1991 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 11 of 20

1991 Honda Accord LX Sedan 4D 4 cylinder. 2.2 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. 2.2 Liter Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance243000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A reliable, fuel efficient nice sized great car!

Faults:

Radiator.

Lower radiator hose (separate instance from above)

CV Joint.

Front drive axle.

Distributor Coil.

Alternator.

Shifter cables.

Windows roll up/down very slowly.

General Comments:

I just wanted to add another positive comment about this year Honda Accord.

This car has averaged 50 miles a day for 13 years and still drives like a champ.

The only time it has left me stranded is when the radiator, radiator hose, axle, coil and shifter cables went out (not all at the same time of course).

The A/C still blows ice cold.

If you plan on getting this car, it's great for a simple, reliable, comfortable, upgradeable, cheap, and fuel efficient car (it still gets 28 miles per gallon average).

I bought it from my parents at 150,000 and after 243,000 total miles (the average distance to the moon is 240,000 miles) I'm ready to take it up to 500,000!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

1991 Honda Accord LX 4-Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4-Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles

Summary:

Great daily driver!

Faults:

Some routine stuff.

Needed new wires.

Air Conditioner had to be fixed.

General Comments:

This is my first car, and it is a great car to start with. Sure, it's no Ferrari, but it's still a very nice daily driver. It has automatic seat belts (that was an option that was picked out by the first owner) and I installed a CD Player. It gets good mileage, getting at least 300 miles per tank.

I recommend a Honda to anyone thinking of getting one, or to someone who wants a reliable car to get around in that gets good mileage. Honda is a car that has been with my family as far back as my dad's 1980 Prelude (which, sadly, they no longer make). Check it out!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2004

1991 Honda Accord LX 2.2 I4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 I4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Japanese technology at its best!

Faults:

Engine gasket went bad.

CV joints replaced.

Tie-rod ends replaced.

Ball joints replaced.

Front disc rotors replaced.

Driver side window doesn't work.

Clutch is weak.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable car. It never let me down or stranded. It has decent power and I've touched 120MPH more than 10 times on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

1991 Honda Accord EX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 kilometres
Most recent distance268000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A solid, reliable, fun to drive basic transportation

Faults:

Main relay left the car stranded at work.

Both front springs broke because of corrosion.

Front wheel bearing replaced around 115K.

Master cylinder failed around 200K.

Radiator replaced because of leak.

Power antenna became jammed.

These are all common problems with this generation accord.

General Comments:

Other than the problems above this has been a very reliable auto.

Engine performance is solid, but handling is average compared to my previous Prelude.

Seats are v. comfortable on long trips.

Gas mileage has been very consistent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2004

31st Jul 2004, 17:32

Yep, my driver's side window also stopped working. Have had to have my car towed numerous times due to not starting.

1991 Honda Accord DX from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles

Summary:

A long-lasting enjoyable ride

Faults:

I've never had any major problems with the car other than a minor amount of rust on the exterior.

Also, I've had a few thing replaced in the engine, but nothing more than routine for a old car.

The Odometer broke at 308,000 miles.

The right mirror broke.

General Comments:

This car was a very reliable car. I got it from my father when I began driving in 2001.

He purchased it in 1997 with around 175,000 miles on it.

My father drove it 40 miles to work and back everyday from 1997 to 2001 and then purchased another Honda Civic when I began driving.

I always enjoyed riding in the car and felt very safe.

It never felt like an old car to me because it wasn't very loud.

It had to have over 300,000 miles when I totaled it in an accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2004

1991 Honda Accord LX Wagon 2.2 4 cylinder Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127300 miles
Most recent distance175469 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Absolutely Bullet Proof Engineering

Faults:

The Car needed a new Speed Sensor prior to me purchasing the vehicle.

The Car Dealer paid this cost.

I even got him to Replace the Plastic Radiator at his own cost as I spotted a minor crack in the Radiator Plastic that was oozing a minute amount of Coolant.

Shortly after purchase I had to replace the Fuel Pump, Fuel Filter, Transmission Computer.

This was not the Cars fault as my wife drove it across some very high water!

The only time we almost broke down was when one of the Heater Hoses decided to leak. However the Car still got us home.

I then decided that not knowing the History of this Car to replace every rubber hose.

I have now done nearly 50,000 Miles in a year with no significant or unexpected problems.

I do however maintain the hell out of my Cars.

I change the Transmission Fluid each 7,000 Miles and I only ever use the Genuine Honda ATF Fluid.

The Transmission still runs like the day I bought the Car.

I replaced the P.C.V Valve.

Now I am going to take it off the road and replace the following parts;

New Distributor just $120,

Fuel Filter $20 Genuine Honda Part,

Front Brake Rotors $15 Each,

Spark Plugs NGK $3 Each,

Front Brake Pads $27,

Rear brake rebuild including Cylinders and New Drums $160.

I also now need a new Hood and Chrome Grill as I recently hit a Deer!

This will run me $150,I shall use my Air Compressor and Spray this myself.

I hit this large Deer at 60 mph and that is the only damage!

The deer did not fare too well, I witnessed it flying through the air in three seperate pieces!

The paintwork needs some minor spraying in places this is due to the previous owners lack of care.

The car is based in Central Texas, however there is a large R. V Bracket on the front end. So this car has probably seen all kinds of weather.

It is rust free including the Rear Arches, a common Honda Accord Rusting Point.

It is a testament to the overall build quality that after an Accident the Frame is not even kinked let alone twisted.

I have checked the Wheel Alignment and it is 100% even after the Accident.

A Friend of mine has a 1992 Honda Accord Sedan that rolled over 6 times at 70 MPH. The vehicle was obviously severely damaged. Yet he was able to just crawl out of the window! He did not have so much as a scratch on him.

I have had to replace one of the Window Regulators, to be expected at this age and mileage.

This is no big deal considering I only paid $70 for the Brand New Regulator which did include a Brand New Window Motor also.

I replaced the Rubber Window Channel also,$5 at a local Wrecker Yard.

To sum up I have spent a total of $1800 for 50,000 Miles of Motoring with Zero Car Payments,This equates to a little over $350 for each 10,000 miles or the average annual mileage for most people.

General Comments:

This car is amazing, the bargain of the Century.

You just cannot kill a Honda.

We use this Car as a Delivery Vehicle and it certainly has proven to be a great choice.

The Interior is as new, The seats are still extremely supportive with no signs of sagging.

There are also no Interior rattles anywhere.

I only paid $2250 for this Vehicle and it will easily go to 300k plus miles.

I say this because I managed to get a Saturn SL2 to 283k miles and that Motor was never as smooth or as strong as my F22A1 Honda Lump.

I bought this Honda because I used to own various Honda/Yamaha/Kawasaki Motorcycles in my Native England.

The 1999 Honda Fireblade that I had the very great pleasure of riding was the best of the bunch, requiring very little maintenance even after a serious track day outing.

The Fourth Generation Honda Accord is highly sought after by those in the know.

Do not be put off by the age of these vehicles if you can do your own work 95% of the time then the running costs are not a prohibitive factor.

These Old Accords are expensive to buy compared to the usual junk for one reason ;you pay for the Over Engineering.

Parts Prices are reasonable if you shop around on the Internet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2004

6th Jul 2004, 16:28

I find it hard to believe you could hit a LARGE deer at 60MPH and only dent the hood!!! Like the deer, you and the car should also be in three pieces.

12th Jul 2004, 18:59

To the person who posted the first comment. Yes I was going 60 MPH when a Large Deer ran out in front of me. I did not have time to brake at all therefore the Front End of my Honda Accord did not nosedive or go any lower. If you hit an animal other than a Horse or a Cow perhaps at that speed the Animal will in most cases be pushed forwards. In the case of my Deer colision I witnessed the Deer be forced about 20 feet into the air about 15 feet ahead of the impact point. Perhaps you live in another part of the country where the Deer are larger. I am in Central Texas the Deer here are not that large. I would estimate the weight to have been 100 to 120LLBS.Also if you ever have looked at the Front Clip on a Honda Accord of this model year you would notice how far out the Bumper sticks out. My hood was actually Dented/Large Dents in Three Seperate Places, all on the very Front leading edge. I hope this provides you with a more detailed description of my Accident.

10th Nov 2004, 23:58

Your story is very funny, however I believe you though I have a honda accord Lx, and that car is riding out.

3rd Mar 2006, 21:09

That's a good story, because the SAME thing happened to me. I have a 91 Accord LX sedan, going 60 mph on a rural highway in WI. Had no time to react and hit the deer going 60. The deer didn't fare well and he was an 8-pt buck. The car did pretty well! Only a dented hood and the turn signal next to the headlight got knocked out. That's it. I was amazed, no other structural damage.

29th May 2006, 00:56

Yes, when my Honda hit the deer at 60mph, just windshield, radiator, slam panel, and hood, fender needed replacing. Even the front end alignment was still fine.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 86 reviews