1990 Honda CRX Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1990 Honda CRX DX 1.5L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A great daily driver with power potential

Faults:

Alignment from not re-aligning the car after installing a coilover drop kit.

Valve cover gasket needed to be replaced at 136400 after replacing the water pump. Water pump was also replaced at about 136400.

Fuel tank leak at approx. 140000 due to lowering my car too much. I think it may be from speed bumps.

Drivers seat left lumbar has torn fabric. Easy fix I'm just lazy.

General Comments:

Due to it's high mileage when I bought the car it didn't perform properly and most of the money I have spent on it has gone to things other than the problems at hand. For example, drop springs, shocks / struts, strut tie bars, stereo equipment when they all were in good condition.

The CRX is a great car and if you can find one in good mechanical condition it's also a great deal. The Arizona weather doesn't promote rust so the car stayed in great condition with only minor dings and dents. I'd love to have a few more CRXs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2002

1990 Honda CRX 1.6 16valve 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

A pocket rocket

Faults:

The distributor/capacitor discharge ignition unit failed, causing the car to cut out for no unknown reason, it took us quite some time to find the fault and £350.00 was the cost of repair.

Front nearside suspension coil spring snapped, noticed when car was MOT tested. Handled fine, wouldn't have known if it hadn't been for the MOT.

It's getting quite old now and there are few odd spots of rust appearing especially around the rear wheel arches, but hey it's nearly twelve years old.

General Comments:

Handles superb, with plenty of performance when you need it.

It puts a smile on your face every-time you get out of the car, It's just great fun to drive.

We have owned this car for six years and it is so reliable that it's untrue, we have had the odd problem, but nothing that we cannot put up with.

Getting a bit older ourselves now, making it a little bit more awkward getting in and out of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2002

19th Oct 2006, 14:03

Get a chair lift to put you in and out of it you know its worth it long live the rex.

20th Nov 2006, 14:43

Here, here, long live the REX. I had one back in the early 90's. As my life became more complicated, my vehicles became bigger and faster and less fun. Time to get back to basics.

1990 Honda CRX Si 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Aries

Summary:

The best bang for your buck!

Faults:

Nothing as of yet, but I only bought it yesterday!

The clutch is going, but not quite gone yet.

The seats have a few rips and tears in them, but nothing a couple of nice seat covers couldn't handle.

There are only a few modifications that need to be done, but they will be perfect for a little cheap project car for me to work on.

General Comments:

I love the Honda Civic CRX, it handles great, gets great fuel mileage, and best of all, it looks outstanding!

The car is so quick it literally feels like I'm in a rocket off the line, however, it has impressed me with its braking, especially at high speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2002

1990 Honda CRX Si 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Ultimate combination of economy and performance = FUN (relatively safe, also)

Faults:

Not a thing, even though I later found that the mileage had been turned back before my purchase.

General Comments:

I owned my 1990 CRX Si for around two years before I totalled it... I will never forget that car.

It's a shame that Honda felt compelled to replace the CRX with the Del Sol, which is (was) quite a sub-standard replacement. The CRX was (and possibly is) the ultimate combination of fun driving and economy... I currently own a slightly modified 1998 Civic EX which is also fun to drive, but I quite honestly miss getting 40+ highway MPG in a machine that could almost be classified as a "sports car".

Not to mention safety: I know that the CRX has developed a bad reputation in some circles as not being the safest vehicle in the world. Granted it may not be up to par with some of today's vehicles, but I had a personal experience that says the CRX is no safety slouch. I mistakenly turned in front of a FULL-SIZE DODGE RAM PICKUP which was traveling at 30 MPH or so; the latter resulted in an almost head on collision (10 degrees or so to the right). The car was obliterated up to the windshield, but I escaped with nothing more than lack of wind, bruised/scraped knees, and bruised chest (although my dog did end up with a fractured leg, since she wasn't wearing a seat belt).

If I can find someone willing to turn one loose, I'll probably end up buying another in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2001

2nd Feb 2005, 11:17

Sorry about your dog. I also have a crx-si, it's an 88 and I love it. It's so fast on the go. I have a bunch of mods done to it now and soon ill be putting the b16 V-tech in it. Anytime I think about buying another car it always ends up being a crx. Their just great cars all around. Well... not the rust on the rear panels, but I'm use to it.

28th Apr 2008, 14:35

I have had my Si since I bought it new in '90 and have had no real problems other than wear and tear replacements and after 225,000 miles/original engine still purrs... benefits of regular tune ups!

It's an old car but it still handles effortlessly is still very fun to drive. I need to get another car though because I would like to give Yabu a rest now.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 23 reviews