2006 Honda Element Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2006 Honda Element EX-P 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

CR-V is a better choice

Faults:

Few screws on body panels weren't tighten all the way, I fixed this without the dealers help.

Battery lost its charge for unknown reason and car didn't start.

General Comments:

We are getting sick after riding in the car for more than half hour. This could be due to strong smell of the plastics or the ride quality. Will know more when we put more miles on it. This may take time as nobody wants to take it on longer trips :)

Built quality is ok, this car feels more domestic and fit and finish are substandard.

Very slippery plastics on the floor, incl the trunk. Things slide all over the place. Carpet kit is a must!

Lots of room. Good cornering and engine/transmission performance. Poor visibility, small windows, low seats not for short drivers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2006

31st May 2006, 23:06

I'd check and make sure that you don't have exhaust coming into the cabin and making you sick!

10th Oct 2006, 21:49

I also wonder if you have exhaust coming in.

I took mine immediately from the dealer on a 1200 mile trip and it was so comfortable.

Carpet is not necessary, but perhaps placing things in appropriate places is... the lack of carpets is one of the great perks of this vehicle. Another is the ride!

I moved to this vehicle from a Subaru Forester whose life was ending at 170k and had been through a lot of repairs early in its life.

To suggest the CRV is a better vehicle is rather odd since it is not even a similar vehicle. I can't easily shove my bike in the back of a CRV.

The CRV is not a utilitarian vehicle like the Element.

2006 Honda Element from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

At 90 mph the element seems to shift from side to side is this normal? I'm thinking it could be caused by the wind. I have to constantly compensate on the steering wheel. Other than that everything's nice. I'ts fast for a four cylinder. I bought it because of the looks. I wish honda removed the cup holder at the back and replaced it with a seat belt so it could seat three at the back, its big for a car that can only accommodate four.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

31st May 2006, 13:49

What do you expect a vehicle with the aerodynamics of a brick to do when you drive it at 90mph!

2006 Honda Element EX-P 2.4 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance200 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Jeep quality from Honda

Faults:

Nothing yet - it's brand new.

General Comments:

I have few comments about build quality of Honda Element. It's very poor. Plastic panels don't fit well and feel cheap. The interior feels like it won't hold very well and is easy to scratch/break. Dashboard is well designed and simple, but poorly fitted. The back seat is short and low to the floor, very uncompfortable on long drives. Seats materials are cheap and bit too soft, will probably get softer with time.

Ugly bar under the car to protect the gas tank. The whole car feels like it is cheaply built. CR-V would be better choice, but we wanted something more interesting.

I decided to keep my VW and not sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st March, 2006

15th Sep 2008, 08:26

I just bought an Element 48 hours ago. It is sitting in my driveway and won't start. It's been that way for 24hrs. I have had to use my 1994 Jetta to get us around. Go figure.

22nd Aug 2010, 18:38

That's because there's no fuel injection, and you wouldn't push the gas pedal a few times. I know that's why the Element won't start.

23rd Aug 2010, 19:53

I don't understand this comment. Are you saying there fuel injection system failed? Or that the Honda Element doesn't have fuel-injection? ALL cars sold today have fuel injection.

23rd Aug 2010, 19:58

There is simply NO WAY I would dream of comparing Honda with Jeep. Our Honda was one of the most poorly built, unreliable vehicles ever built. As a mechanic, I was appalled at the under-engineered parts and horrible build quality. It went to the junk yard at 99,000 miles with a blown engine after hundreds of other problems over a 7-year period.

Our last Chrysler product (Jeep is a Chrysler product) was sold in perfect condition just short of a quarter of a million miles. It had required nothing but timing belts (2), brake jobs (2), and one heater hose. The A/C was perfect and it had never even required freon. Every accessory still worked perfectly. NO HONDA will do that... regardless of the ad hype. The sub-frame assemblies do good to last that long.

22nd Nov 2011, 18:27

Yes, I agree Chrysler is better than Honda as far as quality, that is why Chrysler is always recommended by JD Power and CR, and Honda is always on the not recommended list.

Oh wait, I just did a search on Google and was mistaken, it seems every Chrysler model is on the NOT recommended list, and Honda has been leading in reliability and resale for the last two decades, while Chrysler needed a tax payer bailout so they could keep building junk, but hey, some of them are pretty.

Transmission problems anyone?

Front end issues anyone?

Engine failures anyone?

I think Lee Iacocca wrote that last comment. I will keep my 9 year old Acura that has only required rear brakes ($100 for parts and I installed) and oil changes, thank you very much.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews