1998 Honda Civic VTI 1.8 from UK and Ireland


A Discreet Rocket Car With All Round Quality!


Nothing as yet, but front shock absorbers will probably need replacing in near future (Front driver side a little soft). Car had 12 Honda Service stamps when I bought it.

General Comments:

Having scrapped my clapped out Toyota Carina I decided to look for a car with some get and GO.

My original choices were a Nissan 200 SX, Alfa Romeo 146 Ti.

Couldn't find a Nissan in my price range that was any good locally.

Test drove a Alfa 146 1.8 and was diappointed with the performance, ride, interior and build quality.

Bought a Honda on the back of my friends Honda Vti.

Thisar is seriously quick for a 1.8 WITHOUT a turbo or any modifications.

Has an engine the same as an Integra, but with a smaller cam.

A Golf 2.3 has 170 BHP and my Civic 169.

Glorious sounding free-revving engine that never disappoints.

Comfortable half-leather tasteful seats and interior.

Great ride, although there is some road noise.

Body is a little soft and tends to pick up small dents.

Overall solid build quality and engine that will last for years if looked after.

Well worth buying if you want an all-round quality car with AMAZING performance at a reasonable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2003

19th Jan 2006, 16:32

Well it may have a lot of horse power, but nothing for torque. So id stay away from anything with more than a 2.8L under the hood boy.

13th Mar 2006, 04:31

I take it you're an American then!?

1998 Honda Civic LX 1.7 4 Cylinder from North America


A waste of money that hasn't lasted 5 years


The A/C blew up at 39,500 miles. American Honda paid for half of the repair.. not good enough I say. The car was sold to me as having Honda Keyless, and it was instead equiped with an after market alarm/keyless entry system that was *horrible*.

General Comments:

The car has very thin metal on the side panels and it dings way too easily.

The paint isn't good quality paint and it wears out way faster than it should.

The seats are really uncomfortable for anyone over 6 feet tall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

24th Feb 2004, 13:49

I just purchased a '98 Civic DX. You're right about dinging and paint, just a manufacturer oversight I guess. They have a high resale value, which may explain why you felt so cheated about the price you paid. While the A/C dying so young is a disappointment, I would suggest that your powertrain will be much more reliable. This is why these cars re-sell for such a high price. My last car was an '83 Honda Accord. It was still running fine on its first engine and transmission at 210,000 miles when I sold it.

-AM, California.

28th Jan 2010, 17:55

I'm 6'3 and have never been uncomfortable?

1998 Honda Civic CX 1.5 from North America


Oxygen sensor at 80 000 KM - $350 CAD.

Trunk gasket preventing rain water from getting into the trunk - 30 000 KM - Replaced under the warranty. I heard it is typical problem for a hatchback.

General Comments:

Good and affordable commuter. Seat is little harsh on my back (could be just me).

Great engine and transmission, sporty suspension. Handling is crisp and predictable.

Gas consumption is really nice, good bonus with today's gas prices.

Interior materials are OK for the price - not the best, but also there is no cheap feel inside..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

27th Oct 2005, 14:23

1, primary oxygen sensor was replaced at 173,000 KM, part price = CAD 235.00, labor fee = CAD 140.00 (excl. TAX)

2, 2 weeks later, the engine check light turns up again, checked again, say: catalator-convert shall be replaced, quote = CAD 1,000.00, very expensive, but I suppose the secondary oxygen sensor is out of work. Since the only the sensoe will make the engine check lights up.

1998 Honda Civic EX 1.6 vtech from North America


Very poor gas mileage. EPA figures are in the 30 mpg range: I have not been able to get more than 25 mpg highway. Unacceptable for a 4 cylinder engine. Breaks wear quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th June, 2003

22nd Oct 2005, 18:01

Your Civic must need some sort of tune up because you should be getting well over 30 mpg.

24th Aug 2009, 21:16

Try going SLOWER!! You can't expect good mileage if you're going 80 MPH. I go 55 in my Civic, and I'm currently getting 46 MPG. This is totally bogus. He complains about poor gas mileage, most likely from going way too fast, and then complains about brakes wearing quickly, probably from slamming on the brakes and riding them as he's going too fast.