1988 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1988 Honda Civic LX Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired149400 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Great fun car!

Faults:

The thread busted open on my back seats, I just have to use a needle and fix the back seat.

General Comments:

This car is great and awesome. I have tinted windows, a cd player, and an alarm system... what more do I want? It drives great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

1988 Honda Civic DX hatchback 1.5L inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L inline 4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

High mileage, low budget fun

Faults:

The muffler fell off at 160,000.

I also replaced the tires and brakes and gave it a new windshield at 160,000.

The valve cover gasket leaked, and cost $15 and I put the new one in myself in under 10 minutes.

Picked up a new driver's seat from the junk yard. The original was totally worn out.

New clutch at 192,000 miles. ($450 parts and labor).

Body is rusting everywhere.

General Comments:

When I bought the car, it only got 32 miles to the gallon. After new plugs, foam air filter, Amsoil synthetic oil, and fully inflated tires it gets between 38 and 45 miles to the gallon.

The car is fun!!! 3rd gear does 94 MPH, 4th is 120 MPH and 5th just bounces off of 125mph. I'm guessing I've had it up to 140 mph. There is no computer regulating how fast you can go and everything on the car is stock. No performance enhancing equipment.

Hatchback allows bigger things to be carried in it. Rear seats and back rests can be removed in 5 minutes for more room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2002

30th Apr 2003, 07:29

Hi, I am considering buying a 15 year old, 1988 Honda Civic with 102K miles on it. How much do you think I should offer? Your information about your car is helping me make a decision.

Thank you.

21st Oct 2005, 18:38

Well I will tell you what the civic hatchback was the best car a had ever bought. Honda's are so reliable I had never had eny problems with it until I put about 40,000 on it. when I bought the car I spend $500 for it and still can get them for the same price, there every where out here in Ohio. There easy to fix, parts are not outrages on price. Still the best gas mileage out of any car today {i think personally}. Since that day I had started working on Honda's and run a shop so that should explain a little on honda hatchbacks and what experiences I had.

16th Apr 2008, 11:40

I bought my 1st Honda in 1998,Accord, 4door, fully loaded. Got 36 miles to the gallon then and still do in 2008. The car has 270.000miles on it and other than your normal maintenance never needed any work.

Last month I bought a Honda Civic hatchback, 5speed for my son, paid $400 for the car and it's great. Honda is the most reliable car I have ever owned and I will never purchase a car other than a Honda.

4th Nov 2008, 21:27

I just bought a 1988 Civic Hatchback DX with 165000 miles on it on 11/02/08, and so far it's running good. A/C does not work, but hey, what more do you want from a 20 year old car? It's fun to drive.

I need to know what is the best oil to put in it, so I can do it this weekend.

1988 Honda Civic LX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance105500 miles

Faults:

Muffler rusted through at about 60,000 miles.

Right CV joint was replaced at about 90,000 - I did not catch the torn boot until it was too late.

Position 1 on the heater fan stopped working a couple of years ago.

That's really about all I can think of for the past 11 years!

General Comments:

This has been an incredibly reliable car for the past 11 years.

Gas milrage (mixed city/highway) has been consistently between 32-35 MPG throughout it's life.

Sadly (OK, it's not all that sad!), it is being traded in for a brand new 2002 Honda Accord EX-VL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th August, 2001

25th Sep 2002, 08:02

I do so miss my 1988 Honda Accord. I bought it in 1990 when my daughter was 11/2. It was in mint condition after 11 years and two kids. 166,000 miles. original engine, clutch and not a rip one in the interior. My goal for the new millinum was to purchase a 2000. After all my research, I stuck with Honda and purchased a 2000 Honda Civic VP. I couldn't afford an Accord at the time. With only 7 miles on it and after 2 years, I miss my 1988 Accord. It seems like all the cars these days are to "Plastic" inside. And, I do have lots of rattles and the windsheild seems thinner. It has been repaired 3 times for rock chips..Overall i would say a 71/2.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 31 reviews