2001 Honda Odyssey Reviews - Page 8 of 15

2001 Honda Odyssey from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Not worth the money - poor quality

Faults:

2001 Honda Odyssey Transmission Problems.

General Comments:

I am so frustrated with our Honda. Bought it new and at 62K had to replace the transmission. Just had to replace the 2nd transmission at 96,000. Honda dealer claims there is no recalland there has been no problem with this model's transmissions.

From what I've heard there are so many who have experienced this, but I can't find a recall for 2001's.

Is there anything that can be done (other than selling it)?

Thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2007

8th Jul 2007, 15:32

There is a recall on 2000 to 2001 Odysseys. It is for 7 years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first. Here is the info on the recall.

http://townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.ef0f3fb/62

4th Jul 2010, 14:08

I also had a trans changed at 67,000 miles. Now my 2001 Honda Odyssey went out at 131,000 miles. I'm thinking that the dealer possibly put another defective trans in, probably from the same batch. Does anyone have good advice?

2001 Honda Odyssey LX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

So far it is awesome.

The tires are awful!! Drives pretty bad with poor traction on wet roads & snow!

Need to get new tires, but am looking for some opinions on all-weathers that have worked great on other Odysseys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2007

4th Jul 2008, 21:46

I put Pirelli tires on my Honda Odyssey and they perform well, even in bad weather.

2001 Honda Odyssey EX 3.5 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Not bed, but not too good

Faults:

Drive belt was replaced at 56000 miles. Too short life time.

General Comments:

Low gas mileage: 14-15 mpg for mix of city and highway. Vibration when on highway (75 miles) - I got wheel balance several times at Discount Tires. Too much road noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2006

10th Nov 2006, 08:59

Excellent evaluation. I had the same problems, too.

2001 Honda Odyssey LX 3.5 V6 EFI from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 EFI Automatic
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carChrysler Grand Voyager

Summary:

Reliable, comfortable and safe van to drive (so far)

Faults:

Been in the dealer shop couple of times for minor fixes, like replacement of storage panel lid in the 3rd row, and middle row seat rattles etc.

General Comments:

I own a 2001 Odyssey purchased new in May 2001, which has 59K miles on the odometer.

Had engine oil changes done at the dealer for the first couple of years or so, and since then have changed it myself every 3 months, period.

Battery was replaced at Kragen Auto for $60 about 2 months ago at around 57K miles. Took it to the dealer for complete brake oil flush, and tranny oil drain and refill at 48k miles, 8 months ago.

Had rotors resurfaced and front brake pads changed once at the shop, and did it once myself.

Never towed any vehicle, and never noticed or had any tranny issues to-date, check engine light or TCS (knock on wood). But we do occasionally pack the van with family & haul luggage etc for vacation and round trips etc.

Even though our van was not included in the tranny recall, we do however have our tranny covered for 100k miles or 7 years, and also received an 80k miles warranty extension on all emissions parts, including the cat converter and EGR valve.

Suggestion to folks who have posted here: check out the Odyssey club forums at http://www.odyclub.com/forums/ with lots of useful info, including DIY and recall info.

Happy Ody owner (so far).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2006

2001 Honda Odyssey LX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Not worth what I paid

Faults:

Since I've had the car, I've had to have the rear light assembly replaced and a valve (both under warranty,) brakes, water pump, timing belt, air conditioner, dash board light, dash board dial and motor mounts (not under warranty.)

In addition, they say the malfunctioning valve caused another problem that was not covered by the warranty. I refused to pay for this repair, and Honda also refused to pay for it, so it has not been fixed.

From the time I got the car, I have had recurring problems opening the passenger side sliding door. Also, for many months after I got the car, when I vacuumed it, I would find bolts and other unknown pieces in the floor. (I'm a single woman who doesn't own or transport any sort of construction materials, so there's no question that these parts came out of the car.)

General Comments:

The car is extremely quiet, very roomy inside and has been very convenient for my lifestyle, but I'm very disappointed with its durability and the cost of maintaining it. My previous car was a Toyota Camry; I never did anything to it except change the oil and rotate the tires. This Odyssey has had an unending stream of problems, and even the regular servicing costs much more than my Toyota did. My next car will probably NOT be a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2006

20th May 2006, 14:49

Sounds like you need to ditch the honda asap. why wait anyway?

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 54 reviews