2004 Honda Civic Reviews

2004 Honda Civic EX from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

Great performance; fair reliability

Faults:

Radiator replacement at 85,000 miles.

Hood latch assembly at 85,000.

Seat belt sensor at 80,000.

Leaking sunroof at 80,000.

Coolant system temperature gauge/thermostat at 80,000.

Wheel hub assembly at 75,000.

Gas door assembly broke at 40,000.

Airbag replaced at 18,000 (caveat: the car was in an accident

before I purchased it... probably associated with a defect).

General Comments:

The car is surprisingly quick in acceleration.

The car gets great gas mileage, of course.

Had hoped for better reliability. Most items that have been replaced are kind of frustrating, when comparing to my dad's 2001 Toyota Camry, which has had almost no issues in 155,000.

The car handles excellently in snow. Have never spun out, and blows past poor performing SUVs.

The car has decent hauling capacity for a coupe. However, the shape of trunk opening to the back seat makes it difficult to add large, long items.

Audio system is good but not great. Speakers sound pretty good, but the stereo has limited options for control and the CD player gets hot sometimes.

Interior comfort is nothing that amazing, but I've driven multiple whole day drives without feeling bad afterwards.

Gotta love the sunroof, even if it has been leaking as of late.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd January, 2014

24th Jan 2014, 00:11

Jeez, and only 85k on it?? My mid-90's Hondas didn't have that many little problems even at 200,000+ miles. Tells you something about the quality of late-model cars nowadays... I bet they don't even make them in Japan any more.

24th Jan 2014, 00:35

A bum radiator and a failed hood latch aren't just little problems, they can leave you stranded or worse. If that's how their top-shelf EX trimline holds up before 90k miles, I'd hate to see how much $$$ it'll take to keep it going past 190k. "They don't make 'em like they used to".

2004 Honda Civic SiR 2.0 i-VTEC from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.0 i-VTEC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres

Summary:

Rock solid and a blast to drive

Faults:

Nothing so far ;)

General Comments:

Got the car about 1 month ago, has 180 000km on it. So far so good. This one has been well maintained, so it still feels like a brand new Honda right off the lot. The K20 is not the most powerful, but it's a blast to rev and consumes no oil whatsoever.

Handling is this car's strong point; it's a real go-kart. Steering is sharp and that dash mounted shifter is slick and a very cool feature that gets your friends talking when they get in.

I've had to change an engine mount since I've had it; cost me about 200$ for an original Honda mount installed. The rest is just rock solid.

I love the cargo space this thing offers when the rear seats are folded down, and the fuel economy is adequate considering this is a performance oriented car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2013

2004 Honda Civic VP 1.7L gas from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.7L gas Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance81640 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-3

Summary:

Piece of junk. Will never buy another Honda, will try Toyota or Subaru next

Faults:

Engine stalls for no reason.

General Comments:

Left me stranded second time yesterday for no reason. The car is very well taken care of, oil changes every 3 months and less than 3k miles. Got this car brand new from the dealer, all scheduled maintenance performed on time or earlier.

I HATE MY CAR. I thought SAABs were unreliable, but at least they are fun to drive. Honda sucks big time. It's a piece of garbage; even if you take care of it and don't abuse it, it still breaks down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2012

25th Jan 2012, 06:24

Cars don't break down or stall for no reason. A good mechanic would find that reason for you.

25th Jan 2012, 23:24

What grade of gasoline were you using?

2004 Honda Civic Sport 1.6 Vtec from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 Vtec Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

You won't regret buying it!

Faults:

Needed a new actuator on the driver's door, and also a sensor box for the central locking, as both failed! 55 euro for both second hand parts, which I installed myself... Would have cost over 300 euro just to buy them new at the dealers!

Other than that, it's been bullet proof.

General Comments:

Excellent car compared to the 1.4 Corolla that I have previously owned. I have also owned a 2002 1.4 Civic hatchback. All 3 have been endlessly reliable, which is a major plus point, but the Honda engines are superior; not only quicker, but more economical I've found.

Service parts are fairly similar, as are running costs, although Hondas may be dearer to insure for me, a male in my early 20s.

My only negative point about the Civic is they are not a smooth car to drive at low speeds, no matter how careful I am. It can be quite jerky taking off from the lights, and even moving into second gives quite a kick when you take your foot off the clutch. All in all though, I am very happy with the car, and would recommend one to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2011

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 32 reviews