1995 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 5 of 15

1995 Honda Civic LX from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance182000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable,economical and safe car

Faults:

CV boots at 140K, that's about it.

General Comments:

Very reliable car, great on gas, easy handeling and comfortable seats and controls.

I find steering stiff though,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2007

16th Nov 2007, 20:52

I currently personally own a 1995 Honda Civic LX 4-door sedan and so far, it has served me well and has averaged at roughly 30 mpg, given these times of such volatile fuel prices!

Anyway, in concurrence with a previously posted remark, I find the steering wheel "slow in response" for an automobile that is reputed to be having power steering. I believe that it should be more fluid in control and turning!

Overall, the Honda 1995 Civic I possess is already standing out to be one of the best cars I have ever purchased.

Thanks.

Columbus Driver.

14th Nov 2008, 23:05

I also have a 1995 Honda Civic LX, 4 doors, Auto, 1.5L engine (no V-Tec).

The car is overheating; I checked everything, but the car still overheating, and the antifreeze becomes so hot to the point it evaporates. I tried to bleed the car for 20 minutes, but after that time air bubbles were still appearing... what's wrong??

-Marco.

24th May 2009, 00:50

One of the best cars I have ever had and have. I am comparing it to BMW 3, Honda Civic 2000 and up, 3000 GT, 2003 Mustang GT, MR2, 2002 Accord, 2002 Merc. 320.

To sum it all up. Great gas mileage, easy to fix, not that I had to, cheap to drive, it's the best car ever. With car like this, there is no need for $30,000 hybrids -- WHY?

1995 Honda Civic DX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

Great economy car with room to tune into a fast street machine

Faults:

Needs a new exhaust (probably because of the previous owner.

Rear Seat door handle broken, seems to be a problem with this car.

General Comments:

4/13/07 4pm: Bought car, brought it in for oil change and fuel injection clean.

4/13/07 10pm: Crashed it.

4/13/07 12am: Was driving it around town like nothing happened.

Basically, the crash was a 3 car pile up. My car was sandwiched in between a Lexus and a Toyota, and only my car received damage. Of course... I would expect that. You would think the civic was a tin-can, but that's not the case. This car is a tough little guy. The hood is bent, and the rear bumper is cracked a little bit... that's all. Anyways, later that night I was still driving around like nothing happened. I drive it still with absolutely no problem and I will continue to till I get the hood repaired :) This is my first car and it's a great first car. Civics are great little machines.

Things I don't like...

The interior isn't that great, looks cheap. And this is the DX model, which means it's even worse. This isn't enough to stop me from buying this car though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2007

9th Jul 2007, 21:40

Hilarious!! I'm buying one this week, but hopefully I won't wreck it right away.

1995 Honda Civic Glacier 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles

Summary:

Jekyll and Hyde of a car

Faults:

Carburettor was at fault for THREE breakdowns

(1) Carburettor got clogged with old fuel that was brought up from the reserves which meant it couldn't start properly and when it did, it struggled to run properly. In the end I had it 'unclogged' by my local mechanic

(2) Whilst slowing down from about 60mph on a dual carriageway, it simply 'clunked out' i.e. switched off on me and decided not to start again. The AA man said the carburettor was 'over fuelling' itself and 'choking' itself to cutting off. Again the local mechanic fixed it

(3) Going round a roundabout, it randomly started jerking back + forth very violently at low speeds which was a little scary at the time. The AA man said this time the carburettor was getting blocked and fuel delivery was suffering as a result.

So much for Honda reliability.

General Comments:

Despite the problems I've had with my Honda, I still love these cars. GENERALLY they have a reputation of being one of the strongest, well built, good looking cars in the world. The engines are meant to be 'bullet proof' I totally AGREE with that (the ones that are fuel injected and not the ones with the carburettor in them) Performance-wise she flies. Doing 70mph is nothing, it has more power beyond that, for sure. In my eyes, the car looks stunning and is very rare. So it is still a great car.

I've only had problems with the carburettor, and That's IT. I'm guessing that if its just the carburettor that goes wrong, buy a fuel injected Honda and that's it. Problem solved. No carburettor to worry about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2006

30th Nov 2006, 15:08

All petrol engined vehicles sold in the UK since mid-1991, including your Honda, have fuel injection...

30th Dec 2006, 20:51

Ummmmm. There is no carb on that car.

13th Jul 2007, 08:07

REGARDING the previous comments:

If you knew anything about Honda Civics that date between 92-95 and are 1343cc (1.3 litre-for the writers of these comments) you will know almost certainly that these cars are NOT fuel injected, but have a carburettor in them.

Recently Honda, like many other car manufacturers, fazed out the carburettor as a form of fuel delivery in motor cars as it proved fuel inefficient and damaging to the environment. I see no reason why you seek to make the writer of the original review seem ignorant, as this particular Honda Civic has a carburettor

25th Jul 2007, 06:31

Guaranteed, I have a one, and they definitely have a carb. But no problems as of yet!!!

4th Nov 2007, 15:35

I own a Honda Civic Glacier and I have had the same problems with the carb. Very jerky and won't idle. It seems to be an air leak from the carb. Any suggestions?

29th Nov 2007, 16:57

Buy a K&N Replacement Air Filter. It'll do the job.

3rd Mar 2008, 16:37

Hello I would like to buy a Honda Civic Glacier, if anyone is selling one or knows of one for sale please let me know. thanks.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 56 reviews