1998 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 17 of 19

1998 Honda Civic lxi 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance58000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Reliable, speedy 2 door hatch car

Faults:

Gear box started to get clunky after 20000 km of no service. A good service fixed this.

That's all.

General Comments:

The car runs well although it is not the most forgiving to drive.

The clutch is awkward to use (for first timers).

The gear stick has a lot of travel between gears.

Suspension is very soft (ie not a performance car obviously)

Low profile tyres aid performance extensively.

After 50,000kms it will get to 100kmh in under 9 seconds! Not bad for a civic.

Honda 1600cc engine is very quick for its specifications. In comparison to all other 1600cc cars I have driven, this is by far the fastest.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

1998 Honda Civic DX 1.6 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Reliable, but dull... It's a Honda..

Faults:

Oxygen Sensor went out and caused "Check Engine Light" to come on.

A good deal of rattles.

Tailpipe is rusting pretty severely.

General Comments:

We also have a 1997 VW Jetta and both my wife and I prefer it to the Civic. The Honda is economical and performs fairly well, but like other Hondas doesn't have a lot of personality. I think we're going to either get a Mazda or a Subaru next go around... or another Volkswagen...

One thing I don't like about the Civic is that the seats are poorly padded. they're also narrow. I'm very thin and I can hardly imagine someone with a larger posterior fitting it into the seats in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2002

4th Jun 2006, 09:22

Mazdas are sweet and so much fun to drive... go for one of those.

4th Jun 2006, 22:02

That's what they said in 1997, 2001, 2004, and now 2006. Mazdas are better than the Civic. But the Civic has held together better in the years than the Mazdas. Guess the critics are just full of it.

19th Sep 2006, 15:42

Get a Subaru, they are fun, and also reliable!!

1998 Honda Civic Si 1.6L VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.6L VTEC Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24500 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A big piece of garbage that should be driven off a cliff

Faults:

Headlight broke.

Seats ripped apart.

Floor fell off.

Exhaust came apart.

Gas pedal stuck (which almost killed me).

Brakes went out (same time as above).

Paint chipped everywhere.

Taillight fell apart.

Honda emblems fell also.

General Comments:

I wouldn't buy this car if you paid me. I traded my Mustang Cobra for this thing and I was depressed when I popped the hood to see a pathetic 4 cylinder engine that only boasted 140hp. This car is horrible at everything. Yeah, it's good on gas mileage, but who cares. Please, all of you teenagers hoping to buy a car that you can "pimp" out. Please buy something else besides a Honda/Acura.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2002

17th Jun 2002, 13:01

It's easy to tell this is a bogus review, but it sure made me laugh!

22nd Jun 2002, 02:31

Yea, no kidding. There is no possible way that this review is anything close to being true. How did it make it onto this site anyways?

22nd Jun 2002, 22:25

The problems stated were only cosmetic problems or problems that occur on any car. Exhaust systems rust, the interior gets worn, and lights burn out. Just compare the Honda reviews with the Ford reviews and you will know which cars are superior. I have known a number of people who have driven Hondas well over 200,000 miles. I have a Ford Thunderbird right now (big mistake, but I was uneducated when I bought it), and I have spent over $3000 in repairs on a $6500 car already, and it just passed the 60,000 mile mark. What a pile of junk. And about the performance difference. A V8 is good for speed if you have an extra ton of metal to carry around, but the fact remains that a Civic Si can smoke a Mustang with only a few bolt-on modifications.

1998 Honda Civic LX from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33391 miles
Most recent distance39200 miles

Summary:

Good car.

Faults:

So far nothing had gone wrong with the car. I've only had this car for 3 months and so far things are working out fine. No repairs needed as of yet.

General Comments:

This car is great and comfortable. Very reliable. Great on gas!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2002

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 68 reviews