1974 Holden HQ Kingswood Ute 308 V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A Bute Ute and unbeatable character

Faults:

Rust before the rear wheel guards.

That was all!

General Comments:

I couldn't get up a hill in a snow blizzard once because the back was too light and the car had too much grunt so the wheels spun, but the old Ute wouldn't budge. A U-turn sorted that out though.

Wherever you can take a 4x4 an HQ will go as well, tough as old boots they are and they don't quit on you.

Make sure you hold on to that steering wheel though when cornering to the right fast as you may find yourself sliding to the left across the vinyl bench-seat!I seriously loved those cars and miss them.

If I ever make it home to New Zealand I'm buying another!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

1975 Holden HQ Belmont 327 Chevrolet V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A cheap good street machine

Faults:

Replaced front lower suspension bushes.

Front shocks wore out.

Replaced ball joints.

General Comments:

Hot 327 Chev, a lot of power, feels more so powered behind a T10 4 Speed top loader.

Handles like a dream, I've had heavy duty suspension all round.

Sounds like a dream, twin 2 and a half inch pipes coming out behind the back tires with chrome tips and flows.

It's a wagon so it has to have a loud stereo. So the 2 subs fit nicely behind the back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2002

1974 Holden HQ Factory V8 Kingswood 253 ci V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

They don't make 'em like they use too

Faults:

In need of consistent tuning.

Motor rebuilt - it was getting a bit sluggish.

Could be hard to start some times.

Rear tires keep evapourating.

Bit of rust in all the usual places.

Cold drafts in cabin especially by feet.

Heater never worked properly - replace heater core numerous times.

Clutch bands in trimatic (traumatic) auto replaced.

Some over heating issue's when first purchased remedied by fitting a fan shroud - I don't know why they were sold in New Zealand with out them.

Head lights were shocking.

General Comments:

This car was cheap and surprisingly powerful and quick considering its size and engine.

4 years after the engine was rebuilt this car recorded 109 hp at the rear wheels on the rolling road. Not to shabby for a 253 V8.

This car was in original condition, and had only 2 owners for the first 25 years of its life.

Ain't nothing like a bench seat for cornering at high speed.

If I could find another factory V8 HQ one in this car's condition I would buy it with out hesitating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2002

7th Nov 2002, 20:14

I have a 2 owner 160000km 308 Trimatic HQ Kingswood with factory GTS dash. Real tidy and original. $4500. wiser77@hotmail.com. Garn mate, put your money where your mouth is!

11th Sep 2006, 22:29

Hey I own a HQ Holden ute it's a beast of a car. Havn't had any problems with it besides the fact that it is to low got to love the Holdens.

23rd Dec 2006, 23:30

No they don't build them like they used to, they build them a whole lot better.

1st Dec 2009, 19:21

Ha, you sure they build them better these days? See where all these new cars are when they are the same age as the Kingswood... cars used to be built to last, average modern car is designed to last 10 years with regular use cos they worked out that way they sell more cars.

1972 Holden HQ Belmont 202 (3.3) from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Low cost reliable bus

Faults:

Electrical system failed.

Brake pad renewal.

Rear universal joint.

General Comments:

Good, reliable and solid wagon. Could put many a 4 wheel drive to shame!

A bit slow with original 173 but rectified that problem with a warm 202.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

1st Nov 2001, 04:01

Sure they may be a bit sluggish with the 173, but instead of putting in a fuel guzzling 202, why didn't you put in a 186 with a 161 head on. It gives you the same amount of power as a 202 but with about 26 miles to the gallon.

LONG LIVE THE HOLDEN!!!

4th Mar 2004, 10:30

Holden Red 202 motors are one of the best power motors for a Holden HQ. With the Heavy body the 202 motor just will keep the car traveling at a nice cruising speed with enough power to get you out of trouble if you so desire. My Grandfather was a Production Manager at GM. Elizabeth in South Australia and he said the best ever car GM. made was the Holden HQ. The bodies of the cars would wear out before the motors. 33 years later his words are all so true. I have his retirement HQ and it has 487,500km on the clock with out any major work having to be done. The body is slowly needing care and I will restore it in the very near future. Holden is Australia's driving future and HQ is Australia's Driving Legend.

9th May 2004, 18:52

No car before or since the HQ has been designed with such simple beauty (in my opinion). Wouldn't it be great if bodies like that could be built today and contain many of the advances in engines, brakes and suspension, but have that style preserved on the outside... Then it wouldn't only be the mechanically gifted who could have an improved Kingswood for the long term.

1973 Holden HQ Kingswood 202ci from Australia and New Zealand

Faults:

Tyres needed changing a few times, starter motor needed replacement, rear universal joint, battery 3 times, brake pads 5 times.

General Comments:

They just keep on keeping on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

5th Dec 2000, 17:59

The Kingswood is a very good car, they just keep going and going.

9th May 2002, 18:49

What sort of mileage do you get from your 73 HQ km-litres?

9th Jun 2002, 06:54

Love my HQ Premier Wagon. It's worst feature is it's thirst.

Fuel consumption is 19 MPG (and that's on a good day in the country). Best features are the ease of repair and the best forward visability of any car I've driven. The handling is quite nimble considering the size and weight of it.

29th Dec 2002, 18:46

We just got a 1973 Holden HQ Belmont station wagon with a 305 bolted in. So far been running well, not too thirsty and general condition is pretty good. Needs a new transmission and brake shoes, but other than that running well!

1st Jun 2003, 04:19

I'm 16 I just got a 74 HQ it needs a little work, but I plan to get my hands dirty.

13th Oct 2003, 22:21

I have just bought a 1971 HQ Premier and have lowered it to approximately nine centimeters, however now it needs a new trans and I'm thinking of converting it from a 253 auto to a 308 manual with a Muncie. apart from all the things wrong with it at the moment I love it with all my heart... its my baby.

7th Dec 2003, 00:04

I'm 17 and just got a 73 HQ Kings wood, rides great and looks awesome.

14th Dec 2005, 06:32

THe best thing about all HQ's, doesn't matter what condition they are in credit is always given for owning own. Timeless classic, hopefully will outlast the VR/VS commodore big sound system craze.