1987 Holden Commodore VL Nissan RB30E from Australia and New Zealand


A real car!


Crankangle sensor, replaced.

Air flow meter, replaced.

Coolant temp sensor, replaced.

Computer, replaced.

Boot leaks.

Rust around the front and back windscreens.

General Comments:

I think the 3 litre aspirated motor goes hard with a few modifications such as a different head or porting/polishing the original. Big exhaust, rampod etc. You don't always need a turbo for power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

15th Jun 2001, 01:09

I bought my VL 88 Executive a couple of months ago, it has 183000 on it, pretty good for a car that is 13 years old.

Crank angle replaced and it's still going hard.

I love it, it has no traction in the wet though.

I think keeping it stock is good enough for me. It had one previous owner, an old bloke who serviced it every 6 months to the day.

23rd Aug 2001, 09:20

I have a 1988 VL, what are the brakes like on these vehicles as mine has a very low pedal and the stopping is not the best. Is this due to the front disc and the rear drum setup, how can you improve on this?

12th Sep 2001, 19:53

If your boot is still leaking water, it could be due to the water running down the boot and on top of the lights, where it then enters the light itself, fills the light and overflows into the boot. Fix it by using silicone on the holes or drill small holes in the bottom of the light. Worked for me.


1987 Holden Commodore VL 3.0 Litre from Australia and New Zealand


A great, balanced, all-round street performer


I know the previous owner had a few things done, but what I've needed is:

Rear shock absorbers.

Inner high beam bulbs.

Outer tie rod ends.

Wind screen washer motor and wiper blades.

Front left window seized, wouldn't wind up correctly.

Intermittent problems with odometer, fuel gauge and tachometer.

Tappet cover gasket replaced.

Paint has deteriorated.

General Comments:

Other than the problems that are listed above, it's a great car that performs well. The non turbo Nissan RB30E does a great job (especially for a 3 litre engine). The manual is great with plenty of power after 3000 revs. I've had extractors, HiFlow Cat, & 2.5" sports exhaust fitted, and I've found the power great as well as the sound. I'm planning to get a K&N air filter, and possibly later down the track getting it chipped.

I've only owned the car for a month but overall, it seems to be a fast, great looking car, seemingly designed for young fellows like myself. Go get one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2001

1987 Holden Commodore VL 3.0 6 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand


A very reliable, fantastic all round car


3 hours after I bought it the crank angle sensor broke.

3 manifold bolts sheared off.

Brake master cylinder needed rebuilding.

Gear box mount broke.

Numerous rubber exhaust mounts broke due to high temperatures from the exhaust.

General Comments:

The main reason VL Commodores need their cooling system fixed is because of the metal buffer inside the radiator which drops off and blocks the water flow thus cracking the head from overheating. This usually happens around 180000 to 190000kms. Mine had already been fixed before this happened by the people who owned it before me.

All in all I won't be selling my VL anytime in the near future for one simple reason... every morning I get up to go to work and go to start it, it starts without any problems. I may have to replace things every now and then, but hey, the car is 14 years old so what do you expect?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2001

31st Mar 2001, 02:20

Too right. With a 14 year old car, you can't expect perfection. Maintenance is the word, all cars need it. Gotta love how the VL starts up (compared with the XF Falcon carby I previously owned).


30th Jul 2003, 17:40

The cut off switch may be corroded over--the one that prevents you from starting in gear.