jan 2003, 22:32

Sex on wheels, I couldn't have put it better my self!!!

24th Feb 2003, 17:50

I have to agree with the comment on the gearbox, a little notchy and not good for quick gear changes! But saying that, if I could take this car to bed with me I would!

22nd Sep 2004, 20:55

Ever since I bought the car, i fell in love with it. I believe that it could be 100% if you could get rid of the break residues left on your front rims.

2002 Holden Astra City 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150 kilometres
Most recent distance20900 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Very fuel efficient

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong with the car. Accept the lever for the drivers seat was apparently faulty. This was picked up at my 2nd service. And that was a while back. Holden still have not fixed the problem as the part has to come from Germany. Just today I noticed that my engine light has come on.

General Comments:

The only problem besides the ones I have already mentioned is the boot space. Its pretty small. My dash also is shaking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2002

29th Dec 2002, 17:15

I presume that you have a hatch after the comment about minimal boot space. I have an Astra sedan and find the boot is huge. On the sedan the boot is only 8 litres smaller in capacity than a Commodore (VT/VX). The boot is much deeper than a Commodore which makes it easier to stand a suitcase up instead of laying it down. For such a small car I think that is ample unless someone has a very large family. If people want a car with a big boot, go for a Toyota Camry or Avalon. They have the biggest boot in the business for Australian made cars by quite a considerable margin.

30th Dec 2010, 02:39

I don't know what you were expecting, or why you bought a car that didn't offer you what you want in terms of space.

The boot space in the hatch is massive compared to most of its competitors of this model year.

The Astra Wagon was also an excellent vehicle, so perhaps you should have gone for that.

I can compare models if you want me to with the exact numbers, but I think you sir are dreaming. It was never meant to be a station wagon sized boot. It was meant to be a practical city sized boot. It's far superior than any other car on the market.

2002 Holden Astra CD 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36 kilometres
Most recent distance1700 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

An annoying tin can I couldn't give away if I tried

Faults:

Brakes make the most annoying sound I have ever heard. Dealer says it's a common problem with the car and some they can fix and others they can't.

General Comments:

I bought the car because it was a cheap BMW look-alike. You get what you pay for is never more truthful than in this case - don't make the same mistake I did.

My first and last Holden.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2002

26th Aug 2002, 01:01

My first ever new car the Holden Astra CD 2002 model definitely turns heads, not for the reason that immediately comes to mind, but because of the horrific noise the brakes make. It is really embarrassing when parking in a busy area. The noise occurs during driving off, during a trip and is at its worse when reversing. It started before 200 km and sounds something like when the brakes on your bike are jammed, but deeper and really loud. There are no parts in Australia to fix the fault. I have been told it is the calipers/damper causing the noise and is a worldwide problem and Holden have over 2000 on back order. I purchased the car mid June and have now been waiting 10 weeks for the problem to be resolved. How can Holden keep selling these cars (like hot cakes) with a known problem they are unable to repair?

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 35 reviews