1990 Honda CRX Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1990 Honda CRX HF 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance199990 miles
Previous carDodge Colt

Summary:

Excellent Mileage and Reliability. Will not die!

Faults:

Clutch, master bearing needed replacing at 125,000 miles.

Has lived most of it's life in New England, and is showing a fair amount of rust.

Alternator, brakes, tires replaced; though not more often than any other car I've owned.

General Comments:

This car has been a pleasure to own. Although it has only 2 seats, it has quite a bit of cargo space for it's size. It'll fit an 8' beam inside (though not so easily with a passenger!), and I even managed to fit my good-sized recliner inside it and close the hatch.

It gets great mileage which varies widely with temperature and tire quality. The mileage sways 40 to 50 MPG over temperature (20 degrees F to 90 degrees F) and about 5 MPG depending on the tire rolling resistance. The best I've achieved is 52 MPG, octane grade does not seem to affect mileage.

It's great in the snow, and handles pretty well. This car is NOT fast. It's light, but also has only 60-something horsepower, making it quite sluggish.

Rust is a problem if you are in an area with snow/salt.

I'm rolling over 200,000 miles this week, and I torture it in general. The car just won't die- maybe in the next 100k miles...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

1990 Honda CRX 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance86500 miles

Summary:

Quick, different, a pleasure to drive!

Faults:

Nothing! Thank god!

Supposed to be very expensive to fix, so glad they are reliable!

Runs a bit rich so flooded the engine twice and that's it! Nothing 2 more key turns didn't sort out!

General Comments:

Excellent! Love the looks, love the engine and the interior, especially the seats. Bit bad on petrol though, less than 30mpg with progressive driving!

Passengers moan there's not enough room in the back, but what do I care, I've got plenty of room in the front! Glad I got one cos they are different than XR Fords or other such cars which are good in their own right, but I wanted something different.

130bhp, 130mph (just!). Can also get sideways on wet roundabouts! How much fun is that!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

5th Sep 2001, 06:28

130mph? I've done 137 :)

14th Jan 2002, 06:01

Nice one! Mine must be running slightly rich! Gonna get that sorted, I want 140!

31st May 2002, 17:27

That's funny.

I have also managed 137mph (un-modded) on the M50 through Wales!

The good old REX felt as stable as it did at 70 mph.

May I please recommend you guys look into K&N induction and also sports exhausts... Trust me on this- It will make your REX experience twice as good ;)

Rich.

1990 Honda CRX 1.6 16v twin cam from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v twin cam Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carVolvo 440 Turbo

Summary:

Style with power and economy

Faults:

Only one fault - the distributor failed, very expensive at the time, but the car has more than made up for it.

The front springs cracked, but this was due to a very deep rut on road works on a German autobahn. And great speed!!!

General Comments:

A pleasure to own, always reliable, have travelled much of Europe with this car. The best car ever to tour the Austrian Alps with. Does not like French very low grade unleaded though (but what car does?)

A really good car for the single person, even at ten years old I think it has more style than many new cars. Still manages to look modern, more than can be said for the likes of Ford Escorts XR3i's etc.

A very quick car and yet manages to remain economical. The one slightly down side of the car would be the noise levels at autobahn speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2001

1990 Honda CRX SI 1.6 SOHC 16 Valve from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC 16 Valve Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance142000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Keep it cause there's no other car like it!!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is a real toy. Very cool to drive. Very fast in cornering. Even though this car is 10 years old now it's very easy to find performance part. Lowering the car is a great idea. The car is a little bit too high when you got it stock.

Doesn't take too much fuel too (if you're not driving too fast! ;-)).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2000

1990 Honda CRX DX 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Excellent sporty car, with super reliability

Faults:

Distributor cap went out, and cost $100 to fix (including labor).

General Comments:

This an excellent car if you're looking for a reliable, somewhat sporty car. I still get roughly 35-38 MPG and the car takes off nicely from stoplights.

I bought the car with a salvaged title in 1995 for $4500, and even being salvaged I've maybe put a total of $300 work into the car not counting regular maintenance (ie: brakes, tune up) and oil changes. I HIGHLY recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000

1990 Honda CRX 1.6i 16v twin cam from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v twin cam Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance98200 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Entry level sports car that's economical!?!?

Faults:

Needed a new CV joint.

General Comments:

Looks like it goes, very sexy and very fast. Loves high revs and handles like a dream.

Not ideal for taking passengers, but plenty of leg room for front two.

Insurance reasonable (Group 14) as I am a student!

Very ergonomic controls and interior.

I found the sports seats a little uncomfortable at first, but now think they are brilliant. BE VERY careful when buying one of these, unfortunately there are a few write-offs and abused ones which dealers try and sell. Just say 'NO!' :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2000

1990 Honda CRX Si 1.6 liter SOHC 16v MPFI from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter SOHC 16v MPFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Economical blast to drive

Faults:

Other than regular maintenance, I've had to replace the clutch, CV joint, and brake caliper. I've done many other things, but they were all performance related.

General Comments:

Great car! Name one other car that can get close to 40mpg and be as fun to drive as this is! The stock suspension and light weight of this car makes it so nimble. Some call it a death trap, but that's only if you get into an accident. It stops faster and handles better to help keep you out of accidents.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2000

1990 Honda CRX Si 1.6 petrol injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol injection
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

Nothing in 18 months - touch wood.

General Comments:

Excellent value for money sport (y) car. Real fun to drive and very good looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 23 reviews