2000 Honda Odyssey Reviews - Page 18 of 20

2000 Honda Odyssey LX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

A problem car

Faults:

The transmission has been sloppy and noisy from the start. It was replaced under warranty at about 28000 miles and then lost all of its fluid (~$500 out of pocket) at 36400 miles.

Doors jam despite repeated repairs.

General Comments:

Comfortable car overall. Poor reliability and sketchy service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2002

2000 Honda Odyssey from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Bad Reliability

Faults:

We purchased our van in January 2000. Until the engine died, we were generally happy with it.

Transmission replacement at 11,000 miles (THIS repair was covered by warranty).

Until at 50,000 miles mechanic diagnosed a leaking intake manifold gasket (the only warning was a sporadic "low coolant" light). My local Honda dealer confirmed the diagnosis, with an estimated repair cost of $700.

The engine started making a tapping noise. Within two weeks, the engine seized up, and my local Honda dealership was only able to tell me that the engine was dead, and that it was $6000 to replace the engine.

General Comments:

Not worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2002

6th May 2004, 14:58

I have a 2000 Odyssey ex and I had no probleams with it.

Now I have 89000 miles on it.

2000 Honda Odyssey LX 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Good family car, but potential reliability issues

Faults:

Both front tires had to be replaced and the front end aligned at 36,000 miles.

The passenger side sliding door was difficult to open (fixed under warranty).

The rubber gasket around the 3rd brake light was replaced (under warranty).

The engine light went on at 40,000 miles indicating an issue with the emissions system. It was reset by dealer and has not come back.

The passenger side sliding door handle broke.

The front driver side wheel bearing was replaced at 41,000 miles, however, I'm suspicious. The real noise, I believe, was the transmission.

The transmission is being replaced at 41,000 miles. There is no cost to me.

General Comments:

I like the roominess and functionality of the van.

I'm concerned about reliability now that the transmission is being replaced.

I'm pleased that the dealer is replacing the transmission without cost to me even though, technically, I'm past the 36K mile warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

2000 Honda Odyssey EX 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

A lot of ongoing issues

Faults:

Sliding door ongoing problems

Radio/CD went bad after two years

Brakes wear out quickly.

General Comments:

The sliding door alarms that it is open when it is closed. Ongoing! liding door roller in track broke off then door scratched paint. Radio/CD player shows EE error code after only two years when you insert a CD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th October, 2002

2000 Honda Odyssey EX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A problematic car in a pretty package

Faults:

1) Numerous problems with automatic doors not closing. It was in the shop for repairs about 10 times.

2) Rear windshield wiper broke after 2nd use.

3) Ignition fuse frequently gets knocked out when setting the parking brake, must be fixed by me at inconvenient times.

4) I was unable to get into car that had alarm set because remotes stopped working.

5) Brakes vibrate.

6) Static in rear speakers.

7) We had a flat tire in the mountains on a Sunday, we weren't sure mini-spare tire would even get us to the nearest town.

8) Seats are very uncomfortable.

General Comments:

I have owned this van for about 2 1/2 years, and have been in the dealership for repairs about 20 times. I am extremely dissappointed with this vehicle. I have owned Honda's for years and have always appreciated their reliability, but the Odyssey falls far short of Honda's reputation.

The one feature that is wonderful is the folding rear seat. It is easy to use and always available since t remains in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th October, 2002

2nd Mar 2003, 16:50

I would recommend you go to your dealer and buy a fuse cover for the ignition fuse. Installing this cover will eliminate the problem of having the fuse kicked out when engaging the parking brake. The part will cost you about $4.00 and is available as an 2003 part without buying the whole fuse box panel.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 79 reviews