1982 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1982 Honda Accord LX 1.8L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance197000 kilometres

Summary:

A great car for teens starting out!

Faults:

A tiny bit of rust on roof only.

Water pump needed to be replaced.

Speakers blew, but I soon replaced the whole sound system with a $400 one.

General Comments:

This is my first car, I'm 18 and just finished high school. My uncle gave it to me looking like rubbish, I fixed it up and now it looks great. The car has great fuel economy so running costs are low.

Great little zippy car, gets around pretty quick. I don't think its wise to pull a trailer with it, but it sure is powerful enough to carry 5 people safely and comfortably.

The car has never really broken down or has it been on a tow truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2003

1982 Honda Accord 1.8L 4-Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8L 4-Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

A little car with a lot of heart

Faults:

Replaced windshield wipers.

Replaced battery and main fuse.

Replaced front brake pads.

General Comments:

Very easy to handle and drive.

Paid $600 for it, turned out to be the best $600 I spent.

Not much to look at, but a very forgiving and reliable vehicle.

Wish the AC and Cruise Control still worked, but you get what you pay for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2003

1982 Honda Accord LX 1.8L from Japan

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Pinto

Summary:

A money pit

Faults:

Needed complete rebuild of all 4 brakes to the tune of over $1000.

Constant Velocity Joints wore out and locked up.

Air Conditioning leaked and compressor seized up.

Power Steering leaked fluid everywhere.

5 separate mufflers went bad.

Heater Core leaked and ruined carpeting.

Numerous electrical problems.

General Comments:

I understand this isn't a typical experience with Accords, but this was a nightmare car. My old Ford Pinto was more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2003

4th Feb 2006, 06:23

No way is a ford pinto better then a 82 Honda accord.

4th Feb 2006, 18:03

I had both. The pinto had to be beaten with a stick to make it go. I drove the Honda to the srcap yard and had to shoot it between the headlights to put it down.

1982 Honda Accord EX 1.6 from Finland

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired302480 kilometres
Most recent distance302560 kilometres
Previous carFord Granada

Summary:

Low cost, but needs some work

Faults:

The engine lost oil pressure on the way home, probably due to a failure in the oil pump.

The front passenger hangs due to rust damage to the pillar supporting it.

General Comments:

Runs nice when it's running.

Didn't cost much (20 €)

Nice color (Metallic Red)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

1982 Honda Accord LX 1.8L I4 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8L I4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

A zippy reliable car

Faults:

Water pump failed

Alternator failed

Various electrical bugs (due to overcharging alternator)

Rear Brake hoses replaced

Carburetor replaced.

General Comments:

This has been an execllent car for throughout it's entire life. I love driving it. It's not as refined as some of the newer Hondas, but it is still a great car. Very reliable, always starts right up. Very quick off the line, for it's configuration. Not a sports car, but it sure wants to be. Not fast, but feels like a rocket. I've driven much faster cars, but none convey the speed like this one does. Good throttle response and great gas mileage

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2002

1982 Honda Accord 4 door sdn from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance174000 miles
Previous carGMC Cavalier

Summary:

A high performance bargain

General Comments:

This car was built for many years of trouble free driving. It never quits! It has a good seating design. Great for long trips as well as back an forth to work!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

1982 Honda Accord 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired237000 miles
Most recent distance281000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A well-built, extremely reliable, useful car

Faults:

The engine was rebuilt at 233,000 miles.

The carburetor was gummed up; this was the only time in 40,000 miles it did not start.

The water pump was replaced (was the original) at 260,000.

The choke opener was replaced.

The alternator was rebuilt.

The oil pan gasket began to leak and was replaced.

General Comments:

This has been the most reliable car I've ever owned; there was one failed start in 5 years and 40,000 miles.

The car gets 30 mpg city and 36-39 mpg highway.

The original 5 speed manual transmission is still smooth as silk.

Everything in the car still works, including the rear window washer and wiper.

The seat covers and carpet were worn out when I bought it, but the headliner is still perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2002

1982 Honda Accord SY 1.6 Lt petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 Lt petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres

Summary:

Great economy!

Faults:

Gearbox started to make bad sounds and was replaced ($200).

Electronic Ignition problem had our mechanic trying to figure it out for a week - it was arching the spark inside the distributor!! ($100)

A fair bit of rust through-out when we got it. Fix & Respray (Did it myself) $150.

Rear seat sun deteriorated (normal..)

General Comments:

Great little car.

Not much for performance, but its only a 4 cylinder!

Very economic to run and very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2002

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 21 reviews