2003 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 2 of 22

2003 Honda Accord V6 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance202000 kilometres

Summary:

Expensive Japanese Junk

Faults:

Bought this car for my daughter's 19th birthday. She used it for 2000km and the transmission failed. $3500 for a second hand transmission.

Honda's are suppose to be reliable; bull****, they are expensive junk. Will never buy a Honda again.

Buy domestic; if something fails, you don't have to rob a bank to pay for it!

General Comments:

Honda's are expensive junk! Don't waste your money like I did. I'm buying domestic from now on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th April, 2013

11th Apr 2013, 16:54

Hmmm, you bought a car with 200000km, you cannot be sure how it has been treated in the past, and usually transmissions will give signs of failure thousands of kilometers before they fail, so did you ever check to see if it had dirty or low fluid? Even Hondas cannot run forever without correct maintenance!

2003 Honda Accord EX V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Laser

Summary:

Buyers Beware!!

Faults:

Stereo stopped working (replaced under warranty).

Not under warranty -

Transmission failure at 120,000kms (not under warranty - had to replace $3500).

TCS sensor failure in master cylinder (had to replace master cylinder - $500+).

Speed sensor failure (replaced).

Horns failure (replaced).

Emergency brake seized (replaced rear hub).

Current Issues -

Accessory plug not working.

Driver's heated seat not working.

Various interior lights, horn, both driver & passenger windows stop working intermittently. Now both front windows stopped working permanently... horns, who knows.

Checked all fuses, bulbs and traced wiring where possible - all seem fine. Have no interest in dropping more money in this lemon, but will have to just to get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2012

2003 Honda Accord EX 2.4 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired188000 miles
Most recent distance214586 miles
Previous carToyota Solara

Summary:

Engineering excellence at its finest, most efficient design

Faults:

NOTHING! Just regular maintenance, tires, recalled wiper motor cover (but it wasn't broke).

General Comments:

This is the BEST car I've ever owned. NOTHING has broken since I've owned it for 3 year and over 30,000 miles, even with over 214,000 miles on it!

The car drives like it has 20,000 miles on it - not one squeak, rattle, or clunk.

Gets 36mpg average with the 5spd manual, I've gotten as high as 44. I'm so surprised to hear negative comments on this car, I'm a car nut and I just can't get over how nice it is to this day. If it matters, mine was made in Japan as opposed to the U.S.

I will never sell this car if I can help it.

Fun, fast, safe, reliable!

If you can find a nice well maintained one, buy it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2010

2003 Honda Accord EX-L 2.4L 4-cylinder from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.4L 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Minor ergonomic sacrifices for major engineering gains

Faults:

Passenger door rattles very occasionally. Not consistent. It will rattle over a minor bump, then will stay quiet over a very bumpy piece of road. Not enough of a nuisance to bring the car in.

Brakes: Rotors warp very easily, and my left front rotor vibrates when braking from about 70. In city driving, doesn't show up. Again, not enough of a nuisance to being the car in. Will probably get aftermarket rotors or machine them.

General Comments:

Performance: Very quick for a car of its caliber compared to its competitors. Plenty of torque, engine is very smooth, powerful enough, and economic. This K24A4 is a gem.

Automatic transmission downshifts quickly, great for passing, never bogs down, and holds gears going uphill, quite a boon.

Brakes aren't the best, but get the job done.

A fair bit of body roll, but for the most part, an enjoyable companion during spirited driving. A car for a teenager and his mother alike.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2010

2003 Honda Accord LX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance316000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Background lights won't come on. Used to after 5 minutes, and now not at all.

General Comments:

Has been an excellent car until now. Haven't been able to get this fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2010

2003 Honda Accord EX-L 2.4L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres

Summary:

Overall a disappointing experience

Faults:

The engine started burning oil at 115,000 km at the rate of 1L per 800-1000 km. The car had extended warranty, but the dealer refused to do anything. They kept running consumption test (and I paid for each top up of oil) until the warranty expired. Complained to Honda Canada who never got back to me with an explanation. Very, very disappointed.

General Comments:

Overall, a great car in terms of room, comfort and technology.

Poor service and ridiculous maintenance labor fees robbed the good feeling I have for this car. Never buying a Honda again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2009

28th Dec 2009, 16:27

I am so glad you mentioned the oil consumption. My 2003 Accord 2.4 L has been burning oil too, though I only have to top it up once between changes (5000 km). I thought I was imagining things. Honda engines never burn oil! Not the company it used to be.

6th Jul 2010, 20:34

I am the original poster. My car's engine finally gave up at 182,000km and I had to buy a used engine for $1600 plus another $1200 in labor and other fees. If your car is burning oil, trade it in! Don't make the same mistake as I did. Eventually, all your seals are going to give in and you will end up like me - spending thousands in repairs.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 75 reviews