1972 Holden HQ Belmont 202 (3.3) from Australia and New Zealand


Low cost reliable bus


Electrical system failed.

Brake pad renewal.

Rear universal joint.

General Comments:

Good, reliable and solid wagon. Could put many a 4 wheel drive to shame!

A bit slow with original 173 but rectified that problem with a warm 202.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

1st Nov 2001, 04:01

Sure they may be a bit sluggish with the 173, but instead of putting in a fuel guzzling 202, why didn't you put in a 186 with a 161 head on. It gives you the same amount of power as a 202 but with about 26 miles to the gallon.


4th Mar 2004, 10:30

Holden Red 202 motors are one of the best power motors for a Holden HQ. With the Heavy body the 202 motor just will keep the car traveling at a nice cruising speed with enough power to get you out of trouble if you so desire. My Grandfather was a Production Manager at GM. Elizabeth in South Australia and he said the best ever car GM. made was the Holden HQ. The bodies of the cars would wear out before the motors. 33 years later his words are all so true. I have his retirement HQ and it has 487,500km on the clock with out any major work having to be done. The body is slowly needing care and I will restore it in the very near future. Holden is Australia's driving future and HQ is Australia's Driving Legend.

9th May 2004, 18:52

No car before or since the HQ has been designed with such simple beauty (in my opinion). Wouldn't it be great if bodies like that could be built today and contain many of the advances in engines, brakes and suspension, but have that style preserved on the outside... Then it wouldn't only be the mechanically gifted who could have an improved Kingswood for the long term.

1973 Holden HQ Kingswood 202ci from Australia and New Zealand


Tyres needed changing a few times, starter motor needed replacement, rear universal joint, battery 3 times, brake pads 5 times.

General Comments:

They just keep on keeping on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

5th Dec 2000, 17:59

The Kingswood is a very good car, they just keep going and going.

9th May 2002, 18:49

What sort of mileage do you get from your 73 HQ km-litres?

9th Jun 2002, 06:54

Love my HQ Premier Wagon. It's worst feature is it's thirst.

Fuel consumption is 19 MPG (and that's on a good day in the country). Best features are the ease of repair and the best forward visability of any car I've driven. The handling is quite nimble considering the size and weight of it.

29th Dec 2002, 18:46

We just got a 1973 Holden HQ Belmont station wagon with a 305 bolted in. So far been running well, not too thirsty and general condition is pretty good. Needs a new transmission and brake shoes, but other than that running well!

1st Jun 2003, 04:19

I'm 16 I just got a 74 HQ it needs a little work, but I plan to get my hands dirty.

13th Oct 2003, 22:21

I have just bought a 1971 HQ Premier and have lowered it to approximately nine centimeters, however now it needs a new trans and I'm thinking of converting it from a 253 auto to a 308 manual with a Muncie. apart from all the things wrong with it at the moment I love it with all my heart... its my baby.

7th Dec 2003, 00:04

I'm 17 and just got a 73 HQ Kings wood, rides great and looks awesome.

14th Dec 2005, 06:32

THe best thing about all HQ's, doesn't matter what condition they are in credit is always given for owning own. Timeless classic, hopefully will outlast the VR/VS commodore big sound system craze.