1995 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 7 of 15

1995 Honda Civic DX (D15B7) 1.5 Liter from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission (D15B7) 1.5 Liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired136546 miles
Most recent distance152225 miles

Summary:

Keep it up and Keep it Forever!

Faults:

Nothing Mechanical.

Rear passenger window handle broke

That is all!!!

General Comments:

My car has been very, very reliable.

Previous Owner worked at a Honda Dealership so kept it in top shape, Thankfully. This is Key to all Hondas.

The only thing I make sure I do is change the oil every 3k miles. w/10w-30

I changed spark plugs and wires about 50 miles ago.

It's a 5 speed so when I feel the need I punch the little D15B7 and it doesn't whine.

Very good engine, it has 152***k and still runs Great.

Plan to swap a B16A2 in the near future.

I plan to keep my car as a daily driver and get me a 97-01 Prelude.

I fell in love with Vtec engines since I tested out my Buddy's GSR. And that H22 is something else!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

31st Jan 2007, 18:45

The GSR has a b18... the prelude has the H22.

19th Feb 2007, 17:47

My 1995 Honda civic ex has 366,463 miles and going strong.

Any idea how much longer it will go???

7th Apr 2007, 20:06

Feb 19 2007: The sky's the limit!! Only RUST will kill these cars...

1995 Honda Civic DX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Distance when acquired325000 miles
Most recent distance351589 miles
Previous carIsuzu Pickup

Summary:

It has a lot of potential

Faults:

My car accident caused some frame damage, which has caused my tires to wear down quickly.

Right now it needs a new clutch.

General Comments:

This car is pretty quick for almost all stock. It is the first car I purchased for myself so I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2005

1995 Honda Civic EX 1.6 VTEC from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired260000 miles
Most recent distance262000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Great car to get around in

Faults:

First purchased, needed a driver's side window.

Other than that, runs and drives fine. Let's hope it stays that way :)

General Comments:

Recently purchased for around 450$. My second car, I'm 17.

First I was hesitant at the high mileage (260,000!!!), but once I bought the car and drove it, I realized that it had all the power and torque I needed (VTEC).

The car came with all around adjustable coil over suspension, cold air intake, and custom head and tail lights. The car is currently is 2" lowered in the front and 3" in the back. The car handles well for a Civic :).

For people who are thinking of buying Hondas, I recommend them to do so. I was a big fan of VW for the longest time, but this Civic has impressed me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

11th Oct 2007, 17:50

All power? you mean no power.

14th Feb 2009, 17:56

1995 Civic EX Coupes weigh very little and do not need that much power to be quick.

1995 Honda Civic VX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Reliable, Honda. What else can ya say?

Faults:

I purchased this vehicle about a year and a half ago.

Runs great, motor is 100% Solid.

160K replaced front right ball joint. (due to minor curb incident)

Replaced radiator, 150K, was cracked when I purchased it, I knew it had to be done.

Needs a water pump, leaks slightly. Still 100% drivable, just need to watch the coolant level, and temp.

General Comments:

Awesome fuel mileage, but the car lacks a lil power.. But for the size of it, and weight of it. It doesn't have much of a problem.

One flaw I find in the VX, is in the gearing in the transmission, it has long drawn out gears, so acceleration is a little slow due to this fact. But 110 mph in 3rd gear, stock... I thought my speedo was off, but its not. This is ONLY with the VX Model, the gears are longer to improve gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2005

1995 Honda Civic SRS 1.4i from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Ultra reliable and unfussy engineering

Faults:

A small amount of condensation managed to find its way into both front headlights. These are the type that have a plastic outer layer and a glass inner layer. The moisture was between the two. Fixing the problem meant taking both headlights off, a pain as this meant bumper removal, drying them out with a hot water bottle as the units are sealed and finally pasting silicon rubber all around the joint edge to fully seal them.

A small spot of rust appeared in exactly the same place on both rear wings over the wheels at the point where internal moisture would rest. This might be a flaw in the first production run as this was one of the first British built Swindon Civics. I dinged the spots in and packed the panel hollow with grease, then putty to hold the grease in and then isopon.Doesn't look as bad as it sounds and certainly stopped the rust.

Other than that just replaced the rear exhaust back box (after ten years) and rear suspension bushes (after six - apparently a common wear item).

Only other problem is uneven rear tyre wear even though the car is tracked perfectly.

General Comments:

Reliability is by far the best point of this car. No replacement parts needed other than servicing. Still on the original battery after ten years. Enough poke for motorways too, but really only suitable for two adults and the front headroom is a bit cramped at that. The sunroof doesn't help, lowering the roof by an inch or two to allow a space for the glass to slide back into which affects front and rear passengers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 56 reviews