13th Jul 2006, 12:02

Have 2001 Civic LX with 94K. Wheel bearing going bad all around. Spoke with other Civic owners... typical problem.

17th Apr 2007, 12:42

Sorry to be straight...

The problems you faced, (about the alignment and suspension problems), usually caused by your own driving style.

Perhaps you should try to see is there any problem with your driving style.

20th Sep 2007, 14:27

I have a 99 honda civic. I have had it for about a year and a half. It has over 200, 000 km. It runs good. I have replaced ball joints galore, and the oxygen sensor, and the air filter. Nothing really big really. I bought it second hand, and there was nothing wrong with it when I bought it. I was a little discouraged, but it gets me from point A to point B.

My engine light recentlty came on, and I have yet to get it looked at. It's been acting out lately. It's leaking something dark near the top part of the hood. I don't know what it is? Any suggestions?

Anyway, I like my civic, and unlike the main post, I think it is very reliable!

27th Feb 2008, 14:00

Harsh review. Obviously anyone can have a bad experience with an automobile that has historically proven to be incredibly reliable. Hey, I'm sure even Honda rolled out their share of lemons back in 1999 with this model. but overall, this car was ridiculously solid! My mom still has hers, and other than normal wear and tear over the course of time (normal maintenance, etc), this bad boy is a stud.

Seriously, as one poster pointed out, each and every single complaint you listed leads to your driving style. You must be a very aggressive driver who makes hard turns and brakes hard. I can only assume this, but your comments all have that common thread that lead me to believe that your driving style may very well be causing the premature replacement of certain parts (tires, pads, etc).

3rd May 2008, 17:24

Are you sure your problems are the car or your mechanic? It's possible that his diagnosis was wrong and never fixed the root problem, thus causing you to constantly have to do realignments. I've had two Civics, one I sold at 225,000 miles and my current one has 206,000 miles and yes I do have to repair it when things go out but very little in the way of very expensive repairs. These are the most reliable cars on the planet.

17th Nov 2008, 11:23

I am an ASE certified automotive technician, and it sounds to me like you have a problem with your mechanic. Try bringing it to a different alignment shop with a good reputation. A quality alignment is going to cost you more than $50. Ask them for the read-out that shows you what it was before and after the alignment, and what the specifications are. If they won't take the time to explain it to you, that's because they're hiding something - take your business elsewhere. If the tech was doing his job right, you should only need an alignment every 80-100k miles. (assuming nothing wears out in the mean time) Also as for the tires wearing out, a correct alignment will greatly improve tire life, but also don't buy junk tires. I personally will only buy Cooper (because they're the only tires made in USA), but BF Goodrich and Perelli also make quality tires. Also make sure you regularly check/adjust tire pressure. I hate to see people struggling with recurring car problems, and in your case I suspect there's more than a weak suspension and/or bad driving habits at work.

31st Oct 2010, 14:21

Sorry to be straight...

But I always get a kick out of the way Honda fanatics attack the person who posts a negative review. "It's your driving style" "You're not using genuine Honda parts" "Oh, the VTACK didn't kick in." Oh, it couldn't possibly be the car's fault. Yes, they and all their friends, relatives and neighbors all own Hondas with well over 200,000 miles with virtually no problems.

With five kids, I've gone through dozens of cars in the past 30 years. Amazing how the GM, Chrysler and Ford Vehicles we owned and still own always outlive the few cheap imports we've tried. Honda's mediocre fuel economy doesn't make up for the slow acceleration and high maintenance costs.

Cars are supposed to be able to take rough abuse once in a while. In my experience, domestics can take it, imports especially Hondas cannot. Me and my kids drove the Honda the same way as the other cars we've owned. And I will never make the mistake of buying Honda again.

2nd Nov 2010, 05:39

I completely agree. I've owned tons of used cars over the past 12 years, and from my experience domestics tend to outlive imports. They are just built stronger and can actually carry more than 2 passengers and a small dog without breaking down. Sure there are some domestic lemons too, but just as many imported lemons as well. Honda's are way too expensive for the poor build quality and drivetrain. Like you said, the mediocre difference in fuel economy does not make up for the high purchase price and expensive parts. I stick to domestics, and let others buy these plastic deathtraps..

7th Jan 2011, 08:42

I have owned:

1980 Cutlass Supreme (GM)

1987 Ford Escort

1997 Hyundai Accent

1988 Ford Bronco Eddie Bauer

1998 Hyundai Elantra

1986 Ford Mustang GT

1998 Isuzu Rodeo (GM)

1998 Ford Escort ZX2

1999 Ford Crown Victoria

2006 Mitsubishi Outlander (amazing - still own)

1999 Honda Civic

1997 Honda Civic

2000 Chevrolet Venture (GARBAGE)

As you can see, I have had a variety of vehicles. I maintain them amazingly well, and have abused all of them, except for the Elantra and the Venture.

I am now looking for a Honda Civic as a second car, because out of all the vehicles I have had, the Civics have given me the least of the problems (and my motorbike, but that's not a car).

The only two vehicles that have left me stranded on the side of the road were the Bronco and the Venture. Yet I would buy another Ford in a heartbeat. The Venture ruined it for Chevs (although the Rodeo and gutless Cutlass make up for it).

All that being said, I once met someone who had bought a Honda Civic lemon. Yes, they do exist, but I'm willing to risk it because 99% of Civics are reliable. Civic fans tend to get "personal" when they read a bad review, because they have never met another Civic owner with problems.

Other than that, the 1987 Escort (3-door hatchback) was by far the most abused vehicle -- took loads of wood and other building supplies hanging out the hatch with the shocks bottomed out all the way home on winding roads with steep hills... For one trip, the wood was hanging out so far from the hatch that we had to back up one of the hills, otherwise, the car's front end might have come off the ground and we'd be stuck on the hill. That thing was beat up when we traded it in. It had well over 200,000 km. Before I owned it, my father had it and he is not known for getting oil changes...

When I have more money, I will support North American vehicles (by getting a newer one). For now, a cheap, economical Civic is what I will get.

Stop getting personal everyone!


12th Nov 2013, 12:42

From my experience, suspension parts on new cars have become cheaper and more flimsy every year. The suspensions on big full size and mid size cars from 20 to 30 years ago were much more rugged and durable, and things like ball joints did not wear out till well after 15 years or 150,000 miles. But this was from a time when we didn't take for granted being able to take a 40 mph curve at 75 mph. Today, even on a luxury sedan we have low profile tires and suspension that allow every minor crack and pebble in the road to be noticed. And auto reviewers have the nerve to call it sporty handling feedback and road feel.