1997 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 12 of 17

1997 Honda Civic VTEC-E 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

If you want comfort and reliability, I doubt you could do better

Faults:

Nothing other than the odd rattle and squeak.

General Comments:

This has been a fabulous car. Coming up to 6 years old, nearly 120,000 miles on the clock and I will be really sorry to see it go.

Even now I still get 50 mpg out of it (I once got over 60 to the gallon after spending a week driving really economically).

It's a really comfortable car, SO easy to drive - I can see why so many old folks like them.

Services every 6,000 miles makes it a bit expensive to run (although I've only done mine each 10,000).

Just about to invest in a nearly new 1.4 or 1.6 new-style Civic - just hope that whatever I choose it comes close to the value I've had from this car.

Superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

1997 Honda Civic VTi 1.8 VTi VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 VTi VTEC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance40567 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

A high performance reliable fast car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

I have to change the cam-belt, but that's part of the service when it became 5 years old and the cam-belt was really cheap for a Japanese car.

General Comments:

This car is very fast and have had not much competition as of yet.

I took the car on a test track and got just short of 147mph which is not even on the clock.

The seats are very comfortable and very stylish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2003

1997 Honda Civic Si Coupe from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 kilometres
Most recent distance82754 kilometres
Previous carKia Rio

Summary:

A high performance vehicle

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my Civic!

General Comments:

My car is so much fun to drive and great on gas. Nothing major has gone wrong with my car, but any minor problems have been dealt with my the dealership. Even though it was not under any warranty, they did everything they could to help. My Civic is quick and comfortable. I am very proud to be the owner of a Honda, they stand behind their name. I used to own a Kia and they are horrible cars, buy a Honda instead if you're considering a Kia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2002

1997 Honda Civic DX 1.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance85625 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

High quality, reliable vehicle

Faults:

I have had no problems with this car yet.

General Comments:

The car does get lower gas mileage than quoted, but still good.

It doesn't have a lot of power, but what do you expect from a 1.6L 4 cylinder.

It handles great when your going around turns quickly, it is very responsive.

The interior is very well laid out, and I like the folding rear seats.

I also think the engine is very reliable, all you have to do is give it the regular check up and it will last you even after your done paying for it, which I think is a great deal.

Everything I've heard about how Honda's are great, reliable cars is true so far.

I plan on keeping it for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2002

5th Mar 2004, 11:09

I'm glad you are happy with your civc DX, so I'm too. 93000 miles and still running great. I feel bad because I haven't send it for its service (30k,60k and now due at 90k) I promise to send it to dealer for its 90k miles, it well deserve it my little honda..

1997 Honda Civic EX Four Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Four Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired275 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

Attractive and Reliable Little Car

Faults:

Replaced brakes last week. Replace muffler and piping about 20,000 miles ago. Normal wear and tear on tires.

General Comments:

This car can get into tight spaces in heavy traffic.

Parking is a breeze.

Cabin is small for tall people.

Very peppy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2002

1997 Honda Civic LX from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Summary:

Great First Car!

Faults:

Nothing that I'm aware of.

I'm still trying to find out if the factory recall on the passenger side air bag was ever fixed on my car...

General Comments:

As this is my first car, I don't have much to compare it to, but it was and still is a great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

1997 Honda Civic EX 1.6 liter VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Very reliable, moderately fun

Faults:

Rotors have warped on 2 occasions, usually after a hard highway stop.

General Comments:

This car is the same as the day we bought it, feels very tight and runs and drives smoothly.

My only complaint is the lack of torque, with the automatic it is very hard to maintain highway speed on hilly areas unless you keep the RPMs high. Remember that a VTEC engine can have decent HP, but low torque, so it won't "feel" fast - the HP rating is high because the car maintains the torque to a high RPM level. Some people see the 127 HP rating of this engine and expect a reasonably fast car, but it is basically the same engine (slightly more torque) as the base model with a higher redline.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 70 reviews