1998 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 9 of 19

1998 Honda Civic EX Coupe 1.6 gas from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance59640 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Overall this is the best, funnest-to-drive car I've ever owned

Faults:

Changed rotors and pads to new OEM-type at 47,000 miles. Cost: $300. Original rotors were warped and so they pulsed when braking. The new ones are perfect after 12,000 miles.

I'm on my third set of tires. They always wear unevenly. Admittedly, I drive the car in a "sporting" manner much of the time.

General Comments:

The seats are typical Japanese -- not very comfortable for cross-country drives, although I've seen worse.

Fuel economy is EPA 32/38 mpg, but all I ever seem to get is around 30 mpg in mixed driving. That's 7.8 l / 100 km for those outside the USA. (I doubt this car was ever available outside the USA.)

Road noise is considerable at 75 mph. Even so, I've done several cross-country drives and would not hesitate to do one again. The car is dead reliable.

I love the suspension on this car. It seems to keep the tires in contact with the road surface, even when cornering hard over uneven pavement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2006

24th Jun 2009, 00:54

I have a 94 civic EX and have been taking some of those long trips. I just love the way the tires grip the ground when cornering. Each time I return from my trip, I will step out, look at the little beast and just laugh... Great car!

1998 Honda Civic EX 1.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance153000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Reliable, but boring as

Faults:

Trunk leaks and fills up with water in heavy rain.

Driver's seat is wearing badly.

General Comments:

This car is extremely reliable and good quality... what you expect from a Honda.

Performance is pretty crap.. you need to rev it high all the time to get any juice. Our old Mazda 323 was much better.

Handling... too much body roll, feels like a giant sponge... our Subaru wagon corners better than this car.

I really hate the interior.. it is gray plastic and has a really cheap feeling considering the price paid for this car. Also the seats have pretty much no support so you slide around a lot.

My mother even complains about this car's boring-ness.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2006

6th Jun 2006, 09:40

The car is boring? Read a good book.

22nd Oct 2006, 09:16

It's a small displacement four cylinder, they don't make much horsepower until 4000rpm or higher. Tires will make a world of difference for handling.

1998 Honda Civic VTI-S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Fast, Reliable Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I remember being unsure as to whether I should buy this car... but was converted after the test drive. Hit 5500rpm and all hell breaks loose. Hitting 60mph in 2nd gear whilst the car is bouncing off the rev limiter is one of motoring's finer moments.

As for the every day grind, the car hasn't missed a beat, and given that the VTI-S was a dealership special, it came with air con and a sunroof as standard, all the better to hear the VTEC howl.

As a cheap, second hand hot hatch, the car has been unbeatable, and having used it for the occasional track day at Donnington Park my respect for the car gets ever higher. It's so easy to control the car on the limit (using Toyo Proxes T1-R tyres) and yet when you need it to, it will do the Tesco shopping run with ease and still return 30mpg in the urban cycle.

The only modifications to the car have been a K & N air filter and a Recaro Seat (the original driver's seat was awful, and it's good to see that the current Civic Type R is now fitted with Recaros).

Age may wither her, but I plan on keeping the car, buying the newer Civic Type R, and using the VTI as a trackday car. Long live Honda. Long live VTEC.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2006

3rd Mar 2007, 02:39

Just as an update to the previous review, my car is now coming up to 9 years old and is about to be booked into the local garage for a new front engine mount and rear suspension bushes. All in all not bad as the only issues in such a long time of motoring.

Honda, I salute you...

6th Jul 2008, 05:20

Further update: car still running faultlessly, and the engine is still more than willing to bounce off the red line.

I'm thinking of upgrading to a turbo charged car next (perhaps a GTI or a VXR) but the little Honda just keeps on going...

6th Jul 2008, 15:22

Get a VXR, you'll never look back, I didn't.

7th Jul 2008, 17:17

And I've had a VXR for 2 years and never missed a beat. No doubt you had an old Carlton or Vectra and are judging a VXR by their low standards.

p.s. I came from a Type R and they're not as reliable as you Honda boys make out; in 3 years a wheel bearing went, cable going to the clutch got a hole in it, and a spark plug went; still loved it though.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 68 reviews