1991 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 13 of 20

1991 Honda Accord EX 2.2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 miles
Most recent distance218700 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Very reliable car for it's mileage!

Faults:

Had to replace head gasket because of broken timing belt at 195,000 miles. Had it easily fixed and has run ever since.

Replaced oil pan and gasket at 200,000.

General rust in rear wheel wells, typical fashion.

Burns Oil.

General Comments:

Car runs very well for it's mileage.

Gets about 28 miles per gallon.

Extremely reliable. I have many cross-country road trips from Miami to Ohio.

Cornering is very good.

I am 6'4" and it's very comfortable and roomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2003

1991 Honda Accord LX 2.2 liter 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter 16v Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired184000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Very reliable and well made vehicle, with nothing bad to say about it!

Faults:

Well the distributor cap had to be replaced, and the spark plugs also.

The horn went, and I had to find one and figure out how to put it in, because no one around here was familiar with Hondas.

The windshield wiper fluid dose not work on my car; I don't know why or anything, but other than that, nothing else has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Well overall, when I first saw it, I loved it. I fell in love; I knew it was perfect for me. It's nice; big body, comfortable, a lot of room inside, and good on the highway - cruise control and you're set.

It's got a huge trunk, and great leg and head space. So overall this is a wonderful car; great in all perspectives and angles!

The handling of this car is great, and the mileage is ridiculous; I can drive on a full tank for 2 weeks; it's crazy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

21st Jan 2004, 13:41

My windshield washer fluid hose just had to be replaced also (130,000 miles), after ignoring the problem for one year. $4 in parts and one hour labor, to remove the left front fender. No big deal.

1991 Honda Accord LX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired117500 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carPontiac Pontiac

Summary:

Great car, period

Faults:

The lows beam headlights stopped working at about 134000, internal electrical problem

Continous velocity joint, (CV joint) on left side needed to be replaced at about 138000 miles.

The brake pads at 136000.

I have rust on both side of the rear Quarter panels do to the upper lip of the wheel wells are curved upward and hold in water and salt, from winter.

General Comments:

I'm glad with the purchase of my Honda accord, I've had three cars and the only one to even come close to comparing to this car is my 1st, a 93' Acura Legend.

For an auto 4 banger, I've beaten 2.1L manual Civics!!

I've put about 35,000 miles on this car since Nov 2002 and only put oil, a CV joint and brake pads in this car, very reliable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2003

1991 Honda Accord LX 2.2liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Better than the new model

Faults:

There have been numerous things that I have had to replace on this car. But thankfully nothing major. I have had to replace the brakes two times, the front drivers side axle, the drivers side window (the bolt broke off on the bottom), the radiator, the back turning light wiring components, and the antenna had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I wouldn't trade this car at all, not even for the new 2003 model. Overall the car handles well, driving in the snow isn't as great though. The back end will fish tale if the speed is too much.

I drive this car every day, and take care to make sure that all the scheduled maintenance is done on time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2003

1991 Honda Accord Ex 2L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance251000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

You have to buy that car...seriously!

Faults:

The heat fan broke up when I bought it... but it's kind of a "normal problem" of it... but it doesn't cost a lot.

General Comments:

It's a really good car...reliable...fun to use

Fast car too even if it's automatic...proofs...I can eat a civic "stock"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

1991 Honda Accord LX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

I will never buy anything other than honda ever again

Faults:

I have had very little problems with this car. I have replaced the distributor at about 158,000 miles ($400), which as from what I understand is one of the only downfalls to the 4th generation accord. I replaced the break master cylinder at around 164,000 miles ($58). I had to replace the inside door handle on the drivers door ($24) due to cracking which is one of the other weak links in these cars. everything else that had been done to this car is regular maintenance like breaks ($48 for life time replacement), oil changes (about every 6,000 miles), tires (approximately $250) and a driver side c.v. shaft ($63). in the total of 4 years I have owned this car the maintenance total is around $900 total. which comes down to about $225 per year. not bad for maintenance record on a 12 year old car?

General Comments:

I bought this car for my girlfriend and loved it so much that I bought myself another 91 lx 5 speed which got totaled in 2002 so I replaced it with yet again another accord, 93 dx 5 speed this time.

This car has nice performance and handles better than any other family sedan I have ever seen.

I wouldn't trade this car for anything else that I have ever driven.

If you ever have the need for a great car that's reliable and have the chance to buy a 90 - 93 accord, do it, you won't regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2003

22nd Dec 2003, 06:51

I own a 1991 accord LX and I can say nothing bad about this car reliability and comfort is all it has. It is a strong car and the speed is there if you need it. If you need to buy a family sedan it would be a good choice.

21st Feb 2008, 21:00

Owner of a 1991 Honda Accord EX wagon. It has been the best car I have ever owned. I keep it maintained on schedule & it works perfectly. I've had Chryslers in the past & will never have another. I'm a happy Honda owner & will never buy anything other than a Honda.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 86 reviews