1988 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1988 Honda Civic DX 1.5 L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired252000 miles
Most recent distance294000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Faults:

The head gasket went at 252000.

Driver's seat is worn.

New halfshafts were installed at 252000 as well as rear control arms, brakes front and rear, body work around the wheels, new rims and performance tires, 5 way adjustable shocks and sport springs, converted the vehicle from an automatic to a 5 speed manual at 273000 miles, and I also installed ureothane enriched bushings.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car that will easily make it to 300,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

1988 Honda Civic Hatchback 1.6 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carVolvo 245

Summary:

A very quick little car

Faults:

So far, nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

I bought it from a friend who bought the car in '88. It was just routinely taken care of, and never abused more than burn-outs. Compared to my last car, this is heaven.

If you find a car like this in good condition, I seriously recommend you buy it. I only bought the car because my brother had an '88 Civic DX hatchback, and said it was the best car he has ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2001

21st Apr 2005, 20:40

I agree with this comment. I just bought a 1988 Honda Civic DX, because I needed a car that I could pay cash on. A buddy turned me on to honda's saying they will run forever. This was a good one, clean no leaks. I've owned Toyotas and many American cars, but this one seems to be very well made.

3rd Mar 2007, 20:31

I have a 1988 honda civic DX hatch back, Just coming up on 500,000 miles. Runs great still and steering and suspension is super tight. I would trust taking this car any where. 43 mpg is great too.

1988 Honda Civic LX 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired183000 kilometres
Most recent distance224000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Grandma's favourite car

Faults:

Rust - everywhere. Apart from that it's been driven constantly without ever missing a beat.

Real reliable as far as mechanics go, but the body ain't up to scratch.

Interior looks like new. Paint hasn't stood up to the weather that well - fading and so on.

General Comments:

Comfortable, city car, doesn't handle that well - especially round corners, the rear tends to slide.

OK round city - Long distant travel sucks - sore back, noise levels at 100k are pretty bad.

It's a crap car.

I want a Lexus! Somebody please put me out of my misery.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 2001

4th Dec 2006, 20:17

With more and more families going into debt and the rising bankruptcies in America and elsewhere, it sounds foolish to buy one just yet--that is a brand new Lexus. Better have good job security.

26th Jan 2010, 03:57

You would be better off buying a Saab 9-3 or 9-5. those cars are comfortable, reliable, individual, sporty, powerful, luxurious and simply superior to a Lexus.

1988 Honda Civic LX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance207000 miles

Summary:

Good car for the price

Faults:

Crack in the radiator. Had to be replaced.

Fuel injectors wore out.

General Comments:

Other than the 2 problems that I have had, the Civic is an all around reliable car. A great car to start with. I enjoy every minute of driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2001

1988 Honda Civic Si Hatchback 1.6L PGM-FI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6L PGM-FI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance401800 kilometres

Summary:

Undestructable and fast!

Faults:

Overall I had absolutely no problems with the car, other than the usual timing belt, fuel pump and muffler that always has to be replaced.

General Comments:

A very speedy and economical car that sees no end!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

1988 Honda Civic DX 4 door 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance256000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang Convertible

Summary:

Runs forever

Faults:

CV boots - Honda design.

Rotors - Honda design.

Radiator - plastic on the top.

Driveshaft - cause by the CV boot.

Alternator - lifetime warranty.

Catalytic converter - after 200k it's about time.

Shocks/springs - Honda design.

I would not buy or recommend an automatic, because of the 4 cylinders, most of the car's problems occur in the automatic.

General Comments:

Honda service in San Diego sucks. When I owned the car, I was pretty gullible. Factory service replaced everything and was fine, and charged me for a recall. I had a factory service tell me to replace the air conditioning for $750, verdict was a loose clutch nut. Now I do my own work.

I have not been using my car due to funding, but it lasted this long, it has been through CO, AZ, NM, NA, and all over California. Snow or shine. It also tows jet skies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 31 reviews