1996 Honda Accord EX 2.2L from North America


Comfortable, but loud and underpowered


Burns too much oil.

Car too heavy for a 4 cylinder engine.

5 speed struggles to pull the car along, constant downshifting while going up hills,

Rides very rough and stiff.

Paint chipping quickly on the front hood causing the hood to appear grey in some spots

Too much engine noise.

Brakes don't work to their potential, ABS light stays on after repeat visits back to the dealer.

Very difficult for the car to turn on in the morning.

General Comments:

The car is overall too heavy for its engine size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2001

22nd Oct 2004, 12:09

I have a Honda Accord EX 4dr Sedan 1996 Auto Trans, and it suffers from all of that. Also because of the burning oil, my crank bearings are now bad, so my car is gone/dead. It is very comfortable, but IT SUCKS!!!

1996 Honda Accord LX 4 cylinder from North America


The best purchase I have ever made


Nothing has ever gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

This car is extremely well handling for a four door sedan.

It is very quick off the line.

It cruises very, very quietly at highway speeds.

These are amazing points considering that it's got a four cylinder.

It turns very well, with no over or under steer under normal driving conditions. The double wishbone suspension is simply the best I have found on any car in this price range, as well as several more expensive makes. The overall handling is fantastic.

There have been no reliability issues with this car. It has had its scheduled tune up at 75000 miles, new tires, oil, and that's it folks.

The other review here does not do proper justice to the car. Focusing here on the car, and not the bad dealer, etc, I have to say that this Honda is the best feeling, most dependable car I have come across, and I am saying this as a member of a family that works for American car companies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

28th Mar 2008, 13:49

Couldn't have said it better myself! If I can't drive my 1996 Accord LX sedan 2.2L I'm not driving at all. I named her Rhonda (short for Rob's Honda) she my top girl and has never left me on foot. I think everyone should own a 96 Accord.

1996 Honda Accord Coupe EX 2.2 from North America


I really hate this car...


Acutally nothing has really went wrong with the car so far.

General Comments:

I do however have a few issues with the car, first of all like another person had said this car is way too heavy for this engine, I mean I can tell the little four cylinder is straining most of the time.

The next issue is that the A/C has always been WEAK, even after having the thing looked at by Honda I was told that's the way it was.

Speakers blew out very easily.

The last thing that bothers me the most is that I can't get comfy in the front seats, I feel like I'm laying down no matter what I do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th January, 2001

1st Mar 2001, 00:15

I have a '95 Accord EX Coupe and I love it. With the single overhead V-tec cam and nice weight ditrobution, the car is fun to drive. It corners very nicely and is great on gas.

I haven't had any comfort problems. I don't know what you mean about that. The only car I would rather have is a '98 Prelude with the DOHC V-tec. Those haul.

1996 Honda Accord EX VTEC 4 trash from North America


Underpowered, undependable and noisy - go for the V-6 if you must buy an Accord


1) Engine stalled stranding my wife 5 times. Each time it would not restart and needed to be towed into the dealer (up to 75 miles).

Wires,plugs , spark igniter, cap, etc. were replaced 2 times, I have no confidence the problem has been solved even now. I cannot even give this car to any of my family members (I cannot trust that it is actually fixed).

2) Worst thing, odometer got stuck at 49,000 and blew, 2500.00 off any trade in opportunity I had. Plus $300.00+ for the dealer to fix it. The title must list actual mileage as unknown as the odometer would be reset at 0. Swell, I'm buying a Nissan Maxima and I have yet to decide what to do with this dog. Trade in is out of the question as they don't even want the car with the odometer issue.

3) The tires and rims leaked air (all 4 of them ) which needed to be taken in to the dealer and remounted (blew a day of work for that).

3) VTEC 4 cylinder is a poor example of a powerplant in that it is noisy, underpowered, and sounds like it is chewing up marbles at idle.

4) Stereo is poor, the CD in the trunk is in the way of everything.

General Comments:

If you are considering a Honda go for the V-6, Honda even knows the VTEC 4 sucks as they are offering incentives to get rid of them.

As for the dependability, I have owned 2 Accords, a '90 and a '96, the '90 was a great car, the '96 has been the worst vehicle. Beware they are not all they are cracked up to be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th January, 2001

1st Oct 2001, 07:14

The 5 spd is a very reliable quick car. Given it's a 4 cylinder if you were looking for speed you shouldn't have gotten an automatic.

1st Mar 2002, 09:48

Sounds to me like this guy bought a used Honda. My '96 Accord EX is very quite and, though nothing like a Prelude, it is fairly peppy (I have a 5-speed). My odometer is pushing 108,000 and I couldn't be happier. I agree with the other users comment that the 5-speed is the way to go.