2004 Honda Civic SiR 2.0 i-VTEC from North America


Rock solid and a blast to drive


Nothing so far ;)

General Comments:

Got the car about 1 month ago, has 180 000km on it. So far so good. This one has been well maintained, so it still feels like a brand new Honda right off the lot. The K20 is not the most powerful, but it's a blast to rev and consumes no oil whatsoever.

Handling is this car's strong point; it's a real go-kart. Steering is sharp and that dash mounted shifter is slick and a very cool feature that gets your friends talking when they get in.

I've had to change an engine mount since I've had it; cost me about 200$ for an original Honda mount installed. The rest is just rock solid.

I love the cargo space this thing offers when the rear seats are folded down, and the fuel economy is adequate considering this is a performance oriented car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2013

2004 Honda Civic VP 1.7L gas from North America


Piece of junk. Will never buy another Honda, will try Toyota or Subaru next


Engine stalls for no reason.

General Comments:

Left me stranded second time yesterday for no reason. The car is very well taken care of, oil changes every 3 months and less than 3k miles. Got this car brand new from the dealer, all scheduled maintenance performed on time or earlier.

I HATE MY CAR. I thought SAABs were unreliable, but at least they are fun to drive. Honda sucks big time. It's a piece of garbage; even if you take care of it and don't abuse it, it still breaks down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2012

25th Jan 2012, 06:24

Cars don't break down or stall for no reason. A good mechanic would find that reason for you.

25th Jan 2012, 23:24

What grade of gasoline were you using?

2004 Honda Civic Sport 1.6 Vtec from UK and Ireland


You won't regret buying it!


Needed a new actuator on the driver's door, and also a sensor box for the central locking, as both failed! 55 euro for both second hand parts, which I installed myself... Would have cost over 300 euro just to buy them new at the dealers!

Other than that, it's been bullet proof.

General Comments:

Excellent car compared to the 1.4 Corolla that I have previously owned. I have also owned a 2002 1.4 Civic hatchback. All 3 have been endlessly reliable, which is a major plus point, but the Honda engines are superior; not only quicker, but more economical I've found.

Service parts are fairly similar, as are running costs, although Hondas may be dearer to insure for me, a male in my early 20s.

My only negative point about the Civic is they are not a smooth car to drive at low speeds, no matter how careful I am. It can be quite jerky taking off from the lights, and even moving into second gives quite a kick when you take your foot off the clutch. All in all though, I am very happy with the car, and would recommend one to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2011

2004 Honda Civic SE 1.7 from North America


Not your father's Civic!


My head gasket blew at 78000 km. Yes, at seventy-eight thousand kilometers the head gasket needed to be replaced. I was lucky because I had an extended warranty, the dealership replaced the head gasket at no charge.

General Comments:

The car is very fuel efficient.

Nothing else had to be fixed on this car.

I think this generation of Civic is not as reliable as older Civics were.

Maybe it's a general downgrade of the quality in the automotive industry, or how to make more with less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2010

31st Dec 2010, 07:44

I'm the original poster of this review. Just to inform you that my civic had the head gasket replaced the second time this year! Nobody told me why my Civic needed 2 head gaskets this year.

31st Dec 2010, 14:48

"I was lucky because I had an extended warranty, the dealership replaced the head gasket at no charge."

Not entirely accurate. You paid for the extended warranty, therefore you really did pay for the gasket indirectly...