Honda Ballade Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1989 Honda Ballade 150 16v from South Africa

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 150 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 kilometres
Most recent distance221000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Great value for money

Faults:

Roof Lining came lose at 210 00km.

Starter solenoid is staring (excuse the pun) to give in.

General Comments:

The Car handles like a dream.

Powerful for a 1989 1500cc.

Economical as long as you keep it below 140km/h.

Very sturdy car.

I have just finished studying and will now be buying a new car as soon as I am offered my first job.

But I want to praise my 1989 Ballade 150 16v for the performance and reliabilty it gave me.

I bought the car out of my grandfather's trust after he died (i had an accident with my 1982 1300 VW Jetta)

I recieved it with 176 000km on the clock. It is now, about 15 days short for a year on 221 000km. Thus,45 000km for the year(i travel a lot.) And on that point, the car gave me no problems on the long road with frequent 3000km trips.

Fuel consumption on the long road was at about 13km/l but that is at about 135km/h. Anything more(and if you are driving through semi desert on a 3000km trip, you tend to do more), and it gave me about 9km/l.

As for a student car...well...hey...it has got an aircon!

Very happy customer!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2005

2000 Honda Ballade L 180I 1800CC Injected from South Africa

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1800CC Injected Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Drivers Car

Faults:

ABS pump replaced.

General Comments:

This is a great driver's car. It handles superbly, I love the sound of the engine when putting pedal to the metal. It's got a lot of torque for an 1800 and pulls like a dream; it can easily outrun a Golf GTI. The ride is just superb. No engine or any other problem. It's got a nice Becker sound system, leather seats A/C power steering, and all the extras. It had a problem with the ABS, but when that was sorted it braked superbly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2004

28th Jun 2006, 10:45

I agree with these comments. I drive a 1998 model 180i, and I don't want to let it go, it's a superb car.

19th Jul 2007, 04:45

I agree, the Honda Ballade 180i is an excellent car. My car has a bolt on turbo fitted running on low boost (stock internals).The drivability and handling is suberb. It is a car that you would not want to replace.

19th Jul 2007, 08:47

I agree as well. I've got '98 180i (manual) luxline. It is a monster. Lots of power for a 1800.

18th Aug 2008, 15:29

I agree with all comments, I've got '98 180i ballade and what a monster, 120kw at the moment ! :)

5th Feb 2009, 03:14

What's wrong with my 180i 2000 model? All 160i seem to leave me behind and it's just been serviced.

1988 Honda Ballade 150 1.5 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Excellent fuel economy and price, but not very solid

Faults:

The following went wrong with the Honda:

The timing belt snapped at about 190000 km and caused 2 exhaust valves to be crushed.

The resulting skim on the engine block caused tremendous oil usage. Having the rings replaced solved the problem for the most part.

The front right ball joint seems to have run dry and is now generating some unnerving noises.

Also, the gearbox synchro seems to be dying along with the clutch (usual wear and tear).

The most annoying failures were however not mechanical, but rather in the interior.

The roof lining came down at 100 000 km and had to be replaced.

A rather nasty series of rattles developed in the dashboard and to this date haven't been fixed (not for the lack of trying).

Somehow the doors developed a nasty thump sound when pulling away. It was discovered that the hinges somehow have worked loose and allow the door room for movement.

On the left outside panel rust has appeared, but this may be due to some old accident before I received the car.

General Comments:

For a student the car is great. It gets you where you need to go with tremendous reliability.

It is also not very quick, but it is extremely economical. When I bought it initially it easily got around 650 - 700 km per tank (around 15 km/l).

Unfortunately, reliability is not all that is required for a good car. Much of that car seems to be composed of cheap plastics that fall apart for no apparent reason. There are many unexplained rattles and tends to give the impression that the car is not very solid.

As well as it has served me, I will never buy a Honda again. Rather pay the extra money and buy a decent vehicle that won't fall apart if you sneeze in the wrong direction.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd September, 2003

26th Jun 2004, 14:38

I have a 1985-1988 Honda 1500 with 176000 km on the clock and must agree with the other users that a large amount of rattles causes a problem, although the car didn't do any gravel roads and is well looked after, the rattles in the dashboard is a large problem that seems to be unsolvable.

The car gives a very good 14.3km\liter petrol at a constant speed of about 120-140km\h. Up to date there was no problem with oil usage, but the air conditioner seems to be working not that good in the summer, and take a lot of the cars power away. I must congratulate Honda on a good car with a very strong interior where it come to linen and upholstery.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 11 reviews