1996 Honda Accord EX 2.2 from North America


Great engine



Shocks and struts.

Ball bearings and joints.



Starter motor.

General Comments:

Great engine on this car. Very low maintenance. Mileage is at 400,000Km and still running. Minor fixes as expected for old cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2010

1996 Honda Accord EX 2.2L VTEC from North America


Bullet proof if maintained


Bought the car for a steal at $1850. Guy thought it had a major EGR problem, dealer told him it would be around $1500 to fix. I know a bit about Hondas so I cleaned out the EGR cleanout ports myself and voila!

Put new tires on/alignment.

New rear brake pads.

Oil change every 3,500 miles.

General Comments:

I drive it hard daily and it just loves to rev. Sounds great at higher rpms, and still manages to get me 32 mpg. On a long trip I've gotten 35 mpg and at worst 28. Great gearbox as well as the engine itself. Maintain these puppies and they'll be good to you!

The pickup isn't like a V-8, but I can live with it.

Handling won't blow you away, but it won't disappoint you either.

Steering is great.

Brakes COULD be a bit larger for faster stopping at high speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2009

1996 Honda Accord LX 2.0 Inline 4 from North America


It's a Honda; Enough said


Nothing went wrong with the car for the entire time I had it.

General Comments:

I loved this car. It was indestructible. I was once rear-ended by a Buick Roadmaster going 25 MPH and it only damaged the bumper!

It was very comfortable to drive and was great for my 100 mile daily commute.

I traded it in for a Nissan Maxima in 2002 when it had 188,000 miles. It never gave me any trouble, and the only money I spent on it was basic maintenance (oil changes, gas, etc.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2009

1996 Honda Accord EXR from North America


The best car I have ever owned!



General Comments:

I am totally blown away by the performance of this car!

Truly, I have previously owned Ford, Chrysler and Pontiac, and the difference is immeasurable!

Truly a great car from Honda! Future purchases???

Honda will be the 1 and only!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2009

1996 Honda Accord LX 2.4 from North America


Wonderful, reliable, good gas mileage!!


The only thing that I needed was a radiator at 210,000 miles, and the rest of the stuff was normal wear and tear, like brake pads and exhaust pipes.

Other than that, the car has been wonderful for 12 years, and still rides better than most cars that I have tried that were 10 years newer than my old Honda.

I have owned 4 Hondas; all were the LX Honda Accords with manual transmission. May the Honda go on for 500,000 miles, go go go!!!

I am going to set a RECORD!!! A million mile Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2009

15th Jan 2009, 16:06

Great job with the Honda. But I think there are several people ahead of you with million mile Hondas. And Irv Gordon has 2.6 million on a Volvo.

16th Jan 2009, 09:43

It may be possible. My cousin bought his 1994 Accord LX brand new. He has replaced the timing belt, drive lines, water pump and radiator. The car has 353K miles on it and still is used almost daily.

I'm thinking about buying either and Accord next year or a Nissan Maxima. Not quite sure which one yet. Good luck on a million miles!

17th Jan 2009, 14:14

The manual transmission helps a lot. Drive it right, and only the clutch needs replacing, and it doesn't cost too much. Here in NZ, where most cars are used Japanese import cars, because they are predominantly automatics, there just is no point in keeping a car when the auto transmission needs to be overhauled, when the cost will be more than the car is worth.

Pity though that brand-new, many cars are now only being sold here with automatics.

1996 Honda Accord EX-L 2.2 from North America


She is getting old but is still going strong


Besides regular maintenance:

- replaced the brake master cylinder at 115K miles ($170)

- replaced the CV joints/boots at 125K miles ($250)

- replaced the distributor at 137K miles ($380).

I have had a total of $800 (parts and labor) in repairs.

Things that have not been fixed:

- Drivers seat is worn a little

- Passenger lock doesn't work 90 percent of the time (since about five years of car's age)

- Headlight plastic covers are fogging a little

- Muffler might need to be replaced in about a year

- Rotors might need to be replaced in about two years

- Suspension might need to be addressed in about two years

General Comments:

I highly recommend Honda Accords as this is my second Accord. I sold my first Accord with 196K miles (which was still running fine when I sold it).

I really (really) like the body style.

Gas mileage is good. I average 27 mpg (mixed city/highway).

Road noise is louder than I like, but I have been dealing with it for almost 13 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2008