1996 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 12 of 13

1996 Honda Civic EX from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Awesome sporty little car

Faults:

Well, other than me smashing it up a little, the only thing that went wrong is the driver's side window jumped off track. And the dealership would not fix it under the extended warranty, even though they agreed that it was a common problem with the 96 Civic. They wanted to charge me $90, so I fixed it myself... If you have little patience pay the $90, the whole process was a big pain in the butt, and after about 3 times the amount of time it would take them, I finally got it on track.

General Comments:

I love this car, it is sporty and economic all in one. It has the probably one of the biggest areas for improvement out of any make/model of any vehicle.

I truly recommend the upgraded VTEC engine, to anyone who wants their car to move! I am currently paying to put the newest VTEC in, and upgrading and accessorising :). Expensive but well worth the effort. This car is a beauty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

7th Nov 2005, 16:10

Hey do you think you can send me instructions on how to fix the windows b/c both of mine jumped off track and the dealer wouldn't fix it. If you can please email it to harlav2002@yahoo.com, but if you can't its OK, thanks anyway!!

1996 Honda Civic DX 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

The exhaust pipe connection to the engine has cracked.

General Comments:

I have been very happy with this vehicle, it starts in the middle of winter with a single turn of the key, and seems to cruise nicely at 80mph. Nice vehicle to get you from A to B.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2001

1996 Honda Civic VTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Seriously quick, super reliable, expensive insurance

Faults:

Honda stereo broke. It had broken for the previous owner as well, I understand this is common.

No other problems so far.

General Comments:

Understated looks, but very comfy and well built.

Vtec engine still amazes me, it is a normal car until the etec range is hit, then it is like a turbo! A wolf in sheep's clothing.

Such good fun taking out Corrados, Calibras, and Golf GTIs! They don't know what's just gone past them like a rocket! Cruises sweetly.

Hard to get good fuel economy as the temptation to put the foot down is so great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2001

7th Oct 2004, 12:12

214 BHP from a Starlet Turbo?

They are only 108 to 130 as standard depending on the year! What have you done to it to make it as powerful as a Subaru Impreza or a Focus RS?

16th Jun 2005, 00:39

Add a turbo to the stock 127 hp on the ex, and you can easily push close to 200. With a few economical upgrades ie...intake, exhaust, and manifold you can put out 250 hp plus. My 96 civic EX with the original D16Y8 VTEC-II puts out over 240 hp with less than $1000.00 invested...hmmm.

16th Dec 2006, 06:55

Comparing a starlet turbo to a civic is like comparing diamonds to bricks. The starlet is nice in a breeze block, cheating chunk of turbo power, kind of way, but the civic is a finely tuned NA engined car in another class.

16th Dec 2006, 06:59

Power is power, is doen't matter how you look at it, doesn't matter how its made, engines are not works of art.

22nd Jan 2007, 02:12

I have this Honda Civic 1996, It's pretty working, but the main problems are the Vibration, especially when I turned on the Air-con, another is the Power Windows, One of my Power Windows is not working.

28th Apr 2007, 06:24

Why is everyone trying to race their civic... it's a car made to drive comfortably and save on gas. If you want passing power get yourself a Monte Carlo SS 454, 564 Horse with 640 Torque. That will lift your car off the ground and pass anything, only downside you have to deal with the 7.4 little engine, not much gas saving there.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 64 reviews