1991 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 18 of 20

1991 Honda Accord LX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

A very reliable, affordable and nice looking sedan

Faults:

The driver's side seat belt release broke (re-call item.) at 80,000 miles.

Blew a head gasket at 110,000 miles.

Both quarter panels started to rust early at 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very reliable car. Most things that have been fixed are routine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

1991 Honda Accord EX-R 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Overall very good

Faults:

Distributor and ignition coil on 170000km.

CV boot easily cracks.

Oil pan gasket replace due to leakage.

Easy rust from the inner quarter panel, needs attention.

General Comments:

It is a very good car and easy to fix by the owner, save gas and cheap parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2001

15th Apr 2003, 10:17

Excellent comment. It seems you know my car very well because I just have my ignition coil, distributor cap and rotor replaced today due to the engine kept cutting in and out.

CV Boot... well, has been replaced twice and my car has 137,000 miles on it.

The only thing I don't see here is power windows and power lock. I have heard and seen lot of negative comments about that.

FN.

1st Aug 2003, 00:49

Please note that when you take your vehicle for a service, the good folks have a habit of hooking a thumb in the CV boot, tearing it and turning it inside out so nobody can see the damage, and then charging you for a new CV boot. Isn't that nice?

1991 Honda Accord DX 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

This is a fine automobile!

Faults:

There is a problem with the sport shifter. It comes on inappropriately. When this occurs, the transmission will not shift higher than 2nd gear. It will switch back and forth, sometimes gearing back down to 2nd gear from 4th. I am afraid I will need a transmission computer or if not, the crooked NY/NJ dealers will try to make me believe I need a new transmission.

The antenna is shot. It broke and the motor is finished too.

The automatic seat belt takes my head off sometimes.

The motor mounts had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This is a great car when the sports shifter is behaving itself by remaining off.

The handling is good.

The car rides well.

There is enough head room. I can wear a hat in there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2001

10th Jun 2003, 07:00

I have the same problem with my 90 accord ex/r when the sport light is off it shifts fine, but when it lights up it won't shift further than 2nd. I hope I can just disengage the sport wiring instead of buying a new computer...?

16th Sep 2003, 12:19

My 91 Accord has the same problem!!! THe sports light is on and it won't go off. It flashes on and off. Either way it won't shift passed 2nd gear. Can someone tell me what is really wrong with the car?

1991 Honda Accord EX-R 2.2 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

A sporty mid-size sedan

Faults:

The carpet trim on the lower part of door is coming off. This problem was easily fixed.

General Comments:

I love the car! Owning a Honda after a Chevy S-10 is such a relief on gas. The Honda is in great condition, parts are cheap, and there are too many modifications to list. A great car, and style does not date. The 4th Generation Accord is the best!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2001

15th Dec 2001, 21:48

I've owned my '91 Accord EXR for 12 months. It took me 10 years to forgive Honda for the last Accord I owned. It's going to take even longer next time. This money pit has cost me $3,000 in the last year, and it's only got 138,000 km's! Camshaft, clutch, axles, exhaust, rotors, alternator - need I go on?

I'm done with it. Time to look for something I can afford to drive.

- Ron (Manitoba)

24th Jul 2003, 10:59

I think Honda makes the best car, but they are only as good as you keep them. Lots of people complain about there Honda, but they are just cars, and all car need the proper maintenace to last.

15th Aug 2003, 14:34

I'm going to purchase a 1991 Honda Accord Tomorrow. I hope this car will last me a long time. It already has 190,000 miles on it already.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 86 reviews