1996 Honda Accord EX 2.2 from North America


Wish I'd bought a different one!


So far replaced: radiator, rear brakes (pads, calipers, and rotors) heat shield, starter.

Other things include: ABS system flush, bled brake lines multiple times from brakes "freezing".

General Comments:

I've had non stop problems with this car. It's one thing after another!

First day I owned it, I had the radiator replaced, it was rotten!!

I'm sure the previous owner didn't take care of it. I'm sure Hondas are reliable cars, I just got a bad one!

Rear brakes would not work properly; caused me to drift at long stop lights. Had the lines bled, which didn't help, we suspected it may be the master cylinder, but new pads, calipers, and rotors, and bled the lines another 2 times seemed to help.

Now I'm having problems with CV joints...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd August, 2010

4th Aug 2010, 12:40

I'm sure had you had the car inspected prior to purchasing it, your mechanic would have determined that it would have needed those parts replaced. The car you bought is 15 years old. Some people make me laugh (not in a good way). They purchase an old or high mileage car and expect to have no issues or repairs.

4th Aug 2010, 14:35

I thought all Honda's were bulletproof?? Foreign cars are no better than domestic's, especially with age...

4th Aug 2010, 17:20

Very true. And now not only are Ford and GM rated higher in build quality than Honda and Toyota, but they are also outselling them. July sales figures show GM in no. 1 position, Ford in no. 2 and Toyota and Honda below them, and falling faster than Toyotas with stuck accelerators!!

10th Aug 2010, 18:12

Honda's latest batch of recalls pushes the yearly total recalls for Honda well into the millions now. Since all the Toyota/Honda recalls are major safety issues (Japanese car makers don't do recalls unless forced to by law) the picture is not looking good for Honda either. It's no wonder the latest Initial Quality Survey has dropped Honda to 6th place (below Ford). One of my friends went car shopping this past weekend. He was looking at a Toyota, but when I showed him all the recall/lawsuit stories he opted to buy a safe and reliable Ford. We stopped buying Japanese long ago and have never regretted it.

1996 Honda Accord EX 2.2 vtec from North America


Garbage! Worst transmission design in history


Idle air control valves (yes there's 2) $300.

Brake master cylinder.

Head gasket (also did water pump and other preventative).

Automatic transmission now needs to be rebuilt (car will not shift into ANY gear) probably due to the fact there is no transmission filter. Seems like it was designed so no one can service it themselves.

General Comments:

This car is the biggest money pit I have ever owned.

Every week I needed to fix something.

When it was working I was happy with it, but that wasn't very often.

It was a very smooth ride, and the seats and interior are very comfortable and roomy, but that doesn't matter if the car won't drive anywhere.

It has left me stranded more than once.

I would never recommend this car to ANYONE; buy American.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd June, 2010

20th Jul 2014, 03:58

Honda transmissions are largely good, but when they run amok, hang on to your hat - and your wallet.

20th Jul 2014, 23:37

Having had a horrible experience with Honda in the past, I can't fathom where people get the idea that these things are so reliable. It was the most unreliable car of all time, and was sent to the junk yard with less than 100,000 miles. None of our domestics had ever even had a repair before 100,000 miles.

1996 Honda Accord LX from North America


This has to be the best 500 dollar car to buy


Driver window does not go down.

Moon roof goes up, but not down.

At 219080 we had a huge oil leak. Oil pressure switch, 10 dollar fix, and we need an upper ball joint on the front right.

General Comments:

Very loud, and you feel every shift and bump, but she still keeps on going and going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2010