1996 Honda Accord EX 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Slow

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A/C way too weak

Engine way underpowered.

I'm very disappointed with this car, I mean I liked it the first few weeks then I realized how slow it really was - this car really needed a V-6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2000

7th Dec 2000, 17:07

There is a V6 available.

20th Jan 2001, 21:05

If you wanted a car with more power, you should have bought a Mustang...

13th Aug 2004, 11:23

Try inspecting the engine! This car does take off slow because it has a high-end torque 4 cylinder in a 3000lb chassis, but once the engine reaches about 3500 rpm's, it should start to increase speed a lot faster! Try changing spark plugs, air filter, injectors, anything that could have just simply aged and lost its performance! If that doesn't work, try fuel injector cleaner or go up a grade in gas octane! If that's not good enough, put a cold air filter in with a turbo or something! (if its worth it) These cars will move once they hit about 25 or 30, besides, the speedometer registers 140mph!

1996 Honda Accord LX from North America

Summary:

Over-rated garbage

Faults:

Shaft seal blew at 36K -- $400 in engine work. Radio module dangling from under dash. Light on shift column burned out -- shift squeaks after dealer replacement. Leaves in fan.

General Comments:

Dealer hung up the phone when I called for help (They had just done service on it). Honda reliability is very overrated. Scheduled service costs made this car very expensive. The engine problem right after the warranty expired was a nice touch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2000

10th Feb 2001, 17:21

I too had a shaft seal which blew at about 42,000 miles. The day I had it towed in, the recall notice came in the mail. The recall indicated that if you already had it repaired that you could get a refund of the repair and any towing costs.

21st Feb 2001, 00:45

I just bought a new 2000 Accord LX and it has spent the last 20 days at the dealer waiting for "ignition" parts.....I will never buy another car from Honda again. False claims all the way around!

29th Jun 2001, 07:54

I have had a/c problems since the car was new. It was in the shop 5 times with the problem. Now that the warranty is over it will cost me $400 for a new compressor. I will never buy Honda junk again.

11th Dec 2003, 15:20

It seems like you guys had major problems with your Honda Accord LX.

The only thing I had problems with was the balancer shaft seal that blew out, and oil was everywhere. I paid like almost 600.00 to fix it, and I was refunded 500.00 back from Honda a few months later.

I bought my car with 63,000 miles in 1998, and now it has 136,668 miles on it, and it is in great condition.

I never really had to replace anything on my car. Put it this way, as long as you change the fluids like you are suppose to, the car will run perfect.

Honda makes great cars, and they are constantly improving the reliability of their cars.

American cars are not reliable, and always have issues, especially Chevy, Dodge and Ford of course. They don't maintain value either.

The only American vehicles I give props to are the SUVs like the Tahoe, Suburban, and Yukon; they are great vehicles. They only make good trucks.. I think Honda needs to make trucks; I wonder what it would be like?

1996 Honda Accord SE from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Crap

General Comments:

Very poor ride; the worst of 3 Accords I've owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

1996 Honda Accord from North America

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The clutch is very stiff and hard to use (for beginners). The rear seat could have been more roomier. The 5-speed stick is too close to the stereo. Otherwise, a very nice and reliable car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 1999

1996 Honda Accord EX Coupe 2.2 4cyl from North America

Faults:

Both power window motors failed.

Wiring harness recall.

Ball joint recall.

Power steering hose failed.

Rattle in dash.

A/C leaked and was evacuated on 2 separate occasions.

Leaves entered car through outside vents and caused fan to make "ticking sounds" twice. Flamenco Black paint was EXTREMELY oxidized after 14 months of ownership and regular detailing. Honda refused to replace paint due to "harsh environmental conditions in Florida." Paint had "pinholes" that went through basecoat.

General Comments:

Stock Michellin tires are VERY noisy. Car handles good, but leans too much in corners. Brakes fade too much in emergency stopping. Car feels solid. Gas mileage was 21-25 MPG in city driving on 87 Octane gasoline. Antenna built into back of rear window causing tint to "bubble." ABS is generally good and allows driver to maintain control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th June, 1999

1996 Honda Accord Wagon EX ? from North America

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great, reliable car.

Two annoying things: the air conditioning works slowly to cool the car if it's very hot outside and the windshield wipers don't work well on the large windshield and must be replaced often to get maximum use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

1996 Honda Accord S 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Jan 98 I kerbed the car between 15-20 mph, sliding into the kerb on black ice. No damage was suffered to the wheel, tyre or hubcap, BUT the front subframe was twisted and the bearing on the wheel was shot to crap, total cost to insurance company nearly 1000 UK pounds!!

General Comments:

Apparently there is a possible manufacturing flaw in the front subframe of the mk5. Other than that it's a lovely car and I can't wait to sell it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 1998

1996 Honda Accord 2.0iS 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Interior light door switch and boot lock broken.

General Comments:

Local dealer and staff excellent (Clarkes Honda - Bromsgrove).

Car has caused back problems which make it a pain to drive. Vibrations through seat add to problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th October, 1997

27th Nov 2001, 10:45

My boot lock has broken also, I have to use the interior release. Hope that doesn't break too or I won't be seeing my golf clubs for a while...