2000 Holden Commodore VT 5.7 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Has the potential to be a great package once Holden resolve the inherent faults


Clutch is slipping at 43,000km.

General Comments:

Disappointed with dealerships response to the faulty clutch.

Has anyone experienced clutch failures and been unable to have the fault rectified under the warranty?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

2000 Holden Commodore VX SS V8 LS1 from Australia and New Zealand


Cool car


Diff needed to replaced as well as the clutch.

Brakes needed to be machined. Power steering pump went on holidays (power steering cooler fitted no more drama's).

Alternator needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

I have had this car for almost 3 years and it has had a hard life. It still looks good and still goes hard. Modifications are easy as pie with the LS1. I enjoy driving it every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2003

2000 Holden Commodore VTII 3.8L Ecotec V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Good performance if a few choice modifications are made


The car required new rear shock absorbers at 41,000Ks.

New power steering rack at 57,000Ks due to very stiff steering and oil leakage.

The car chews out the insides of rear tires, especially wider tires (17x8)

I have booked the car in again to have the steering looked at because of a loud clunk when turning left. (62000Ks)

General Comments:

All though I have had a few troubles I would not hesitate to buy another Commodore, Holden Motors in Hobart have given me great service and never hesitated in replacing parts under warranty.

With a few modifications it has turned in to a car that looks good, handles reasonably well and has enough grunt to give the odd REX a bit of a scare.

Since fitting 17x8 wheels and tires, a Sports Exhaust and a power chip the car performs much better, going from 0-100 in 7 Seconds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2003

2000 Holden Commodore VT 3.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


This is a great car and very fuel efficient.


My car stalled at 74850 and took about ten minutes to start again.

General Comments:

This car is great. It has Power steering which make handling no effort at all you barely need to touch the steering wheel.

It is extremely spacious inside and very comfortable.

This car is very quiet you can hardly hear the engine and there is virtually no road noise.

This car has a top speed of 220 kilometers per hour and will accelerate from zero to one hundred in 8.7 seconds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2003

21st Jun 2003, 15:02

This car is one of the best ever built.

12th Jan 2009, 09:29

I know for a fact that the V6 Commodore VT is capable of going well over 220km/h. It's a very good car.

2000 Holden Commodore VT 5.7L V8 from Australia and New Zealand


Cheap thrills, but only in the short term


Engine uses about 3.5 litres of oil per 10,000km.

Diff clunks.

Automatic transmission grinds when changing at low revs.

Plastic interior components rattle.

Tyres wear prematurely due to camber problems.

General Comments:

I have a VT Series 2 SS with the 5.7L V8 engine.

The engine is powerful enough with some minor modifications.

The auto transmission is dismal at getting the engine to do what I want it to do. When it should really kick down to first it stays in second. Sometimes I have trouble out-accelerating V6 cars from a rolling start because of this. From a standing start the car is quick.

The car is comfortable and still lots of fun, but it has a lot of problems. Unless I sell it soon I can see myself spending big bucks on getting things fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

2000 Holden Commodore VT II 'S' 3.8L from Australia and New Zealand


Very disappointing


Windscreen seals lifting.

Very rapid tyre wear on edges - noticable at 4000km.

Airbag warning light keeps coming on.

Won't start every now & then. You must lock/unlock the car with the remote a couple of times to get it to work.

Door seals visible from the outside of the car.

Horn comes on by itself at 3:00am in the morning waking all the neighbours up. Had to pull the wires out from underneath to stop it.

Clunking in diff-since new, returned to service 4 times. Dealers say "what noise". Put in fully synthetic oil in gearbox & diff to try to stop clunking, now gears very sticky hard to change, noise in diff still there.

Leaking boot lid, if you open the boot after you wash it or rain water spills into the boot & whatever is in there. Very annoying!

Recalled for faulty headlight relay & fuel pump.

Very thin paint (tiger mica), chips & scratches very easy.

General Comments:

Worst car ever owned. Other owners say the same thing, similar problems. Very unhappy with dealers explanation of problems.

Very disappointing to spend $36000 on car to find it's a lemon.

Excel was much better value for $14000, hardly any problems.

Otherwise the car looks great, drives fairly well, but all the problems are a big turn off.

Thinking of selling & buying another model. Any recommendations???

VX (any better)??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th July, 2001

10th Sep 2001, 07:24

Re:VT Commodore Series II:

Here! Here! Bought a Series II Commodore (Manual) new in Sept 2000. We have had exactly the same problems with little satisfaction from the dealer.

It's now going in for the 8th time in 12 months, for a transmission (clunking) problem and ignition problem (won't start). Overall, very disappointed with both the dealer and the vehicle.

Seriously considering selling it as a LEMON!!!