1989 Honda Civic DX 1.4 5 speed from North America


A great deal


My head gasket blew at 125,000 miles. Cost $500 to replace, besides that it has been great.

General Comments:

The seats are hard as rock.

Cannot move the steering wheel up or down, not a car for tall people.

I love my Honda DX and I plan to keep this car until it dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2001

14th May 2001, 03:16

I purchased my 4-door '89 Honda Civic DX new and have driven it for 11 years without any trouble. I am a big man: 300+ and 6-2. I have found the car comfortable and extremely well designed. Everything is where you'd expect it to be. At 100K miles, I'm looking forward to another 100K or forever. Of all the Honda's I think the '89 Civic has the nicest lines. Five years ago I was hit in the right front axle while traveling 40 mph and walked away with skinned knuckles only. After $4K repairs by insurance company, car still drives great. I won't part with it. I see a lot of cars, this make and model and the freeways of So-Cal. Presently I'm looking for another one for my wife.

1989 Honda Civic LX 1.5i gas from North America


The best car I've ever owned. Cheap and reliable


Typical Civic rust (rear wheel wells) at about 200,000 miles.

New clutch at about 210,000 miles.

New radiator at about 225,000 miles.

New cooling fans at about 248,000 miles.

Usual "wear" items replaced at usual intervals: brakes, exhaust, battery, timing belt, water pump.

Does not burn any oil. It also has original shocks/struts. A/C still blows cold air.

General Comments:

I plan on keeping the car as a spare when I buy a 2001 Civic. I also own a 1999 Odyssey. I'm hoping for similar reliability with both vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2001

1989 Honda Civic Hatchback 1.5 from North America


Decent performance and great economy with a low cost per miles driven


I bought it with a failing head gasket. Luckily the owner actually watched the gauge and didn't cook the head and warp it. Cam and crank seals were also replaced.

Correcting the stupidities of past mechanics, I have removed excess silicone sealer and put all the right fasteners back in the right holes.

Also I had the car quit at the gas station while filling. Turning off the radio fixed the problem. After repairing the wiring properly I have had no starting problems.

Radiator and AC condensor "rotted" out. (NE Ohio salt is to blame more than anything else).

Brake rotors, pads and shoes all around.

Upper control arms replaced at 130k miles.

Exhaust pipe broke recently just in front of the rear wheels (welded back together).

General Comments:

Very well built and reliable car. I expect some things to wear out after 140k miles, so I'm not disappointed.

Still easy to work on despite the cramped engine compartment.

Fuel injection gives a nice 40 mpg on almost every tank.

Decent layout of the controls and seating, but still cramped for the 6 foot 4 inches of my body.

Well worth the $500 I paid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2000

1989 Honda Civic DX 4 cyl. 1.2liter? from North America


The clutch had to be replaced at 190,000 miles. Extreme vibration of the steering wheel occurs when applying the brakes. The rotors probably need to be replaced. The AC Compressor went out at 185,000 miles.

General Comments:

After 200,000 miles the car still runs great. It still has plenty of pep and the engine sounds great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1989 Honda Civic LX 1.5 liter from North America


All fuel injectors are down! It costs me a lot of money to fix it.

Two suspensions (front side) were replaced.

Engine noise is annoying. Automatic transmission "hesitates" when gears are changed.

General Comments:

I wouldn't have expected this bad from Honda, a company always proud of their sleek engineering. This car is the worst car I ever had. Lots of problems like noise, hesitation, underpowered etc

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 1998

14th Mar 2001, 00:41

Hi I have a honda four door LX and I know what you mean. I'm 19 and I also expected more power even if it is a four door. Mine is standard.

Downshifting can be a bore on this model. But I have learned my lesson and now I'm getting a Civic Si, I hope this one will be better because this will be my fourth Honda and the last one "LX" really let me down.


27th Oct 2001, 12:24

I have an '89 Civic and I love mine. I put it through so much and it has never let me down. Nothing has ever gone wrong with my car. If you read the manual, the car is supposed to hesitate when it shifts. My car can keep up with the new cars fine, and personally I think it drives better than the cheap newer cars, like the Focus. I will definitely get a Honda for my next car!

19th Sep 2010, 14:31

To the 19 year old commenter:

You're driving a Honda LX? Hmmmm, you will be surprised with the Si's. Mine is fully modded with a DC header, AEM carb legal cold air intake. Also a stage 2 clutch, with a full HKs exhaust system (including cat back.) It runs insanely good. Yeah, dump the four door and pick up a 2 door, you will be greatly surprised hopefully.

17th Feb 2011, 10:55

I have a blue 1989 Civic LX FDR with a 1.5 motor.

It has great power but a mind of its own. In the winter it runs fair but in the summer it will break down. It jerks as it accelerates like it's catching air and will soon stop and shut down. We tried to open the gas tank when this happened. It helped a little. The windows in the back motors have broken. Both axles were broken when I got it but I replaced them.

I don't know how to make it stop breaking down in the summer. Also, it does it sometimes if we go long distances. I don't know what size rims it can hold either.

1989 Honda Civic LX 4 cyl - 5 spd from North America


Muffler problems. Have had to replace 4 times in two years.(Thank God for George Foreman!).

Brakes are constantly squeaking...loudly. Good handling.

Subpar acceleration. Timing belt lasted for 100K. Car has appx 135K. No rust, original paint in great condition, easy to drive. A/C coolant has never been replaced and it still blows cold! Go figure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 1998