2002 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 8 of 24

2002 Honda Civic EX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles

Summary:

I had so much hope for this car... and was disappointed

Faults:

Steering mechanism failed after a few weeks of buying the car. It was fixed after 2 visits and so far so good.

SRS indicator light was always going on. They said that they have fixed it now.

Engine light indicator was a constant problem. They were resetting it until the warranty ran out, and then they said it was valves, sensors and who knows what else. They said they have fixed it now.

The passenger front seat was not anchored properly, and the seat would move forward when I stopped. They fixed it.

The cassette players - I am on my third one now. The first two garbled sound and wouldn't advance.

The struts are leaking and must be replaced. Of course this occurred as soon as the warranty ran out. I don't know if it is true, as I don't go under the car and peer up at the struts. Honda refuses to fix the struts.

The lights for the heater and air conditioner do not illuminate any more.

The air filter housing is a flimsy plastic box, held together with nuts that cannot be opened with an ordinary wrench. Trying to change the filter will cause you to break the plastic housing. The manual doesn't tell you that the nuts are not openable with an ordinary wrench, and looking from at it, you couldn't tell that something is going on with the nuts and bolts.

Honda refused to replace the housing and put ordinary nuts and bolts on the airfilter housing.

General Comments:

This car doesn't live up to Honda's reputation as a well made car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th July, 2006

13th Jul 2006, 20:47

The lights are easy to replace, just simple bulbs that are 2-6 dollars depending on how big they are. You should not have any problems getting the dash apart, since Hondas are easy to work on.

5th Sep 2007, 23:44

Why would you be interested to modify air filter packaging? You only need to replace them 50K km. Not that you would need to change it every week or so.

27th Aug 2008, 19:32

Did you follow the recommended maintenance schedule? I did and I had no problems with my 2002 Civic EX!

2002 Honda Civic LX 2 Door 1.7L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.7L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired34 kilometres
Most recent distance72000 kilometres
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Normal Honda's amazing, this one is big lemon!

Faults:

Driver's Side Door Alignment Out.

Front Brake Noise at 10000 Km.

Bad 2nd Gear Shifting at 4000 Km.

Bad Struts, Front Sway Bar, Rear Sway Bar and Suspension at 40,000 Km-Not Acknowledge till 70,000 Km after warranty Out.

Bad Clutch Master Cylinder.

Bad Clutch throwing bearing, squealing, this is reason clutch master cylinder replaced, but not found till later.

Leaking water in drivers side, every year the floors flood and winter are solid ice.

General Comments:

This car is not a good car. Underpowered, intermittent problems with stalling and reliability.

The suspension started acting up at 10,000 Km and was sounding horrible by 40,000 Km. Deal told me normal wear and tear and by 70,000 Km the dealer told me entire front and rear suspension and linkage should be replaced.

The car handles poorly, gas mileage has never been greater than 28 miles per gallon when it should be 50.

Car has been maintained, synthetic motor oil, numerous preventative maintenace (new spark plugs, fuel injector cleaner etc)

Dealer has not dealt with issues nor found any problems when warranty was in, even though I could find them, however they had no problem finding them when out of warranty. Transmission problems they acknowledge, but refuse to repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2006

15th Aug 2006, 13:52

Not sure if you have read the owner's manual. You only need to change the spark plugs at 100,000 miles.

16th Aug 2006, 09:30

100,000 miles? not true... needs to be changed every 10,000 miles... those 100,000 mile tune up that these companies try to sell are basically just for the timing belt/chain, water pump, and plus wires... but 10,000 miles is even pushing it with the spark plugs... seeing that a WHOLE lot of electricity goes through them over 1,000rpms...

16th Aug 2006, 23:10

My Accords can go at least 30,000 miles between changes and these are the ones that were built before 2000. Neighbor's Civic ran for 15,000 miles with number 2 or 3 plug broken off in the head.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 78 reviews