1996 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 13 of 13

1996 Honda Civic VTi 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190 Cosworth

Summary:

Fast, fun, economical and reliable

Faults:

The centre box on the exhaust system was blown at 51,000 miles and Honda stereo knackered at 53,000 miles.

General Comments:

For a 1.6, this car has fantastic performance and very good handling as well. Thoroughly good fun to drive, but I feel the rear view vision is not very good though. A real scorcher with very good economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

1996 Honda Civic Coupe LS 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carFiat Cinquecento

Summary:

Pricey, lacklustre performance but has quality, reliability and style

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Solidly built, reliable and very well spec'd. Just not enough performance to match other coupes.

Lots of room in the back, plenty of leg room, good size boot.

Revs to 7000rpm nicely but doesn't get going till around 3-4k rpm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2000

1996 Honda Civic Coupe SR 1.6 VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 GTi 1.6

Summary:

Reliable, stylish motor, only lacking in true coupe performance

Faults:

Minor faults really:

Windscreen wiper stick needed a new switch.

Exhaust mounts under the rear box required refixing, although after 6000 miles, seems to be re-occurring.

General Comments:

Excellent car, don't let my marks betray how I feel about this car. I've run it into the ground, and I can't complain about its reliability and running costs.

Performance is OK, slow on pick up but great when you get above 4,500 rpm.

Running it is cheaper than my last car, but what I love most about it is you don't see that many about, and it has lovely styling, despite the interior being duller than a vicar's party.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2000

23rd Sep 2005, 11:14

I just recently purchased a coupe Sr and found the car to actually have quite a bit of power behind it, the comfort was great performance mega great. running costs were smooth enough as well. overall I would give the Honda coupe Sr a well earned 9/10.

1996 Honda Civic DX 1.9L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Voted 1996 car of the year

Faults:

The ignition got jammed and had to be replaced after 2 years.

The drivers side window (manual) would get dislodged and need to be realigned after 4 years.

Other than that a great car.

General Comments:

A nice 2-door car with plenty of trunk space for a compact. The car had plenty of speed for a 4 cylinder and could do 110 mph easy. Performed minor manintenance after 3 years with no problems. Gas mileage is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

1996 Honda Civic VTEC 1.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX GT

Summary:

Amazing fun and serious quality!!!

Faults:

Not a thing! Apart from bald tyres (it must be all that wheel spinning away from other cars!)

General Comments:

Excellent car - really quiet, low and great! Dead fast too - renowned for being an old man's car, I enjoy proving to silly boys in Escort Turbos that they are driving nothing more than a lettuce with wheels!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2000

1996 Honda Civic 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10

Faults:

Lots of things - CV joints, the head gasket cracked.

General Comments:

I'm very disappointed, I bought this car cause everyone bragged about how they were so good, and to think I traded my Festiva in on this thing!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 1999

2nd Jan 2001, 01:39

I'm amazed that your Festiva was more reliable than your Civic. I've read hundreds of reports and experiences with the Civics and they seem incredibly reliable (I've never known anyone with a crappy Honda)..

I deliver in a '92 Festiva and it does the job, but it's a piece of crap. My aunt also owns a '92 Festiva and it's also crap.

4th Jan 2001, 22:03

I know MANY people that have had crappy Civics... Go for the Accord if you want a reliable Honda.

10th Jul 2004, 20:59

Are you crazy civic is more reliable than accord go to consumer report!!!you are maybe drunk...

30th Dec 2008, 01:26

To the person above me, it sounds like you had an 80's Accord. As they get older things will end up wearing out. However, Hondas like any other car, are only are as good as they are taken care of.

1996 Honda Civic SRi (Jap. model) 1.6 VTEC petrol from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10

Faults:

Battery died after about a year and a half (partially my fault though). Was replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Overall, just an excellent car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 1998

12th Jan 2001, 20:47

Don't you mean "SiR" not "SRi"?

Andrew Douvros

1996 Honda Civic DX 1.5 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.5 Liter
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Have had no serious repairs to the car to date. Currently has 56,000 miles.

General Comments:

For the price of the car, I think I got a great deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1996 Honda Civic LX 1.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Front windows sometimes rattle when partly open.

General Comments:

Overall, good quality car with excellent gas mileage (36 mpg). Reliable and dependable. I got the car I expected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 1998

1996 Honda Civic Coupe Lsi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Radio failed. Negotiated free CD replacement through dealer with Clarion. Completely reliable.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car which I've had from new. Great package for £12,795 in 1996. Main criticism is too much road noise on bad surfaces and embarrassing headlamps. Great fun winding the engine up to 7000rpm!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 1998

1996 Honda Civic Coupe Lsi 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Radio failed, replaced foc.

General Comments:

Excellent ride and handling, 40+mpg, generally cheap to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 1997

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 64 reviews