1996 Honda Accord EX/EXR 3.0 from Nigeria


Reliable and wonderful


Nothing so far. the car very strong and reliable. move so fast and no issue so far since purchased.

General Comments:

The car is fast, sensitive and strong. however, the engine is very scary coz it's a v6 which occupies all the space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2008

1996 Honda Accord EX 2.2 liter Vtec from North America


Comfortable and Extremely Reliable


CV Boots and both Axles had to be replaced at 140,000 Miles.

Other than regular maintenance, I have had no other problems.

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable even on long trips.

Controls are all easily displayed and within reach.

Very large trunk space which comes in handy.

Also handles well for a bigger family oriented car.

Very easy to find a shop that will do work on a Honda for cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2008

1996 Honda Accord EXR from North America


This is one incredible, reliable car!

General Comments:

This is one incredible car! It is almost 'too reliable', as I have had the car for 12 years and it has never failed me in any way. I can't buy a new car when this one is so good. I have maintained it well granted, but I maintained my previous cars well and they only lasted 5 years before falling apart and during those 5 years, they were never reliable. This car doesn't even have any rust on it! I'm beginning to think it will never die!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2008

1996 Honda Accord EXR 2.7 from North America


This car will clean out your bank account


Wheel bearings constantly wearing.

Oil pan.


ABS sensor.

Brake lights.

Brake Lines (all of them).

Interior light.

Door switch always on.

Power windows quit.

Hood latch broke.

AC stopped working.

Interior heat control ceased.

General Comments:

Maybe I'm just unlucky... but I'm very disappointed in this car. I'm reconsidering ever buying a Honda ever again. Toyota is looking very tempting. This is my first Honda and probably my last. I had better reliability with American cars (believe it or not).

Not much room in the car overall. Handles the corners great for what it is. Lots of speed. The brakes are not very good.

This car will clean out your bank account.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2008

2nd Aug 2009, 14:19

Wheel bearing's are wear items. Of course they are going to wear. You can't blame the car for that.

22nd Aug 2009, 11:06

I am a fan of the good old days and big blocks, but my Honda changed my heart for life. I have a 96 EXR 2 door coupe, which has won my heart. It is a beauty of a car to look and drive. The 2.2 litre engine gives the manual tranny plenty of horsepower to drive it like a race car. I would even bet that from 0 to 60 I would beat my muscle car, a 327 super cammed Chevy Impala convertible.

I have owned the car since 99, and will continue to estimate about 1G a year in maintenance. She is an older car, and sure Honda builds things amazingly, but it's close to 15 years old now. How many domestics do you see out there this old and looking this great.

I do watch my oil and rattles and bumps. This car lives in the rocky mtns of Canada and sees extreme weather 12 months a year, so she is not babied.

I am so in love that I would slap a new paint job with fancy rims and a fresh interior over buying a new domestic for sure! The only thing I wish I got for it is a splitting rear fold down seat for skis and fishing rods.

Wonderful car, thank you Honda!

1996 Honda Accord EX 2.2 liter vtec I-4 from North America


The perfect car for any situation


A/C recharge.

Brake caliper refurbish.

Wheel bearing replacement.

General Comments:

This car is my first car, and I am nothing but fully satisfied. After buying it through my family for a steal of $2000, this car has satisfied me every day.

After looking at any other car in the price range I purchased this one for, and after blue-booking my specific car, I know that I am a lucky driver.

I have had no problems with the transmission, engine, or any other major issues, and neither did the previous owner. Even if I push the four-banger a little harder than I should, there are no later consequences.

What I am impressed by most is the interior. My family also owns a 94 Ford and a 96 Saturn, and for the time period, my Accord's interior has the finish of a luxury car. Even compared to my friend's 2000 Ford Focus, my Honda's interior is years ahead of the American cars. The cloth fabric has no blemishes, the gauges and dials are easy to use and read, and the whole interior overall is put together with nothing to be desired.

My EX has a sunroof, and it only makes the car easier to love. The interior space is a little cramped, probably because my passenger seat is stuck almost all the way back, but the trunk is huge. I can fit two full hockey bags (or about four golf bags) with no problem closing the lid.

For a family sedan with limited power and a four speed tranny, this car is very fun to drive. To hit the gas and feel the transmission down-shift and see the tachometer needle tremble is something that only a Honda could do. With only 145 horsepower, it's no performance car, but it does very well in situations demanding of quick pickup, such as merging.

As far as condition goes, the exterior is a little beat up, but the car is still very sharp. Amid the dents, scratches, and dings, my Honda looks great for its age.

This car is great, and I know I will be driving it for at least five more great years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2007

4th May 2007, 15:23

Hondas are the type of cars that send you from A to B, anytime, anywhere. That's it. Nothing more than a reliable moving metal box. If you need power, speed and looks...well, there are many other options out there. It is kind of true that there is a general hype about these cars, mostly due to their reliability, but sometimes that's even part of Honda's excellent marketing division. Hondas, good cars... nothing else.

8th May 2007, 13:19

Oh and a Pontiac Grand Brougham (Brogham) with the body cladding is classy? A Ford Taurus with its beautiful fish bowl windows? Aztek? Coming UAW!!! Stop bitching about Honda having boring cars when you have got nothing to prove except a Ford Fusion that does not beat an Accord LX unless it has leather, AWD, and a V6, and does not fare as well as the Accord in crash tests (NHTSA)