2006 Honda Element EX AWD from North America

Summary:

It has a Honda price tag, but doesn't have Honda quality

Faults:

- Rear brake pads rusted out & warped at 20k.

- All four rotors rusted out at 20k.

- Rear caliper seized and gauged out brake pad at 32k.

- Rear shock fell apart at 32k.

- All four tires will be replaced at 40k.

General Comments:

The car has space! It handles well!

The car is however not meant for cold climates and the repercussions of winter snow/rain. DO NOT BUY THIS CAR... if you live in the northern US or Canada that gets regular snow during the winter months. The car handles well in winter weather, but it ravages the brakes (pads, calipers, rotors) and the tires.

Lastly, this car is not meant for bigger drivers. The ceiling is too low to see properly. The steering wheel is too low; long drives are grueling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2009

6th Jul 2010, 10:00

The ceiling is too low??? I'm 6 feet tall and I have at least 8-9" of clearance between my head and the roof! How tall are you?

18th Jan 2011, 09:12

The Element has a height adjustable seat, it is the large round dial on the left hand side of the seat. Turn the dial to adjust how high you sit relative to the steering wheel, this should also help you see better out the windshield.

The steering wheel is adjustable as well, look for a lever on the bottom of the steering column, usually right above your knees when sitting.

Unless you're Shaquille O'Neal, you should never feel claustrophobic in an Element.

I also agree with the poster about Hondas not liking extreme cold weather, they are notorious for that.

12th Mar 2011, 22:47

You stated:

'- Rear brake pads rusted out & warped at 20k.

- All four rotors rusted out at 20k.'

How do pads and rotors 'rust out'? The only way I can see this is from parking outside for super extended periods of time without driving it - like months. Just doesn't make sense.

2006 Honda Element EXP-AWD 2.4 from North America

Summary:

Very Good Mini SUV

Faults:

Nothing So far!

General Comments:

The Element doesn't get as good of mile per gallon as I hoped I could get out of it. I can get 23-25 on the highway MAX.. if the wind is not a cross wind. Day to day I get about 19-20.

It does have good power and hasn't left me short on getting around in the snow or the mud. Does very well, and does it with good comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2008

2006 Honda Element EX-P 2.4 from North America

Summary:

Think in the box!

Faults:

Nothing as of yet.

General Comments:

We'll start off with bad things, leaving you with good and warm thoughts of the "E".

I am disappointed with several things. Something I did not think about until after I had purchased; it is a two door SUV! And has only 4 seats. Getting out of those back seats can sometimes be a pain with the suicide doors in tight spaces. Why Honda did not make those cup holders in the back a seat, I don't know.

I do think the interior can feel cheap. I don't understand why Honda couldn't offer a little nicer door panels and handles and such, all made of a cheap plastic. The interior scratches easily also, which isn't good considering its versatility. The carpeted floor mats are good for people who want the Element with a little more luxury, but try to take them out... it's not easy with their bulky design. And speaking of large bulky things, the damn sunroof in the back that has nearly no purpose, and almost impossible to remove. You have to stand on the tailgate and pull it out, then get down, holding this 20X30 inch glass panel and put it in a zipper bag? It's almost comical. I don't understand why it's not in the front, nor electric?

When test driving other Elements, I noticed seats were worn and ripped in many of them.

This is something I haven't read anywhere. The heat in my Element is not very hot. I mean, yeah, it gets the job done and the car warms up extremely fast, but it never puts out that boiling hot heat like my BMW does. Maybe I've been spoiled by german heat...

The rear view mirror needs to be bigger. Aftermarket websites sell a larger mirror for about $50, and 2007 models have a larger one... along with many of these complaints fixed. Pillars can cause a huge blind spot, so please don't take out anyone with your box. I know I almost have.

The power surprised me right away with its 4 cyl in such an 'aerodynamically challenged' vehicle as others put it, especially going to all 4 wheels. No one ever can believe it's a 4 cyl when they drive it (or ride with me the way I drive) and it's extremely quiet, just as a Honda should be.

Fuel economy is something strange... I am getting the exact rated fuel economy, 22 MPG for my AWD box. www.fueleconomy.gov is a great website, but these Elements generally will get less than stated.

It can turn on a dime.. it's true what others say. Also, its very firm yet plush suspension can make it sometimes bouncy. This keeps the vehicle from being rough on the highway, and from being too soft. It's made with parts from the Civic, and therefore drives more like a car than a truck/SUV.

There are all these people hating on Honda's poor real time AWD system, but it's really a cool system that basically provides a 70% front / 30% rear power config until slippage, where it reverses to 30%/70%. It's really neat to have in the rain, snow, sand, or weird situations you might catch yourself in. However, it takes about two MPGs off.

Some people complain about wind noise with the Element. I just say drive a convertible for a few years, then drive the Element, and see which is better. It can be a little loud on the highway, however it's a box. That's why Honda has a 270 watt stereo system. This system can play MP3 and WAV discs, which means you can put up to 400 songs on a CD, or you can plug your iPod into the system... Honda knows what they're doing.

Has an Accord engine. A 2.4L engine. This is the most reliable engine of the decade, and a remake of the 2.2L of Wards best engines of all time. It's probably going to last.

And don't think you have to be into biking, surfing... or constantly moving to buy the Element. It's perfectly suited for long trips, and is always fun no matter what.

There are always things I wish it had: more compartments, a little more luxury (just a little... like a external temperature gauge, no leather seats or anything, 5 seats, etc.) I like the idea that it's a Honda, so I don't have to worry about reliability. And it's so unique, versatile, and fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2007

26th Sep 2007, 19:31

I bought my Element for the looks and reputation of Honda.

The outside metal (skin) seems to dent rather easily and the interior also scratches easily.

There are areas on the steering wheel that seem to be unfinished and have sharp edges which pierce my hands when I touch them.

I am totally surprised at some of these cosmetic issues. I was hoping this to be my last car in retirement, but I am no longer sure of this.

Mileage.. I thought I would see around 27 mpg, but am only seeing 22-23.

10th Dec 2007, 02:19

The rear sun roof is for camping. When you sleep in the back, you can lay there and watch the stars as you doze off, I think it's cool! I guess you can call it a star roof.

18th Aug 2009, 15:36

I do love my element and get a lot of comments on how cool it looks. But the interior plastic does scratch easily and my driver seat is ripping!