1974 Holden HQ Belmont 3.3 inline six from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Simple, reliable old time Holden

Faults:

Back fold-down tailgate rusted out every few years, rusting even faster when living near the sea! (would rust out in six months)

Handle/rear window winder/lock assembly on tailgate broke off regularly (metal looked cast) and essentially cracked in half.

General Comments:

Not a bad car for its time, but did have some quirks. Rust wasn't too bad an issue, just the back tailgate. 3.3L engine needed frequent tuning to keep her from stalling at idle.

Had some odd features, hand brake was beside the driver's seat, seat would sag when the driver sat on it, making using the handbrake inconvenient. Column shift transmission due to the front bench seat. Reversing (in the wagon) was difficult, apparently due to a steering geometry design flaw (the wagon had same the steering geometry as the sedan, despite having a longer wheelbase).

I'm going to give a smiley rating, but if I bought this car today, I wouldn't be very impressed! Car standards have come a long way since the 70s.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2015

1972 Holden HQ Kingswood 202 Cubic Inches from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Solid Aussie Tank

Faults:

The car was a typical Aussie Tank; built very solid and a great runner.

The only things that went wrong were minor and annoying such as the starter motor falling on the road.

The car almost got me arrested. Late one night after finishing a late shift at work, I got into it to go home when the gear linkages jammed (an old Holden problem).

That was no problem to me as it had happened to me before; you just have to lift the bonnet and it's just a simple matter of fiddling the linkages with your fingers until they drop into place.

On this occasion I was doing this when I felt a tap on my shoulder; I ignored this as I thought it was one of my workmates. After about three more taps I lost patience and told them to F*** off.

Only problem it was a cop who wanted to know why I had my head under a bonnet on a dark street. After some fast talking and a very red face, he believed me and let me go.

General Comments:

Very well built car from GMH Holden.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2009

31st Jul 2009, 06:51

Hehe good story.. good car too.

1973 Holden HQ HQ 202 high compression from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Hard

Faults:

The diff in the sixes blow way too easily.

The axles snap way too easily.

General Comments:

The car is as tough as nails, but the diff and axles are just too weak. With a conversion to a Ford 9 inch diff with billet axles you will never blow a diff again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2007

17th Aug 2008, 06:07

I know many HQ Holdens that covered in excess of 500,000 miles on one diff.

They will only snap if you abuse them or subject them to ridiculous amounts of stress. The fact that you talk about replacing it with a Ford 9" makes me think that this is what you are doing.

1972 Holden HQ ute 173 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Best thing you can buy on four wheels

Faults:

Bad battery. speedo never worked, couldn't find matching gear for speedo cable. Had to adjust rockers.

General Comments:

Wicked ute, I've got a brand new car now and I'd still choose the old girl over anything. Reliable as anything, even with bad wheel bearings and a bad knock. Miss it dearly, wish I didn't give it up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2006

1972 Holden HQ Premier 3.3L 202 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Great old car that just keeps on going!!

Faults:

The fuel gauge and temp gauge are very unreliable. The carby needs replacing.

General Comments:

Very good condition for its age. Vinyl seats get very hot in the sun (OUCH!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2006

1972 Holden HQ Kingswood 202 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

My pride and Joy, true Australian classic

Faults:

Front wheel bearings needed replacing.

All four Tyres replaced.

Small leak in front grille.

Transmission fluid leaked out whilst on Car transporter.

Carby needed rebuilding.

General Comments:

No major problems in 17,000 miles, mainly due to regular preventative maintenance.

Large problems prevented by nipping small ones in the bud.

Bench seat gets uncomfortable on long rides.

Great vision from Cabin.

Timeless style and flair, any HQ will always turn heads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2004