2012 Honda Accord Reviews

2012 Honda Accord LX-P 2.4L gas from North America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 2.4L gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Unpretentious reliable transportation

Faults:

Virtually no problems whatsoever in 3 years.

Oil pan gasket was warranty replaced at the first oil change because of minimal seepage.

Loose trim on rain gutter replaced.

Glove box rattle.

That's it.

General Comments:

Excellent road manners. Very smooth on interstate drives.

Quick handling, though the original tires (Dunlops) are so-so.

Road noise is there, but it's not unusual.

I'm 6'1" so I opted for the LX-P "premium" model in part for the electrically adjustable driver's seat. Seat tilt adjustment is very useful for taller drivers. Seat cushions are indeed firm and aggressive, though adjusting the seat back angle a bit further back or forward is about all that's needed for proper comfort. My experience from long drives is firmer seats are more comfortable, with squishy seats more likely to cause back aches.

I have lower back problems (old injury) yet the aggressive lumbar support works well for me. I've seen the loopy "15 mile test drive but oh my back" spiel all over the internet. Sounds like more like a whiny lawyer trolling or troubled teen venting, rather than an owner.

Interior is well laid out with an excellent driver's position. All controls are well placed. A/C buttons are a little hard to read, but you learn them fast enough. Gauges are simple, sharp and clear.

Speedo and tach are properly close together (a VW weakness in recent years).

Automatic shifts very smoothly. Engine maybe slightly underpowered for starting off at full load, but it's a family car, not a sports car. The engine pulls steadily and predictably.

Carpeting could be thicker. Trunk lid should have a liner.

Ground clearance a bit low (about 4") so be careful about parking lot chocks or high crown curbs or ramps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2014

28th Feb 2014, 04:42

Is your transmission CVT or the real/old-fashioned auto?

I did own an '84 Accord for 17 years, and now a 2000 Maxima (still have it). My next car will be an Accord again...

1st Mar 2014, 08:30

I am pretty sure the CVT on the Honda Accord didn't come out til their newly designed 2013 Honda Accord model... You can also get the new designed Accord with a 6 speed manual trans... not everyone will like a CVT trans... so it's best to rent one or take an extended test drive on a new model with it...

2nd Mar 2014, 00:52

The 2012 LX, LX-P and SE had the 5-speed step geared (conventional) automatic.

The 2012 Accord also still had the metal key ignition lock (with electronic security encoding), which I prefer over the push button start stop button now becoming increasingly common.

I went with the LX-P also for the security system, and because the automatic was standard on that trim level and alloy wheels (which also made price negotiation easier, because it had all I wanted and no moonroof to decrease my headroom).

About the only things the SE added besides leather seats and steering wheel was heating of those seats, adjustable lumbar setting, and maybe a few more seat adjustment settings.

2012 Honda Accord Coupe LX from North America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Honda two thumbs down

Faults:

PLEASE check and test the windows before you buy! I have noticed severe streaking when using the windows after the car has been wet. This car is garaged, and even 2 days after it's been in the wash or in rain, the windows will streak when they are rolled down and back up. To the point that the view is obstructed! Everybody who has seen it says it's the worst ever except, of course, my dealer. They say it's normal. Shame on Honda!

General Comments:

PLEASE test the windows before you buy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2012

27th Feb 2014, 00:14

I think I would check to see what dirt or grime has accumulated on the window weatherstripping at the bases of those windows. Things like tree sap and road oil collect there, and can usually be removed with a quality window cleaner and soft toothbrush gently used. Let it soak in first.

I've had streaking on windows for nearly every car I've owned, and regular cleaning of the seals at the bases and tops of those windows, in addition to the glass itself, has worked well for me.

Some people use newspaper or the blue paper towels at filling stations to clean their window glass, because it has less lint and no oils or coatings like some tissues and kitchen towels have.

2012 Honda Accord SE 2.4 from North America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2011
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Will never buy Honda again

Faults:

Seats are very uncomfortable after 15 miles.

General Comments:

Took the car for a standard test drive; found it to be a nice ride.

After picking up the car and riding to work, noticed a sharp pain in my back, and after looking at the seat, noticed the seat restraint is causing the problem.

Have made numerous calls to the dealership and Honda; says it must be me and my wife, and have to live with the seat; there just is not enough padding around the restraint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th November, 2011

10th Nov 2011, 08:48

So, does the car drive nice? How does it compare to your previous Camry? Is gas mileage comparable?

10th Nov 2011, 23:07

Having had a horrible experience with Honda, I'd never buy another one either. However, I find it interesting that people actually buy a car they haven't driven 15 miles before buying it. I generally pick up a car and keep it half a day. I put it through flat-out acceleration testing, panic braking, cornering and high-speed runs up to 100+mph before even considering buying it. A dealer who refuses to let me do this doesn't get my business or a second visit from me... EVER.

When you are paying tens of thousands of dollars for a car, you ought to KNOW how it feels before you even begin to deal on it at all. Dealers here know me, and simply give me the keys to whichever car I am interested in to keep for as long as I want. I've even kept several over a weekend.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 3 reviews