1989 Honda Civic Si hatchback 1.6 DOHC EFI from Australia and New Zealand


Fun, cheap, refuses to die


The car had an ongoing problem with intermittently not starting - traced to the (apparently classic civic problem) of dry solder joints in the main relay. Easy fix with a soldering iron.

Rear suspension bushes replaced at 140000 km.

Various belts replaced at 165000 km.

Beginning to rust in a couple of places and the bonnet paint has oxidized and peeled off, but this adds to the 'character'.

General Comments:

The civic has been my daily driver for 6 years and goes surprisingly well for a car that's almost as old as some of my workmates...

I have only serviced the civic once in the time I have owned it. I have taken it in and out of paddocks, transported half a tonne of firewood in the back, basically given it constant abuse - and it still keeps on going.

Fuel economy is great and the car has been really reliable overall. Performance is lively enough to get into trouble, the civic is actually quite fun to drive and handles well (kinda like a go-cart), but is uncomfortable on long trips.

Th civic doesn't offer much in the way of street cred and my girlfriend refuses to ride in it, but I'm pretty happy with it overall and I'd happily buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2006

30th Jun 2006, 17:55

You need another girlfriend if she cares what kind of car you drive.

1989 Honda Civic GL 1.4 dual carb from UK and Ireland


Reliable, strong, fast and very cheap


The drive shaft on the passenger side is knocking on full lock and slow revs. very common problem. loads of life left in it though.

The rear arches were rusted, but fixed them now.

Honda's have a small plastic lip on the arches which holds water so that's why the arches rust.

Little bit of knocking on big bumps probably the bushes or shocks.

General Comments:

In a1 condition this car is beautiful for its age. if looked after then this timeless classic will live for ever.

Red civics tend to fade easy as do most red cars.

Very revvy and sounds a dream with the air filter off, unleashing those dual carbs.

Have fitted a top and bottom front strut brace for better stability on the road. looking for both rear ones at the mo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2006

1989 Honda Civic Nouva 1.5 from Indonesia


A very economical sport alike car


Brake oil leakage and changed the rubber seals.

Changed the brake piston.

Problem when I was driving this car on the bumpy roads.

Problems with front tie rod and other wheel links.

General Comments:

This car is a three-door version of civic sedan and was intended to use as a sport car.

The handling was very easy and smooth, power is quite sufficient for a sport car.

Interior was quite roomy and nicely designed.

Fuel consumption was reasonably economical.

The design was much better than that of the previous civic three-door model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2006

1989 Honda Civic DX 1.5 from North America


It's great on fuel and is fun to drive bought and paid for


I have an 89 civic with 220k on the engine.

The fuel pump, distributor and catalytic converter were replaced.

The car runs and doesn't burn oil, yet.

But it lacks in horsepower with a clean air filter.

When you press the gas pedal to the floor the engine bogs and sputters.

Would you have any explanation of why the lack of horsepower?

General Comments:

It always starts, but lacks power.

Everything else works so I don't know if I should get rid of it.

Please email me if you know what it is.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th December, 2005

4th Oct 2006, 13:45

First of all, its not a lambo...

Try a general tune up. Some performance parts may also help: exhaust, maybe ram or cold air intake.

10th Nov 2006, 15:17

Try re-gaping or replacing your spark plugs.

1989 Honda Civic Base 1.5 Fuel Injected from North America


Reliability not up to spec


Passenger side CV joint went a 72,500 miles, had to replace whole driveshaft. $120.

Both tie-rods, one was my fault from removing a ball joint without the proper tools. $24 each.

Radiator went at 77,000 miles from part age, part little rock that bounced up on the highway. $98.

Steering knuckle $25 used from a junkyard. Though it was bent from prevoius owner, but I was wrong.

Routine brake pads. Fairly cheap.

Rotors seem to warp from heat easily, I have already replaced one side and the other is warped now also.

Drum brake pads and wheel cylinder. Expected from a 16 year old car.

Drivers seat ripped.

Hard starting in hot weather, I read it was a starter relay problem, common for Hondas.

General Comments:

I bought this car used in December of 2004 for $850. It had a couple dents on the passenger side and the bumper has never been properly attached.

Most problems have been from normal wear and tear, but I have not experienced the "amazing Honda reliability " that everyone talks about.

Gas economy is phenomenal. All my freinds are jealous. My best has been 44 mpg on a 260 mile mostly highway trip. I constantly average 40 mpg+.

Some rust, mostly rear wheel wells though some on the side of the car.

The 70hp engine leaves low-end torque to be desired and just more power overall. Revs high, but only feels quick at 50-70 mph.

The 4-speed has wide ratios for fuel economy though a 5th gear is desired to lower noise and revs on the highway at 70mph.

Handling is OK for this car. Reaches its limits earlier than the SI or CRX, but very predictable. The only I have lost traction was when I attempted to go 42mph on a 20mph curve which resulted in a quick 180 and a very surprised and scared teenager.

The lack of Air conditioning is a nuisance on summer days.

With the gas prices skyrocketing, this car is a must have for any teenager. Seeing how I only paid $850 for the car with 72,000k, I beleive I found a nice deal with the fuel economy factored in and the low running costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2005

1st Nov 2005, 08:15


I find this review very helpful, especially the part on fuel economy. If you think fuel prices are rocketing in the USA, just know that it can always get worse: I live in the Netherlands, where we have to pay $ 6.40 for a gallon of gasoline... I think I'll buy a Honda Civic!