2000 Honda Odyssey Reviews - Page 16 of 20

2000 Honda Odyssey EX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Nice, but starting to get little problems

Faults:

Driver side automatic rear power door froze and would not open.

General Comments:

I found a fix for this problem. On the inside passenger side fuse box, find fuse #13 (4th in on top). I think it is listed as "Clock Reset" and is a 7.5 size fuse. Remove it for 30 seconds and then replace. Open the passenger side door and then the driver side. I tried every other fix and this finally did it. I have no idea why, but thanks to whoever gave me this suggestion. Saved big $.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2004

9th May 2004, 16:46

Thanks for the tip on faulty automatic doors! We had the same problem with a frozen door; tried the fuse trick - it worked!! We were scheduled to take it in for repair, but decided to check the trusty Internet. We are so happy we did! Spread the word!

2nd Jun 2004, 08:31

Honda Odyssey 1999 - Had the drive side power door freeze/malfunction issue on Friday before the long weekend.

Dealer said he will have to have the van over the weekend to look at or fix the problem. Thanks to Car Survey and the user tip (fuse #13-light control solution), it worked like a charm - KVJ.

29th Nov 2004, 19:38

Appreciate the tip... again, you saved an innocent consumer from being raked over by dishonest dealerships.

23rd Mar 2006, 21:10

I had the same problem. This solution works like a charm!!!

2000 Honda Odyssey LX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A great van, but could perform a little better

Faults:

The first year I bought the car the brakes started to grind and make noise.

The doors are manual and have jammed on several occasions.

General Comments:

The car handles well, but the noise has been an ongoing issue.

The manufacture greased the hinges on the sliding doors and they have worked well since, but they have to be maintained.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2003

2000 Honda Odyssey ex from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

Nice van to have, but not perfect at all, as it seems to be on public eye

Faults:

The transmission is not right, took it back to the dealer and was told to bring it back when it stopped running. Transmission made a banging noise when it was floored on take off. The suspension makes lot of noise in the front. Brakes needs to be replaced at 25000 miles. Side automatic doors would be better if it was not automatically operated. There is no bypass to make it a manual side sliding door. The audio sound system which had a cd player is very weak, one of the worst sounding system I have heard on a modern car.

General Comments:

Overall its not a bad minivan, its actually not a bad buy if you can get it for under $30000. Lots of interior room, power, styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2003

24th Feb 2005, 13:22

I agree that the Honda Odyssey isn't bad. The transmission is a little hard to shift from time to time and I've had problems with the drivers side sliding doors before and after my warranty gave out. There was a recall for the latch, but it didn't do any good. There's a switch located above the buttons for the sliding doors on the panel. It turns off the motors so you can open the doors manually, but the doors are really heavy to open and close. When inside, it's even harder to get a good grip to close the doors. Other than that I've had my Odyssey for 5 years and put 104000 miles on it.

2000 Honda Odyssey EX 3.2 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Satisfied, but disappointed

Faults:

Now on its third transmission.

General Comments:

The Odyssey, like all large vans, is having transmission problems. Transmission, suspension and brakes were under-designed. Problems may have been solved in new models (2004+).

We blew through our first tranny at 77,000 km (47k miles), and our second now at 92,000(57k miles). Fool me once, shame on you - fool me twice, shame on me!

Honda has been on a re-manufactured parts program for more than 10 years. Our service manager advises that about 6 months ago Honda announced major improvements to the re-manufacturing process: better designed parts, more stringent pass/fail criteria, etc. Problems with replacement transmissions have been common, but they are confident (FWIW!) they have solved the problems.

New models have a completely redesigned 5-speed auto tranny.

Persons who've had chronic transmission failure should call or write their Honda national customer service department, so a file can be opened on your vehicle, in case there's an issue with out-of-warranty failures.

Brakes have also been a big problem on this vehicle. The rears were drums, not big enough to handle the weight of a full passenger load in hilly terrain, and our drums (like many others) overheated continually and eventually warped. They were re-machined under warranty. New models have rear discs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th October, 2003

18th Feb 2009, 22:21

We are on our 3rd transmission on a 2000 Odyssey. 1st one failed at 80k, 2nd one at 110k. Honda is paying for most of the cost of the 2nd transmission. These problems are so bad that a class action suit was filed against Honda. Just google honda transmission settlement and you'll find it.

All in all, our Odyssey is a lemon, which is severely disappointing since we paid $32k for the car. I am on my 2nd power steering pump, my 3rd battery, and the sliding door on the passenger side has been repaired at least 3x and still does not work right.

We will be going back to Toyota for our next car.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 79 reviews