2004 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 9 of 10

2004 Honda Civic VTi 1.6 SOHC from Singapore

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Good car, needs a beefier engine to take full advantage of suspension

Faults:

Nothing, for now.

General Comments:

The Civic in Singapore comes in two versions, the 1.6Vti and the 1.7Vti-S. My 1.6 is about 5 months old now, and has good body control in corners, with its stiff suspension. Unfortunately, this means that the ride may be a little jarring for those looking for cushier rides. Build quality is very good, and the engine is pokey, being the fastest 1.6 sedan in Singapore. Unfortunately, the suspension seems more than able to take anything the engine can throw at it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2004

2004 Honda Civic Special Edition 1.7 Liter from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 Liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance8400 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Buy this car if you want good reliability with a serious fun to drive factor

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car so far.

Rliability has been exceptional.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive with a five speed. It is very easy to drive, and the engine is surprisingily peppy for such a small motor.

This car is very reliable. I drive the car very hard and it still has not shown any signs of trouble. I never think about things breaking down I would recommend this car to anyone who is into owning cheap transportation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2004

25th Nov 2005, 21:07

I would just like to comment on my original review. I have now passed the 48000km (30000mi) mark and although reliability has been exceptional, I have noticed a problem.

For starters, the fuel filler door like to freeze in cold northern climates, making it impossible to open the fuel door for gassing up.

Otherwise the car is running perfectly. Every time I take the car in for servicing, the car ends up running like new! I am so happy I spent the money on this car!

2004 Honda Civic special edition 1.7 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2200 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Good

Faults:

The bearing on the front strut had to be replaced because it was loose. Now it became loose once again and has to be replaced.

General Comments:

Good car to have for a student. Cheap on gas and drives well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2004

2004 Honda Civic Type-R 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Unmatched performance and practicality for £16k

Faults:

No faults.

General Comments:

Considered as a £16k hot hatch, the CTR does nearly everything very well. The engine is superb; reasonably torquey below the 5800rpm cam changeover point, and very quick indeed beyond - although the 'kick' is not as pronounced as in earlier gen performance VTECs.

The six-speed box is outstandingly precise, and the clutch light. Steering is quick, but still numb - it's also heavy at parking speeds, with a poor turning circle.

Dry road grip is excellent, and cornering composed, with very little roll. The ride is obviously on the firm side without being uncomfortable, and refinement is noticeably improved in the 04 model; some road roar from the tyres, but perfectly acceptable for a hot hatch.

Materials quality is fine, no squeaks or rattles from the cabin, and it's quite spacious (although the boot is only adequate). Tyre and fuel consumption entirely dependent on the heaviness of your right foot. Very pleased after 10k miles and fully intend to keep it until the warranty expires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2004

26th May 2005, 09:06

The Clio 182 cup would wipe the floor with your Type r!

Performance wise and Handling.

Hell of a lot cheaper too..

13th Jun 2005, 06:35

Actually, there's absolutely nothing in it in performance terms. You could make a case for the Clio handling better, but Tiff Needell thought otherwise on the track recently.

The difference is that I have a practical modern hatchback, with Japanese engineering and quality, whereas you have a cramped, dated, poorly built French supermini.

2004 Honda Civic Type-R 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

An excellent, reliable hot hatch

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this Type-R, nor my previous 2002 Type-R.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic.

It's quick, comfortable, looks good, is manufactured to a very high standard and I wouldn't want anything else.

It is fairly cheap to run, but drinks a bit of fuel if you are constantly V-TECing as expected.

I have owned many other cars, but none as nice to drive as this.

Always brings a smile to my face and is extremely good value for money.

Well done Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

7th Nov 2006, 13:58

I am the proud owner of 2004 CTR. And I must say, everyday when I leave work I cannot wait till I sit behind the steering wheel of this car. It puts a big smile on my face day after day. It is one of the best cars I have driven and the engine pulls happily after 1500 RPM and very happily after 2000 RPM. I run past a lot of BMW without even hitting VTEC, staying under 5000 and just when one of those beamers proves a little more powerful, I take it up to the VTEC zone and then watch the BMW get smaller and smaller in my rear view mirror... I don't even bother with GTIs unless its the 2006 GTI (200 hp) Poor VW, they couldn't get 200 hp out of a 2.0 engine without fitting a turbo while honda did it in 2001... And since the GTI is heavier, it takes it 0.9 seconds more than the CTR to reach 100.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 32 reviews