2006 Honda Civic LX from North America - Comments

10th Sep 2006, 07:06

Now we bring in a comparison of Hondas to Cadillacs.

Please Honda Civic drivers. Don't get carried away.

You own a nice, reliable, well-designed small car in the Civic, but it is not a luxury car, nor is it a sports car.

It's an inexpensive economy car!!! Get over it!!!

10th Sep 2006, 10:41

I don't think I am the one who has to get over it. I have owned Buicks and Cadillacs and have to say the Honda has been better built and been put together with higher quality materials. Have you ever wondered why a 8 year old Honda can be worth more than a Cadillac. The eight year old Honda could have rust and dents everywhere too and have over 100,000 miles and the Cadillac could have only 50,000 miles and have a nice sounding northstar V8. Yes, the Honda is a compact car, and yes it has no leather, but yes it has a higher build quality and yes it will surely be worth more in 8 years.

10th Sep 2006, 17:25

"Funny how a Civic's build quality rivals most Cadillacs."

Funny how most Civic owners have never sat in or driven a Cadillac.

10th Sep 2006, 21:31

Why would your 8 year old Honda have rust all over it?

I'm pretty sure that Honda resolved their rust problem a decade or so ago.

Again, I'm not saying that a Honda isn't a well-built quality automobile. It certainly is. But it is what it is - an economy car. By targeting the vehicle to sell for what it does - Honda has to make some compromises in the design of the vehicle.

It is not going to have the most sophisticated suspension or brake system for example. It's not going to corner & brake with the same sophistication as a Porsche or a BMW. While the interior materials may be attractive & durable, they are not going to be of the quality of a premium brand automobile. It does not have the interior of a Lexus or a Mercedes.

How much validation do you need? - It's a fine car.

But the description of the Honda Civic in this review is a bit over the top.

Accept your Honda for what it is and do not try to make it something it is not. It is not a premium class luxury vehicle by any stretch of the imagination. It's equipped with a 140hp engine, for goodness sakes!

Why don't you go & drive a Lexus, Jaguar, BMW, Audi, Saab, Volvo or Mercedes, and then come back & tell us that you truly believe that the Civic is every bit the equal of any of those automobiles. Saab is owned by GM. Volvo & Jaguar by Ford, but they are still quality premium vehicles.

Drive a Turbo-charged Saab, or an Audi or BMW and then tell us your Civic is like a "rocketship". When you see the way these vehicles ride, handle & accelerate, you may change your tune at least a little bit.

As far as Cadillac goes- have you owned a late model one, or the old floaty land yachts that GM considered "world-class" a decade ago? Even the Buick Lucerne is a vast improvement over the Buicks of 4 or 5 years ago.

You don't have to move up in class to find a vehicle equal to the Civic anyway. The Corolla is right there with it as far as being a quality-built small car. The fact that the Civic is a newly redesigned vehicle probably gives it a slight edge as far as refinement goes, however, the Corolla is just as durable & reliable.

Like I said, get over it! You've got a very nice small car.

Be happy with that!

11th Sep 2006, 11:23

Sorry when I said rusty eight year old car I was speaking of my old 94 Accord with nearly 250,000 miles. My eight year old Accord has not a spot of rust on it. But the 1994 is still worth at least 3 grand in insurance and I have seen eight year old Accords even Civics worth more than the average eight year old Caddy. Sorry that you had to spend all that time writing that review.

13th Sep 2006, 16:20

I am the person which initially posted this review. I am not and never have been a car salesperson. I own my own lawn care business in Florida. I love Civics and always will. They are the best compact cars ever built. As for the comment made about me not ever driving a real car like a Lexus or a Jag. With gas prices as they are the Civic is just a little more practical, don't you think. I own 4 vehicles over $40,000 in Lawn care equipment and clear $50.000 a year only working 9 months out of the year. If I wanted a Lexus or a Jag. I could have bought one!!!

13th Sep 2006, 22:43

"Why don't you go & drive a Lexus, Jaguar, BMW, Audi, Saab, Volvo or Mercedes, and then come back & tell us that you truly believe that the Civic is every bit the equal of any of those automobiles. Saab is owned by GM. Volvo & Jaguar by Ford, but they are still quality premium vehicles."

Where does the original reviewer see the words "real car" in the above statement?

Nobody is saying his Civic is not a real car. I am saying that the statements about it being "like a rocket ship" and the "best" small car ever built are a little extreme.

It may arguably be one of the best small cars ever built, but that is so subjective, as to what one considers "best".

Is "best" based on reliability? performance? refinement???

As far as buying a new Jaguar or other Premium make on $50,000 per year - If you can do it, more power to you!

If I tried to do that, I would have to live in the Jaguar, because I wouldn't have any money left to pay my mortgage!

14th Sep 2006, 15:26

Pound for pound the 2006 Honda Civic is the best car ever built. Now remember I said pound for pound. For $17,000.00 it is the best deal in the history of the car!!!

18th Sep 2006, 22:00

Okay, the above comment is even more "out there" than saying the 140hp Civic is "like a rocket ship".

Delude yourselves if you must, but you are still talking about a cheaply manufactured economy car.

19th Sep 2006, 06:06

What do you expect?

There's someone who thinks that a PT Cruiser is a better car than a BMW on this site too.

Yes, and a 13" Color TV from a discount store is much better than a 50" Plasma HDTV, isn't it?

(The Honda & PT's are closer to the 13" than they are to the 50" Plasma TV)

1st Oct 2006, 19:05

I think these comments are absolutely ridiculous. So the person who wrote this review is excited about their brand new car. Don't they deserve to be, even though it's not a Mercedes? I too am getting my first car in a month. It's a Scion TC... nothing luxurious...but I still can't sleep at night because I am so anxious to get it. Stop judging people because they don't drive $60,000 cars.

6th Oct 2006, 15:27

Enjoy your new Civic, I'm sure it will give you years of carefree happiness. I still don't get the argument about Lexus',Caddy',Porsche', etc. I truly laughed when I read it. I think some of those people missed the whole point.

The Civic is not the "best" car in the whole wide world...I'm pretty sure its not. But if it makes some people feel like it is, don't they have the right to express how they feel about it?