2000 Holden Commodore Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2000 Holden Commodore VT Series II Olympic Edition 3.8 Litre ECOTEC V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Litre ECOTEC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired103200 kilometres
Most recent distance130550 kilometres

Summary:

The best car on the planet

Faults:

The aircon doesn't seem to work properly; probably needs a re-gas.

Cruise control didn't work. I found wires for it and fixed it myself.

Oil seals leak (common on VT).

General Comments:

An excellent car; have only had it a few days and it's working very well, and drives well. All mechanicals good condition (had 104 point inspection cost me a $150).

Among the best cars I have ever driven; these include a Mitsubishi Magna 1994 and 2004, Toyota Corolla 1996 and 2004, a Hyundai 1998 (wouldn't even touch a Ford).

The car handles well and is going to be treated with a large amount of respect. To all Commodore owners: don't thrash your car. I have inspected some that wouldn't pass a roadworthy, so keep them in good nick and they are worth a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2008

2000 Holden Commodore VT 3.8 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 litre Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Best car ever made!!!

General Comments:

I purchased a 2000 model VT Commodore 5 speed manual and it is the best car I have ever owned. It's done 132 thousand k's and I haven't had any problems.

Every time I drive this car it's flat everywhere and it has never broken down in the 4 years I owned it.

I service it every 7 thousand k's, and always use the oils and things Holden say to use.

Overall this car is awesome, and I would recommend it to anyone..

Scott.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2008

2000 Holden Commodore VX 3.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance205000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

I need assistance from any Commodore owner who has had the same problem

Faults:

We are having major problems with our VX at the present time. It feels like it is staving for fuel when I put my foot done, but only for a few moments. and then it runs like a bird again. I have changed the Oxygen Sensor, Exhaust Sensor, Fuel Filter, all coils, and have checked all earths, etc., but I don't know which direction to head now. If anyone out there has had the same problem, but has had this problem fixed, I would love to hear from you, as I do love my car and up until now I would never have thought of changing cars, and still don't want to. I would really like to try and fix this problem, before I have to take it to a dealer (whom I know will change all of things I have already changed and charge me a mint for them). Any suggestion would be grateful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2008

26th Apr 2010, 19:28

Check the fuel pressure regulator or get the fuel system checked. I have had that problem too.

20th Jun 2010, 18:34

I had the same problem with my VT Berlina. I had everything fixed, and it still does it. Not happy!

2000 Holden Commodore VT Series 2 Executive 3.8L petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Great car, smooth, quick, fun

Faults:

Tyres wear faster on the inside due to camber issues. Nothing major; if you drive the car normally there will only be a slight difference.

General Comments:

Very very nice car. The engine is very punchy for a V6, and it's lugging around 1.5 tonnes of weight.

Not as quick as the VS due to the extra weight, but the interior excels over any previous model.

Everything power works, and I have not had a fault yet.

Handles very good for a family car. The only time I have noticed the car starting to get a bit out of control is when taking very long sweeping bends at over 130KM/HR. Around the city it's fine and very comfortable. Ride height is great; it never bottoms out, even with 5 people and a full tank of petrol.

I service it every 7000KMS, and the oil still looks new when I drop it. I would recommend draining the coolant if you haven't done it; the service book says do it every 40000kms, but I do every 14000 or every second service.

SO MUCH ROOM IN THE CABIN; easily fits 5 blokes in there, and the seats are very comfortable for long trips.

Manual gearbox:

My car has a factory fitted manual transmission. its makes the car go much faster, especially from take off. A standard VT automatic does 0-100km/hr in around 8.5-9 seconds. I have done 7.3 seconds from 0-100 in my car, which is 100% standard. The clutch is very very easy to drive around the city; very soft. However, if you are looking for that quick change from 1st into second, and getting the wheels spinning the the dry, you will only get a small chirp.

The car in the wet:

Windscreen wipers are great.

Traction in the wet is difficult. My car will spin the wheels in 3rd gear in the wet without any trouble, and remember it's 100% standard off the showroom floor. Be careful when taking off in the wet or giving it some gas around a corner, because you will be sideways before you know it. I have only a standard diff, and it's not an LSD, but the car will drift around any corner in second gear in the dry, let alone the wet.

The diff in the car, while only a standard 3.08:1 ratio single spinner diff, if you apply brake and accelerator and drop the clutch, it will sit on the spot spinning both wheels until the tyres pop. This has a lot to do with the manual, as you can drop the clutch as higher rpm to get the wheels going. The car has no problem pulling a 100m plus burnout with both wheels going in the dry.

The car is a little sluggish off the line due to the weight, but once moving it's great. The car can do 220+km/hr no worries.

If you're looking at buying a VT, I would get a Series 2 as most of the faults are worked out of them. Don't buy with anything over 150,000kms unless it is serviced every 7000-10000kms. If you can find a manual, get it as they s*** all over the automatics.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2007

31st May 2009, 03:52

I've got to agree about the manual, I've got an auto V6 executive and I've herd lots of times that the manual is a much better unit. The Ecotec is a fairly durable and reliable motor but, like all cars, serving it more often helps in the long run. (I do an oil/oil filter change every 5000K's)

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 20 reviews