2001 Holden Vectra JS Equipe 2.2 from Australia and New Zealand


Very good. Have wanted a new car for quite some time, but the Vectra has never let me down


Since I have owned the car 2nd hand, the only issues have been

- a slightly leaking head gasket.

- the windscreen washer squirters are dis-functional i.e no pressure. Assuming the pump needs to be replaced.

- 1 dead battery. The original battery was replaced after approx 5 years use.

Basically this car has been maintenance free for me, except for 2 or 3 standard services.

General Comments:

I have found this car to be very reliable.

However the 2.2 4 cylinder engine is lacking a bit of power for my liking, even though it is a manual.

Ride comfort is quite acceptable, and the handling is pretty good. Handles far better than my last car, which was an EL falcon.

Good fuel economy, but not excellent. I estimate around 10 litre's /per 100kms for highway driving and around 12 for city.

Traction control cannot be turned off on this model, not that you would want to anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2007

2001 Holden Vectra CD JS SERIES 11 2.6L V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Would not recommend this model due to repair costs


At 88695km, the car overheated and we found oil in the radiator. Took a whole month for the dealership to repair the faults and return the car to me.

Due to the overheating problem, I had to have the engine cylinder heads removed and serviced as they had become bent. Oil cooler and radiator removed and replaced.

At 94024km, an oil leak in rear feed pipe. Took it to the dealer, and was advised that it was not part of warranty from work previously done.

At 99000km,another oil leak has developed. Very nervous now as have to take it back to the dealer again. Will it be warranty or another "was not part of the original work".

General Comments:

Loved the car I when first bought it.

It is comfortable and handles the road well.

Unfortunately the car is rather expensive to repair, and have not had very much luck with dealership's repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th September, 2005

18th Aug 2006, 22:36

I also had a 2001 2.6 v6 Vectra that had the same sort of issues, it overheated at 45000kms when it was around 2 years old. As a result it spent 8 weeks at the Holden Dealership where it had cylinder heads, gaskets and various cooling system parts replaced.

Didn't keep the car much longer after that! - bit of a shame though as these cars are nice, powerful and comfortable in CD v6 spec.

2001 Holden Vectra CD Hatch 2.2Ltr DOHC from Australia and New Zealand


I'm still deciding if I should have bought it or not


Steering makes a squeaking sort of noise as I turn my steering wheel.

Left door makes loud clicking noise as its opened (holden says its tight springs in the doors)

Petrol gauge only goes up to just above three quarters full even though trip computer estimates approx 500km left to go. Also when the guage shows less then half...trip computer estimates close to 400km remaining.

Drivers seat slightly squeaks.

Trip computer displays "check rear light" but all lights are working.

General Comments:

I find it hard to get a smooth take off in the car and I have been driving manual for many years now. Feels like its going to stall then it just takes off all of a sudden.

Once car is moving, it becomes a very nice car to drive... smooth and responsive.

I'm impressed with the standard stereo system... very loud n clear. Saves me from having to purchase aftermarket sound system equipment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th May, 2005

18th May 2005, 11:03

I had the misfortune of hiring one of these Vectras. I had the same problem with gears, nearly stalling and then shooting off - Very annoying. I gave the car back 2 days early, as I had too many near misses with other cars.

The Astra is from the same family and cheaper than the Vectra, but the Astras in my opinion drive so much better. Although the Vectra does look more stylish.

12th Mar 2006, 18:39

One of your comments is not a fault! When the Vectra display says "check rear light" but all lights are working, this is deliberate. Read your owner's manual. The purpose is to press the brake pedal to check the tail lights are functioning correctly when the brakes are on. That's why the message disappears as soon as you press the brake. It's a weird thing to do, I agree, but it's deliberate - not a fault.

18th Aug 2006, 22:25

I had a 2003 Astra that also had the irritating loud click noise when the door is opened, Nice car otherwise

25th Nov 2008, 07:30

The loud clicking noise when opening the door are loose bolts. To fix, open door, locate the 2 torx bolts (star shaped hole in the head). These are either side of the limit strap, then tighten them. They drove me crazy until I worked out what the noise was.

16th May 2009, 20:51

I have found these Vectra's extremely good value for money, they rarely have any faults, performance is excellent.

They are durable and have stylish euro looks.

The 2.2 models are excellent on fuel taking into account the mid sized vehicle that they are.