1990 Honda CRX Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1990 Honda CRX Si 1.6 gasoline from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired182000 miles
Most recent distance182921 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

The most fun I've had on four wheels

Faults:

CV joints and two motor mounts are getting old and will need replacing soon.

General Comments:

This car is a blast. My brother owned one when I was younger and I absolutely fell in love with it. The second I had an option to buy one I jumped on it. It handles better then most sports car I've driven in the past few years and its looks great. Even for being nearly 17 years old this cars design still looks sharper then most high end imports. Even for being a tiny four cylinder this car can get up and go. I plan on keeping this for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2006

1990 Honda CRX Si 1.6 DOHC from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres

Summary:

Still trying to find something with that much bang for the buck

Faults:

Timing Belt gone at 130, no damage to Valves

Rust over rear tires and other places

Trunk supports didn't work.

General Comments:

No other car handles like the CRX at least that I've driven. Fast off the line, corners on rails and reliable like no other. Replaced stock Header/exhaust, and K&N made this car climb hills and growl. In the canyons of Cali to the Coast of BC this car is the greatest poor man's sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2005

1990 Honda CRX HF 1.5 8-valve from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 8-valve Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

The real first sport compact of the USA

Faults:

The main relay went bad and that cost $6. Nothing else has gone bad.

General Comments:

Wonderful styling and economy. The car is quite torquey at low RPM's, but no power above 4200 RPM's. To fix the sluggishness I put a 16-valve head and a SOHC ZC camshaft, Si intake manifold system and injectors, Iceman cold air intake, 4-2-1 header and sport exhaust. Nothing fancy just the basics to get my little 1967 lbs CRX to go fast! Honda has the best suspension around so it's very fun even with the 8-valve head. The change is not really necessary because the car is very lightweight making good use of it's 62 HP an 90 lbs. of torque. If you find an HF CRX don't hesitate on buying one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2003

1990 Honda CRX VTEC 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Great little package

Faults:

Binding caliper.

Needed new rear suspension bushes.

Headlight stopped working on dipped beam.

Oil leak from camshaft seal.

General Comments:

An excellent car.

These cars look good, are fast, effcient and are reliable.

Handling and grip is superb even on standard suspension.

The Vtec engine is a bit on/off. But keep it above 5500rpm and you'll have loads of fun!

Nice leather seats- great!

Overall one of the best small sporty cars of its time. A genuine all rounder and still hugely popular.

If you want a fast non-aspirated sports car go for the crx.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

25th Oct 2005, 21:00

Its not non aspirated its naturally aspirated.

19th Oct 2006, 13:36

Lol the the last guy could only insult you not the car to the rex.

1990 Honda CRX Si 1.6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

A dream car!

Faults:

Front Brake Rotors @149000

Oxygen Sensor @ 150000

Adjust Valves @ 150000

Plugs and Wires @ 147000

General Comments:

The interior is almost perfect, the motor has taken a lot of hell. It handles great. Everything is stock, with the exception of the stereo and front and rear upper strut tower bars.

The car handles great, accelerates great, gets great gas mileage even when driven hard, and loves to downshift.

This car has been very reliable and never has left me stranded anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

1990 Honda CRX Si 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carSubaru Wagon

Summary:

A well handling, fuel efficient and very reliable machine

Faults:

At 135,000 miles I replaced the CV boots.

At 145,000 miles I replaced the radiator, which had developed a crack.

I'm on the third set of brakes, 3rd set of drive belts, 4th set of tires, and 4th water pump. (I think I had one dud water pump in there somewhere.)

General Comments:

The CRX was a brilliant stroke by Honda. No other car at the time and price came close to providing it's combination of performance, reliability, and fuel efficiency. It is also a great looking car which still stands out today as a styling triumph. I think it's a classic.

Mine still gets over 35 mpg on a daily commute, which combines city, freeway, and a little stop and go traffic. On pure open freeway it approaches 45 mpg. (I've been pretty good about regular maintenance and have been taking it to the same shop for all 14 years and 175,000 miles.)

The car is a getting a bit long in the tooth, but it can still makes me smile as I hug a tight corner and leave some ridiculously huge, gas hogging, roll-over prone SUV wallowing far behind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th June, 2003

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 23 reviews