2010 Honda Civic LX-S 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Reliable, efficent, but suspension problems

Faults:

Shock absorber performance.

General Comments:

Since I've put 107,000 miles trouble free on this car, it's hard to not to give it a happy face.

The one complaint I have is the suspension. The car is now 4 years old, and I have done 95% highway mileage. The car feels like it has no shock absorbers left; going over small bumps or potholes causes a bone jarring sound and feeling. If I have any added weight of passengers in the car, it's worse, and it's really painful.

Cabin noise as always is high in the Civic. I have a 1998, and two 2004's as well, and they are all loud in the cabin, but only the 2010 has the shock absorber issue.

Otherwise this car is unbelievable in terms of gas efficiency (39 MPG) and reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th January, 2014

29th Jan 2014, 16:19

Shocks are a wear-out item... on most cars they last a little longer, sure, but they're definitely cheap and easy to replace. Put some aftermarket Monroes on there or something similar, and it may last longer than the stock Honda shocks did.

22nd May 2014, 10:46

I have never changed the shocks on my 98, and they're still great. This car was driven to Brooklyn and back to Manalapan, NJ daily by my wife for several years, so it had the shiznit beat out of it. Same with the 2004. My 2010 on the other hand is 95% highway miles, and the shocks are shot. So, that's why I'm disappointed.

22nd Sep 2014, 15:30

It is very probable Honda used cheaper shock absorbers this time. My recommendation is to go with a good aftermarket standard stiffness parts such as Kyb for example (check out on forums) that will surely last past 100k miles.

22nd Sep 2014, 15:31

Also check the control arm bushings.

2010 Honda Civic Hybrid 1.3 hybrid from North America

Summary:

Smooth, like riding in an airplane

Faults:

No maintenance issues. The car still is tight.

General Comments:

Great gas mileage - an average of 44 MPG combined.

All hybrids are different. In this one, an electric motor assists the gas engine on hills or acceleration, but is not on all the time. A different system than the Prius.

The car is roomy with lots of gauges to distract your eyes from the road.

Easy maintenance. An oil minder tells you the life of your oil, and when to change it.

Have seen several of these cars over 200,000 miles.

Would not buy one older than 2007. Software problems. Battery will last the life of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2013

25th Jan 2014, 03:05

Hybrid battery done at 65000 miles. Honda replaced it with upgraded lithium ion battery and gave a 10 year 150000 mile warranty no charge. Let's see Chevy or Ford back their products up like that.

2010 Honda Civic EX 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Frustrated

Faults:

The reason I'm writing this review is I got out of work and started the car. The check engine light was on, and the car shifted very erratically. I pulled the code p0962, some kind of shift solenoid for the transmission. Drove it to the dealer after just 2400 miles since purchase. Hopefully they honor the certified used warranty.

General Comments:

Great fuel economy (31 MPG city).

Easy maintenance DIY (oil, tranny fluid, brakes).

Kind of sluggish.

I like the liner in the trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd July, 2012

3rd Jul 2012, 15:15

Well, I'd keep quiet about the DIY maintenance if you expect warranty service...

31st Jan 2015, 11:39

About 3 years later, the car has 55k miles now, still going strong. After the initial quirks I'm very happy with this car.

2010 Honda Civic VTI 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Get one if you can find a used second hand model for a decent price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I've had this car since brand new.

It's very economical on fuel (in fact, it uses up less petrol than my old Nissan Micra 1.3L manual).

It's been a reliable ride since day one. I would recommend the 2010 Honda Civic (VTi) to anyone who's considering a Honda.

They are reliable, economical, comfortable and handle very well.

I really love the way it can handle bends and corners, even being FWD.

It's not the fastest stock car in town, but it will happily zip around, and feels very nimble on the roads.

Perky performance - but won't break the bank. Awesome resale value too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2011