1998 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 19 of 19

1998 Honda Civic VTI 1.8 DOHC VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC VTEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carToyota Carina

Summary:

Practical for the family and excellent for dad when they get out!

Faults:

Replacement clutch pressure plate at 76000 miles.

General Comments:

Incredible engine delivering fun at high revs, yet economical if not a little docile round town (not a lot of torque).

Real grinning material on the open road.

Positive brakes and steering (Handy).

Well screwed together and good standard specification.

Quite noisy at motorway speeds though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2001

3rd Sep 2001, 12:02

A tip 4 you - slip the clutch to get the revs up quicker - this produces the torque - but the clutch stinks.

18th May 2010, 15:40

No, don't do that, you'll wear out your clutch quicker. Japanese clutch replacements aren't cheap!

1998 Honda Civic Type-R 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carHonda Intrega Type-R

Summary:

Best car for fun and performance all round

Faults:

Noting except it eats tyres.

General Comments:

Fantastic car.

Cheap to run if you keep it below 5600rpm, after that the fun doesn't stop till 8700, forget your Subaru's and Cosworths.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2000

9th Nov 2004, 03:52

Is this car faster then the Integra Type R pls?

23rd Nov 2004, 17:06

Allegedly they are quicker in a straight line 0-60, but there's not much in it. An Integra, with equal drivers, should be quicker around a track. Honda's aren't slow for what they are!! They are very nippy NA cars. If you want real speed then go turbo/super charged (You could always turbo/super charge a type r - then it will eat most cars for breakfast!!)

1998 Honda Civic VTEC VTI 1.6 DOHC petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles

Summary:

High performance jet!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Well, this is my first car, I'm 19 years old and it cost me a lot to insure!!! But I think it was worth it. The 160 BHP DOHC VTEC VTI engine really is excellent - no wonder everyone is copying the VTEC engine.

I have had this car for about 9 months, done 15,000 miles in it and enjoyed every inch of it. It's a thrill to drive, it's very very very nippy in low revs but absolutely breathtaking once you take it to about 5000. It redlines between 8000rpm and 9000rpm.

Excellent car, no problems at all. I'm thinking of selling this car and buying a Prelude VTEC 2.2 because I'm in love with the VTEC engine. I have had a lot of races in this car and I can honestly say I have never lost. The handling is great too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2000

30th Dec 2000, 18:53

The only thing I could say (almost 25 years old and my second car!!!) is that the VTEC is a wonderful machine and I've never lost a race too!!!!!

Once the engine comes near to 5,500 rpm the beast is free and come out of its cage!!

In one word: WONDERFUL!!!!!

1998 Honda Civic LX from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Not good value and lacks quality

Faults:

1. Had to replace the alternator at 20,000 miles after the car died on me a few times. Covered by the warranty

2. The car gets very very easily dented. To prove it both side doors have dents made from other car doors.

3. Paint tends to chip very easily. I have to apply touch up paint very regularly.

General Comments:

Overall comfortable car to drive although the interior is a little noisy at highway speeds.

Major gripes:

1. Easily dented (should be called Civic "soda can")

2. Brakes wear out frequently.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th September, 2000

2nd Aug 2004, 11:37

I don't understand Civic brake complaints. I just replaced the front pads on my 98 Civic EX 5-speed AFTER 104,000 miles. They still had 1/8" of pad left on them. I have never had pads last more than 50K on any other vehicle.

1998 Honda Civic VTi 1.5 from Singapore

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carMazda Astina

Summary:

A good car

Faults:

When coming to a stop after a longer drive (>15Km), a metallic rubbing sound could be heard coming from the the engine compartment. It does not happen during stopping but immediately after stopping.

Just sent the car for servicing at 20,000 Km (including changing CVT oil) but problem not solved. I guess this could be due to CVT retracting but service technician had no comment.....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2000

1998 Honda Civic 150i Hatchback 1.5 petrol from South Africa

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

No problems experienced yet.

General Comments:

Although it is no tar burner, it handles and performs very well. The only gripe being that the gearing is too long for the torqueless motor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 1999

5th Apr 2005, 07:07

Not the most throughout review there. I drive a 1999 150i 3 door Civic. I have to agree with you that the engine is under-torqued and the top gears could be closer. However, as for performance and the 0 - 100 run this car rocks. I pull most 1600's including the likes of the new Run X's and VWs and all I have done is changed the intake and exhaust systems. All in all I am extremely happy with this impressive little car!

1998 Honda Civic HX (5-speed version not CVT au 1.6 VTEC SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC SOHC
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Faults:

I bought it new and I knew I would be leaving the country within 3 years, so I drove the car like I was a mad man. I'm surprised the engine did not blow up, however a few belts and pulleys did come off, but I can assure you it was my lack of sympathy for the car and is no reflection on Honda. However, the windshield was not installed properly in the factory, so above 80mph there was a little annoying whistle, few garages did anything about it, one manager ripped out the whole seal and re-glued it and that fixed it. Made in America, not Japan, remember that... English and Irish Civics are manufactured in Japan.

General Comments:

Great car, it's a fuel miser. Different gearing ratios, mean 90mph in 3rd and 60mph in 2nd! Tops out at 122mph due to engine and tach limiters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

17th Oct 2001, 11:44

"Made in America, not Japan, remember that... English and Irish Civics are manufactured in Japan"

Not anymore. They are manufactured at a large Honda plant in Swindon, England.

7th Jan 2005, 08:54

Five door Civics were built in England. Three doors were built in Japan. 4 and 2 doors were built in USA. Strangely the USA ones were the most reliable.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 68 reviews